Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Key Thief
2003-04-25 - 11:34 a.m.

I stretched my arms far above my head. I even yawned, probably more forced than it should have been. I scratched a spot behind my right ear and noticed my hair was all tangled. I moved from the little closet and walked over to the dresser in the room. It would have been easier if I could have seen myself in the mirror to brush my hair, but no matter.

Ella came in the room while I was still detangling, which was taking a long time.

"Want some help?" she asked me, giggling.

"If you insist," I mumbled, giving up.

Ella fixed my hair and even pulled it back into a ponytail, wrapping it in a dark green ribbon.

"You look so pretty," she teased, running from the room.

I chased her down the stairs and into the kitchen, where I cornered her. She tried to get away, but I caught her and commenced tickling. We both fell to the floor in fits of laughter. I released her and we sat opposite each other, still laughing, on the kitchen floor.

"Remember the time Charles and I played that nasty trick on you?" I asked, wanting to remember the past with my sister all of a sudden.

"Which one?" she asked sarcastically.

"Where we told you that your favorite doll came alive and ran away, of course."

"Oh, that time. I hated you for a week for hiding that doll from me."

"Every day we would tell you where we saw her hiding and then you would look for her and could never find her." I laughed viciously with the memory.

"Yes, laugh it up," Ella said bitterly.

"Oh, come on now. It was a great time. Besides you got us back. Rather harshly too."

"Now that was fun," Ella laughed.

"We had great times as children, did we not?" I sighed.

"They were great times, especially when father was not beating us."

"I try not to think of those times."

Ella looked around the kitchen. "You were supposed to do something tonight."

I thought about it. "Oh, yes. The key. Damn that Judas. But I have no idea where to find him, baby sister," I whined.

"Good thing you do have me," she said, standing up. "Follow me."

I followed Ella into the office. She opened our registry and found Judas' name. "Voila! Judas' address."

I kissed Ella on the cheek. "You are the best."

"I know. Be home soon!" she called to me as I went into the hallway to grab a coat. As I was pulling it on I felt odd. I smelled around and I could faintly detect Judas' scent. The little bastard had come to the house in the day and walked all over. I hurriedly fled from the house.

I knew where Judas' home was now. I quickly ran to the richer side of New Orleans, stopping only once to sink my teeth into a meal. I finally reached the house. I was at the gate of a very large house partly hidden by tall trees. Very few lights were on in the windows, but one room stood out as I scaled the gate and canvassed the mansion. I found myself lucky that the window had a balcony. I jumped up onto the second floor balcony quietly and investigated the room.

"Judas," I whispered at the sight of him through the French doors.

Judas was standing in the middle of what appeared to be his bedroom, swinging a sword around in a spasmodic manner. His back was to the window. I looked around the room with a keen eye and found the key to my school on his dressing table. Now the only thing I had to do was get it back. I sat on the balcony rail and thought how I could sneak in without Judas noticing me. To my utter disappointment, the boy turned around and noticed me on the balcony.

Judas flung open the French doors and pointed his sword at me, not recognizing my at first. Then, "Master LeNoir?"

I stood up. "Put that sword down, Judas," I ordered. The boy complied. "And give me back the key to the school."

Judas looked at me innocently. "I don't know what you could possibly be talking about, Master."

"It is right over there on your table, Judas," I pointed out, frowning.

Judas turned to the table and then quickly turned back to me. He said, not hiding his guilt very well, "That is the key to my house."

I walked closer to him and whispered, "I know that is my key, Judas. I also know that you were in my house today. The next time I find you uninvited in my house, I will kick you out of the school." I pushed past the boy and grabbed the key, placing it in my inside coat pocket.

Judas blocked my way out on to the balcony. "How did you even get up here?"

"I have very good legs."

"I'm sure you do," Judas said, smiling.

I pushed Judas out of the way and jumped down from the balcony. Judas called out to me, "See you at the next lesson!"

"Yes, yes," I responded, jumping over the gate.

I reached home to find Ella and Sindor speaking together in the kitchen. I listened quietly at the closed door.

"Adhemar says he really misses you," said Sindor.

"I miss him too. I barely see him anymore now that he lives at the tavern with Henmi," Ella responded.

"We could fix that, you know. All we have to do is get Lex to agree to let them live here. Besides Henmi is working himself to death."

"Well, we will talk to him when he gets home then. We will tell him that we no longer will follow him blindly. This is our house too and we have a right to invite others to live with us, especially other family members."

"You know how he feels about Adhemar. How will we convince him to let them both stay?" Sindor asked doubtfully.

"We will insist. Tell him how important it is that they stay here. I hate that we have to wait until he gets home though. I want to tell him now!"

"Where did Lex go, anyway?" asked Sindor.

"He went to get the key back from Judas. Remember, he told you that he would."

"He knows where Judas is?"

"Of course. All members of the school had to leave their name and address in the registry. Lex used that information to find Judas. He should be back by now though."

I moved away from the door and back to the front door. By the time I shouted out that I was home I had already made up my mind to let Henmi and Adhemar move in with us. I knew it was fruitless to agrue with Sindor and Ella anymore on this matter. I was not the only one to live in the house. Besides I figured I could find ways to avoid seeing Adhemar.

Sindor and Ella came out of the kitchen and greeted me in the hallway.

"Hello, Sindor. Look what I found." I held out the key to him.

Sindor was overjoyed at the sight. "Judas did take it then."

"He sure did. But we have it back now." I smiled, hugging Sindor.

"Lex," Ella said quietly.

"Yes?" I asked suspiciously, letting Sindor go.

"Sindor and I have been discussing the Henmi and Adhemar situation, and we..."

"Sure. Why not?" I interrupted.

Ella and Sindor looked at each other in confusion. I smiled and started walking into the classroom.

"You mean..." started Ella.

"...that they can live here?" finished Sindor.

"I already said 'sure'," I stated, smiling shyly at them as I left them in the hallway.

I heard a loud cry of excitement and then the front door slam.

Alexander


Previous | Next