Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Resolution and A New Condition
2002-09-13 - 5:43 p.m.

When I woke up the following evening, I felt worse. The reality of being so far away from Ella emotionally hit me all too well when the sun went down. I really did not feel like being awake, but I needed to see Ella.

I felt Sindor's sleeping form next to me. Just his presence sent a shiver down my spine. I could not help feeling a little anger at Sin for my situation with Ella, though he had nothing to do with it. I did not like it, but I could not help feeling he was also a little responsible for what happened.

I quietly left the coffin, noticed Adhemar's coffin was also still shut, and headed out of the house. I meandered around New Orleans for a while, trying to think of the best way to start a conversation with Ella.

Then I spotted her.

She stood in the middle of a busy street, watching me. She stood out so well among the mortals. She even looked like the queen Adhemar keeps calling her. I guessed she was looking for me too, since she did not walk away.

I walked up to her. The anger that I saw in her eyes last night was no longer there. She seemed more at peace with herself even.

She said nothing to me, but gestered that I followed her. We ended up at an inn near the docks, not too far from my house.

Once inside her small room, she threw her arms around me in an emotional embrace.

"Ella..." I whispered near tears, wrapping my arms around her waist.

"I am jealous, Lex. Of your happiness with Sindor that seems to take your attention away from me," she said into my shoulder.

I held Ella out at arms length. "No one could ever take me away from you, Ella. You are my sister, and I will love you more than anyone!"

She nodded as tears spilled out of her eyes. I wiped them away with a few brushes of my hand, but the red streaks remained, marring her white face.

"I know that, Lex. But when you turned Sindor, I feared that I would never be close to you again. You and I shared this gift and curse together, and when you gave him this gift..."

"I understand, Ella. We were a special pair together, killers in the night. But it is okay to have others with us in the darkness of this existance," I said, hugging her in reassurance.

"That is why I was happy with Jay..." she muttered.

I pushed her away again. "I left Jay. I wish our separation was on better terms, but it was not. And I am willing to live with that, and eventually get over it. I would like you to allow me to do that. Can you accept that I wish to be with Sindor now?"

She nodded. "I suppose I have to."

"Ella, I do not want to have another fight like that ever again with you..."

She interupted. "I know. We have never fought before now, and I hated yelling at you like that, but I could not help it. The anger and jealous I had building up inside of me needed to erupt. It just did in a greater magnitude than I ever dreamed of happening. Can you ever forgive me for that?"

"Of course I can. I understand your frustration at the situation. I really did not intend to turn Sindor at all. The thought of him dying like that... It was too much to bear for me. I had to do something. Maybe it was not the right choice, but I had to make it. And maybe Sindor will leave me..."

I stopped. I wondered then what I would do if Sindor did leave me. I would probably crawl back to Jay, begging for his friendship again. I felt, deep down inside the shell of a man that I was, that it would not be all that bad if Sindor left. I would be able to get over him. Why he would leave me when his very existance centered around me was the bigger question.

"Though, I can not help feel bad about Sindor. I do not really hate him as much as I let on," she said, so innocently.

"Do not worry about it. I am sure if you talk to Sindor, and apologize, he will understand."

She looked relatively relieved.

I smiled at Ella. "Will you come back home with me now?"

She returned a smile. "I would love to go home with you, Lex.

I turned to go out the door.

"Under one condition."

Her sudden comment stopped me in my tracks. I turned back to her.

"And that would be?" I was frightened of her answer.

"That we will start that fencing school," she said boldly.

I was so relieved at her simple request that I nearly fell to the ground.

"I will meet your condition," I laughed.

"Good. Just let me get my coffin, and we can go."

We walked back to my house hand in hand. I had never been so happy.

Alexander


Previous | Next