Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Familiar Hunt
2002-09-14 - 4:01 p.m.

After placing Ella's coffin between Adhemar's and my own, I took Ella in to see Sebrine. Sebrine was delighted to see Ella. She placed her head on Ella's lap, purring softly.

You left that horrible boy to find me food, she growled to me.

And did he? I retorted.

Yes, but an old man is not a very good meal. She snorted.

Be nice to Sindor. He is afraid of you, and I do not like that. He even brought you food, so promise to be nice to him.

She growled again, but agreed.

"Are you hungry again, my dear?" I asked aloud, wanting Ella to feel she was not being isolated from all conversation.

Sebrine purred again, and nodded her head against Ella's leg.

"Then I will bring you something back," I replied with a smile.

Ella and I left the house, and headed toward the town's heart. I felt alive again, hunting with Ella once more. She seemed happier as well. We flew from roof top to roof top in search of the very thing we wanted. A couple, much in love, with each other, and murder. Our search was not in vain. We found the prefect couple rounding a corner, coming fresh from the kill.

Ella and I separated to take them. We situated ourselves behind them, and stalked them for almost a half an hour as they merrily walked down the near crowded streets of New Orleans. I was relieved when they finally entered a house, which I assumed belonged to them. I had been getting weary of the chase, especially since they had no idea we were there. And I was rather hungry.

Ella went silently in the front door after them, as I rounded the house and entered the unlocked back door. Silly killers. Do not even lock their own doors.

I crept up the stairs after the woman, who had separated from her lover when they came in the house. I saw Ella creeping up behind the man as he poured himself some liquor from a glass cantor in the study. I heard the unmistakable crash of glass as I knew Ella sank her teeth into the man. I found it funny that the woman did not even bother to ask what happened. I followed her into a bedroom. Her back was to me as she pulled down her dress, revealing her underclothes. I put my hand in her hair as I drew closer to her. She figured I was her lover. She turned around, and looked at me. I was surprised she did not feel scared. She grabbed my arms and wrapped them around herself, kissing me. I played along, finding it rather fun, though confusing, and kissed my way to her neck. Only when I pressed my teeth into her soft neck, did she try to pull away from me. I did not let her go until she fell limp in my arms. I dropped her to the floor, licking my lips, savoring the lost drop.

Ella appeared in the doorway.

"Had a good meal?" she asked.

"I did indeed. How was yours?"

"Delicious." She smiled.

We took the bodies out of the house, quietly and quickly, and took them back to Sebrine. She was grateful she did not have to kill her meal first. She told me she was tiring of chasing her prey around the room.

With one last pat, I left Sebrine to her meal, and I joined Ella out in the hallway.

"Where to now?" I asked her.

She smiled slyly.

"What?"

"How about we go looking for the perfect place?" There was a spark in her eyes.

I nodded. I took her arm, and we spent the rest of the evening in search of the perfect place to start a fencing school. We were lucky that night. We came across a large house, with large rooms and enough of them. We could even live in the house, and there would still be plenty of room. Unfortunately, there were already tenants in the house. Ella and I took some time to study the house, and the residents, before we returned to my house. We spent the next hour before sunrise devising a plan to get our new school.

My attention turned to Sindor when I realized the sun was very close in coming. I told Ella of my concern, and she replied that he will be back in time. I was grateful when Adhemar and Sindor returned, with merely minutes to spare. I was about to get into my coffin when Sindor walked into the hidden room, obviously angry at something. He said nothing to me as he sat down in the coffin and laid with his back to me. I looked at Adhemar for an answer, but he just shrugged and got into his coffin.

As I closed the lid, I asked Sindor, "What is the matter?"

He did not answer me. I persisted, and yet remained quiet. My answer would come when the sun went down.

Alexander


Previous | Next