Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Bitter Disappointment
2002-09-15 - 5:08 p.m.

I sat a while longer in the bar, but Alexander still didn't arrive. I thought perhaps he was still talking with Ella, so I wasn't worried at all, and I waited still longer. My hunger continued to grow as I waited and waited. I wondered what was taking him so long. I wanted to be with him, of course, and I began to grow impatient and agitated at Alexander's absence. Where is he? Surely it wouldn't have taken this long to speak with Ella!

After sitting in the bar for hours, the smell of the blood emanating from the humans around me was driving me crazy. I wanted it; I needed it. My head ached and my stomach felt emptier than it ever had before. When I couldn't take it any longer, I found Adhemar and told him, "Adhemar� I� need to� to go and�" I trailed off.

Adhemar looked at me with a half-concerned, half-surprised look on his face. "You haven't fed yet, kid? The sun is going to be rising soon. You'd better go now or you won't make it in time."

"I know�" I said wearily. "But I'm� not good at reading thoughts yet� I don't want to hurt an innocent�"

"Okay, Arnon," he said immediately. "I'll help you." At that, Adhemar went over to Henmi and told him that he would be back tomorrow, and then kissed his cheek in a farewell gesture before returning to me side. "Let's hurry, though," he said, taking my hand and pulling me outside.

"�I wonder where Alexander is," I said spontaneously.

"Kid, don't worry," Adhemar said. "He's probably got a good reason for not seeing you tonight."

"But doesn't he care about what I feel?" I felt my anger rise.

"Arnon, please, don't worry about it," Adhemar said, ending the conversation. He found someone for me quickly, someone far from innocent, and I drank from the man greedily, as if I hadn't fed in days. When I was finished, I let the man drop to the ground.

Adhemar helped me get rid of the body, and then we went back to our house. When we walked in the hidden room to get to our coffins, we found that Alexander and Ella had already come back home. My anger rose even more.

I climbed in my coffin and turned away from Alexander. He didn't even come look for me! What if daylight had come and I didn't come back? Would he even care?

I refused to speak to Alexander that evening, but I knew my anger would be gone in the morning. I couldn't stay mad at Alexander, not ever. I loved him too much. I needed him too much to stay angry with him. I hoped he would forgive me in the morning for not speaking to him that evening.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next