Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Dispelled Worry
2004-01-10 - 6:13 p.m.

"Lex, what happened?!" I exclaimed, running up to him, my brow creased with worry. Before he could speak, I continued quickly, "We have to get you out of these clothes--Oh, you're dripping! Good thing the carpet is red! Come on, into the bathroom."

I took his arm and pulled him there quickly, still worried that he had been hurt. Once inside, I stripped him of any article of clothing that was bloodied, all the while asking frantic questions. "Lex, what happened? Are you hurt anywhere? Why are you covered in blood? You took such long time tonight; I was so worried! I--mmph!" He brought his lips down upon mine to silence my incessant jabber.

He pulled me close to him, refusing to end the kiss. Because vampires require no air to breathe, vampire lovers are able to kiss each other for as long as they wish without becoming short of breath.

Still kissing me, Lex took my trembling hands firmly in his and placed them against his face, then slid then down his chest and finally around his back. All of this was simply to show me proof that he was not hurt, for my hands felt to openings in his skin. To reinforce this, he softly said though our mind-link, I am not hurt. Calm down, my love. It is not my blood. You worry too much. He deepened the kiss.

Relief washed over me at his words, and I held onto him, afraid to let him go. So many times that he had run off by himself he had come back spattered with blood. My heart ached seeing him in such a condition; I didn't want to let him out of my sight. I thought to him, You expect me not to worry when you come home disheveled and bloody?!

He pulled away from me and looked down into my eyes. "I cannot die. You should not have worried."

"Would you worry if I came home in such a condition?" I retorted.

He sighed. "Fine. You win."

My face softened at his reply. Perhaps I had overreacted a little, I decided. "I'm sorry, but I cannot help it�" I trailed off, my gaze falling to the ground.

Lex put his hands on my shoulders and said, "I'll explain everything after I change, Sindor." I nodded, and he walked out of the room.

I stooped down to pick up his bloody clothes, wondering what we would do with them. The blood would never wash out completely, but we could not just dispose of them in any common way, for if someone found them, such a sight would be more than suspicious. We would have to find some other way to get rid of them.

I left the clothes on the floor for the time being, not knowing what to do with them, and came back into the bedroom. The blood that had dripped from Alexander's clothing to the floor was scarcely noticeable thanks to the crimson hue of the carpeting.

When Lex finished dressing, he pulled me down to sit next to him on the bed. I asked again, "So what happened?"

He explained without great length that he had gone to his old house and found not his family but a boy there who was not of his kin. The boy directed him to the general location of his family (just south of Paris). In return, he helped the boy rid himself of several dangerous persons that were harassing him, and thus, the blood stains.

"So are you going to see if you can find your family tomorrow, then?" I asked.

"Yes, I suppose we can, if you are ready to leave so soon," he replied.

"I� I can go, too?" My eyes widened slightly with surprise.

"Do you think I would just leave you here?" he asked, amusement lacing his voice.

"Well you left me here tonight�" I grumbled, my lower lip jutting out subtlety in a pout.

"Oh, do not be angry," Lex said, then kissed me softly. "Forgive me, but I had a feeling they would no longer be living at my old house. I did not want to drag you along on a quest that could possibly have led to nothing."

"Well, I didn't have anything to do here," I stated gloomily.

Lex lifted his hands and ran them through my hair, twirling his fingers around several locks. "It looks as if you did do something, did you not?"

"�oh," I mused, remembering about my outing to Tristram's. The experience had been temporarily lost from me due to the worry that arose when Lex arrived home. "�well?" I asked shyly.

He smiled and kissed my curly tresses, then whispered softly in my ear, "Need you ask such a question? You are beautiful. Style your hair in this fashion more often." I blushed at his words.

Standing, he pulled me up with him and suggested, "Fence with me?"

"But� the sun� won't it come up soon?" I asked, a little concerned.

"Not for half an hour yet," he replied, fetching the practice swords we had brought with us on our trip.

We had been practicing together several evenings a week ever since the departure from New Orleans, so I had become a better fencer gradually, now able to atleast keep up with Alexander.

He tossed me a sword and we both slid into the en garde pose, a posture that had become somewhat natural for me because I had been placed in it so many times. We began quickly, not mundanely using our practice blades, but rather gracefully. Fencing was an art, after all, and not simply a crude means of fighting.

We continued for ten, perhaps fifteen minutes before Alexander sneakily disarmed me. He often used tricks that he had never shown me before, but each time he did them, I made note of them so I could try using them myself.

Afterwards, we snuggled down together in our coffin, as was our custom and requirement for every evening. I was excited about getting to travel with Alexander and therefore eagerly awaited the next evening.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next