Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Sebrine's Freedom and Lex's Too
2003-05-31 - 6:06 p.m.

Adhemar. His scent was all over the house when I awoke. Quite the odor that I would have to get used to, I supposed. I questioned whether I had made the right decision letting him inside my house again. Then I laid my eyes upon Sindor, and I remembered why I was putting myself into this predicament. I needed to make him happy. To redeem myself for all the wrongs I have committed against him.

As Sindor was still asleep next to me, I pushed off the lid quietly. Then I replaced it over Sindor's sleeping form. I will see you later, my love, I thought to him.

I had planned to leave immediately to feed as I had nothing the night before and to get away for a little while. But as I came downstairs I heard growling sounds coming from the classroom. I raced into the room to find Adhemar with Sebrine, rolling around in some sort of game. I breathed a sigh of relief. I had thought the worst - that Henmi was being attacked by Sebrine.

"Oh, good evening, Lex," said Adhemar as Sebrine pounced on him, knocking him to the floor.

"Um, Adhemar, what are you doing with my tiger?" I asked, eyeing both of them strangely.

"We were just playing. Sebrine needed the exercise, especially since you never play with her," replied Adhemar, fending off Sebrine's paws.

Sebrine finally noticed me and pushed off of Adhemar. She bounded over to me and knocked me over onto the hard floor. Adhemar laughed as Sebrine licked my face all over.

"Sebrine," I laughed.

"She really likes attention, you know," commented Adhemar, standing up. "You should let her roam about on her own more often. I bet that would do her some good."

I picked Sebrine up into my arms and stood up with her. She purred loudly as I walked closer to Adhemar. "Of course, Adhemar. But if I let her out into the city, she would be killed. She is better off in a safe place. And now that this is a school, she needs to be confined."

"I understand about the city. But what about just in the house? She does not need to be confined all the time. There is not another lesson until tomorrow night. She could roam about the house now. I will watch after her."

I let Sebrine down. "True. I suppose she could when it is just us, but she is a wild animal. What if someone comes to the door and sees her?"

"I will protect her from that. Come on, Lex, she needs some time to wander," he pleaded.

"Why are you taking such an interest in my pet anyway?" I asked, suspicious.

"She is great! Besides, I have never really had a pet before. I always wanted one though," he confessed.

I looked down at Sebrine. You want to roam about with him? I asked her. I would like to roam about, but if he is a necessity... Do not worry, furry one, he is never a necessity. You can wander on your own. You are smart enough to stay away from the door and to stay in your room when we have lessons, right? Of course. I am probably smarter than him anyway. I laughed out loud.

Adhemar looked at me, confused. "Um, Lex?"

"I was merely conferring with Sebrine. We have an understanding. She has my permission to wander about the house."

"Oh," he whispered, looking down at Sebrine. "That's good. But how did you..."

"I can communicate with animals. Look, Adhemar, I have to leave..."

"So soon?" asked Sindor from behind me.

I turned to find him standing in the doorway, looking at me anxiously. "Yes, I need to go out for a little while. I will be back later."

"Oh. Well, I need to go to the tavern anyway. Why don't we go together?" he suggested, turning to the door.

"No, I need to go alone. I will see you later," I hurridly said. I kissed him on the cheek and then rushed out of the house past him into the night, leaving everyone behind for a night alone.

Alexander


Previous | Next