Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Ella's Jealousy (Revisited)
2003-03-30 - 9:46 a.m.

The second fencing lesson went well, just like the first one. I was so glad that the students were enjoying it as much as I was. It had been far too long since I had picked up a sword and actually fenced. Though teaching fencing was completely different than fencing. And it would be a little while before Sindor would be able to take me on in a real match. I awaited that time anxiously though.

Sindor had left to take Henmi home after the lesson, leaving Ella and me alone in the school. I decided not to be worried anymore about what Sindor was doing away from me. If he wanted to leave, he could. There was no more threat from Soterius. I did not need to be so over powering and over protective. I could see it was stiffling Sindor.

Ella and I were cleaning up the classroom, placing mats against the walls, however doing it sluggishly.

"That went well, no?" I asked her, dragging a mat across the floor.

"I think so. The students are really taking to you. I only heard good comments from all of them," Ella replied, placing a mat on top of another one.

"Even Judas?" I asked slyly.

"He does not count," she replied with a smile.

I laughed. "And why not?"

"Because he will only say nice things about you to get in your pants." Ella smiled widely.

"What? He does not want me. He wants Henmi, remember?"

"I think he would take any of us if he could. The little pervert has so much sexual energy inside of him that he would hump anyone to get rid of it."

I laughed loudly and wildly.

"It is true," Ella said defensively.

"I know, and that is the problem," I replied, calming down. "We need to put him in his place, do you not think."

"But how are we supposed to do that?" Ella asked, placing another mat on top of the stack.

"I have not figured that part out yet. Maybe after the next lesson, I will follow him. See where he goes, see what he does. If we learn more about him, then he will not be as much of a threat to our lives, especially if he found out we were vampires."

"Sounds like a plan. It would be awful if Judas did find that out and told people. We would lose the school and have to leave the city."

I nodded in agreement as I dragged another mat across the floor.

After a few moments of silence, I spoke to Ella again about something that I had been thinking about frequently. "It is like before..." I began, softly.

"What?" Ella asked, not understanding at first. Then, "Do not start on that, Lex. It could not be anything like before."

"Of course it can be. Just now, I am in Jay's position, and Sin is in mine. Everything else is the same. You are there like before, helping out. The students are taking to it quickly. We are all having fun."

"And how does that feel, Alexander? Being in Jay's position."

"I now feel his attraction to teaching. The power behind it, the pleasure of telling others to do something. It is great!" I placed the last mat on top of the others.

"I suppose. I still have the same old job as before though," Ella sighed, sitting on top of the pile of mats.

"It is alright, baby sister," I told her, hugging her tightly. "You do it so well."

Ella fell rigid in my arms. She would not even hold me. I pulled back from her. "What is wrong?"

Ella said slowly, "I do not believe it can be anything like it was, Lex. We were a family then, living in Paris. We were perfect. This is completely different. There are more than just the three of us, you know."

"I know that. But it still feels the same," I said defensively.

"How can it?" Ella snapped. "Jay is completetly different from Sindor. And now there are five of us. And we are a broken family. Sindor has to leave to take Henmi back to the tavern, and Adhemar is not even allowed in the house."

"I am well aware of our situation," I said, rising in agitation.

"How can you? You think this is great. In Paris, we all lived under the same roof, and spent nights together. You and I do not even spend a lot of time together anymore..."

I cut her off. "So this is what this is about. You are upset I have not been spending time with you."

"Of course, I am upset about that. I am your sister and yet we barely say five words to each other a night. I understand you want to spend time with Sindor, but whenever I see Sindor and Henmi together I become jealous. They want to be together so often. And you barely look at me. It is not like it was in Paris, Lex. No where near to it." Ella got up and walked toward the door.

I had been sitting quietly, listening to Ella's words. I could feel how hurt she was about my neglect. I had been so caught up with my relationship with Sindor, I had completely forgotten about Ella's feelings.

I got up and stopped Ella at the door to the classroom. I held her tightly from behind.

"I know I have been neglecting you, and I am so sorry, Ella. I know it is just you and me left in this world, and we have to stick together. I have been screwing up my relationship with Sindor far too much lately and trying to fix it, so I have forgotten how important you are to me. I want us to be the way we were before." I slowly finished my speech.

Ella remained silent in my arms for a moment. Then she turned around and hugged me tightly.

"We have to stick together, Lex. But you do not have to spend all your time with me. Just acknowledge me from time to time, and I will be alright."

"I will acknowledge you every night, baby sister."

I picked Ella up and swung her around the room. We were in complete euphoria, laughing and smiling. Everything was better, and like it should be. I put Ella down on the floor, and held her close to me.

"I love you, Ella," I whispered in her hear, knowing that I do not tell her as often as I should.

She nodded her head. "I love you too, Lex, so much."

"I have an idea. We should fence," I proposed.

Ella looked up at me. "We are in a fencing school. Might as well." She smiled.

Ella and I were locked in a magnificent duel when Sindor returned. He remained in the classroom and watched us, complimenting each of us in turn.

Alexander


Previous | Next