Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The First Night: Betrayal (Part 1)
2002-07-04 - 10:09 a.m.

"Damnation," I said in amusement, pouring Andre another drink. The voices of countless drunks bellowing throughout the bar threatened to further inflame my increasingly painful headache. Andre was a newcomer to Impuret�, and liked to entertain with stories of his travels. I listened as best I could. "So what happened afterwards?"

"Well, then she took off. Pity, I think." Andre took another long swig from his drink before turning back to me. "But enough of her, lad." He leaned in closer, his alcohol-scented breath now just a whisper. "I have a proposition for you."

I said nothing, but waited for him to continue.

"I've heard of you. You're that Sin Arnon. You'll do any job for the right price. Isn't that right, lad?"

I paused for a moment, curious to know how he had obtained my identity. "And if it is?"

"Well, if I were a righteous man, I'd have you taken in, for sure. But I assure you, lad, I'm far from it." He finished off his second drink, and I poured him a third. "I want you to go to the Gautier Manor and retrieve a rather� valuable artifact. It's a round mirror within a gold frame. It belongs to the missus of the manor. It's located in the music room, next to the grand piano." He pulled out a small sack from the inside of his grey overcoat. As he set it in front of me, it's contents clanked noisily together. "This is a down-payment, friend. When I have the mirror, you'll get the rest."

I took the money and shoved it inside a cabinet underneath the counter. "Fine. I'll fetch it tonight. But why do you want it, might I ask?"

"That, my friend, is my little secret." He finished his drink, and said, "I'll be back tomorrow. Adieu, lad." He left the bar without another word.

Fine, I thought. I'll close early tonight.

-Sindor-


*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next