Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Fanfiction Section II
2002-11-08 - 7:25 p.m.

More fanfiction, as we have just posted our 100th entry. Yes, we call it 'fanfiction' because we are fans of our own work. How egotistical of us. Some of the below writings are actually part of the AVS series, such as back-stories and so forth, but other fics here are pure AU nonsense. We'll be sure to mark which stories are fact and which are fiction.

-Sindor's originator, Leah

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

This first one here is an actual AVS back-story. Sin's, actually. It isn't as long as Adhemar's, thank the goddess.

-Leah

~*~

My family's house was a smallish, but sturdy place built with cyprus wood (the trees my father gathered it from were plentiful in the area) which was bleached a sort of off-white hue, and the shutters that covered the windows were tinted sepia. The whole house was built on a bit of a hill, which protected us from the danger of constant flooding.

The inside, despite some of the furniture that had been draped in mosquito netting, was warm and hearty, always filled with plentiful food and drink, as well as many luxuries. My father had become accustomed to the lavishness of his previous Parisian home, and because his old habits did not die easily, his current dwelling in the New World was adorned similarly to that of his old French home.

My mother did not mind at all. She had not been poor before she met my father, but she was no where as wealthy as my father, who was an architect from France assigned to relocate to the new French colony of New Orleans (so named for the Duke d'Orleans) and to help plan political and recreational buildings in the colony. My mother was sent to New Orleans with about a dozen other Frenchwomen to start families in the colony, as there were few women there at the time, and the women that were there were slaves and savages. She met my father at the Place d'Armes during a session of beheadings for criminals. My father acted as a jury member, while my mother was simply a spectator.

During the trial, my father spotted my mother, and he was absolutely enthralled with her. Even though she was a Frenchwoman, her mother was from Britain, and so her hair was colored a fiery red (my hair turned out to be the same color as well), which was none too common in the New Orleans colony.

After the trial, my father spoke with my mother for a lengthy amount of time. Less than a year later, they were married at St. John's Cathedral.

Shortly after, I was born. My father named me Sindor, as he thought it was a perfect name, indeed; it reminded him of an old Norse tale that he'd read (he was fascinated by mythology). The name itself, my father told me, was Nordic as well.

My parents adored me. I was spoiled completely with attention; even the servants were fond of me.

After several years, my mother deeply wanted another child, and soon after telling my father this, she was again with child. At that point, I had only reached my third year of living.

On the night that my brother was born, the sky was a murky shade of soot, and storm clouds slowly rolled about wantonly, desiring to spill their Adam's ale upon the city below. This was New Orleans, mind you, the rainy swamp of death. Rain was never uncommon here.

I wasn't allowed to see my mother that night. I sat outside her bedroom door while my father and the doctor, as well as my mother's maids, remained inside her room while she gave birth.

After my mother's moans of pain has silenced, I heard my father's voice, panicked and frightened, and then the doctor's voice, apologetic and mournful. Afterwards, my father burst out of the bedroom and fell to the ground outside of the door, weeping uncontrollably and tearing at his hair. I was confused, so I knelt down next to my father, wondering why he was so sad.

He embraced me tightly, still crying, and muttered harshly, "She's dead, boy, she's dead."

My mother had died that night in childbirth. I didn't cry. I couldn't. I didn't understand then. All I knew was that my mother wasn't there anymore, but my new brother was.

My father named my brother Henmi. It was an English name, and he thought my mother would have liked it.

Henmi was beautiful. My father thought so, too. Henmi's hair was a myriad of curly brunette tufts and his eyes were brown, like my father's.

My father spent all of his free time with Henmi and I after my mother died. My mother had been everything to my father, and now that she was gone, we were all that was left of her being. Henmi and I both loved our father deeply.

He taught my brother and I to read at an early age, and hired a tutor from William and Mary University to teach us the classics, as well as Greek, Latin, and modern sciences for the next several years.

From the beginning, I loved the classics. The tales of the mighty Greek gods fascinated me, and I read them over and over again.

Henmi, on the other hand, did not like school subjects much, but instead loved music and art (when told this, my father hired three new musicians to play for us daily). Father, along with the rest of his architectural committee, was planning the creation of a theater house in New Orleans, and he promised to take Henmi to see it when the building was completed.

The three of us lived happily until I reached my fifteenth birthday. This is the year my father became deathly ill. Yellow Fever swept through New Orleans like a plague that year, and no one knew what the cause was for sure. Some thought that the sickness was carried in the clouds that hovered over the city, so many of the citizens of New Orleans would fire canon balls into the sky in hopes that the clouds would disperse, and the fever along with it. But the sickness didn't go away, and my father caught it.

The city's finest French doctors were brought into our house, but nothing could be done to stop the fever from devouring my father's life. To mine and Henmi's utmost horror, our father died shortly after he contracted the illness.

I was in utter shock, unable to think clearly because of grief, and Henmi was completely devastated, weary, and enraged. He would weep for hours on end, and when I would try to speak to him, he would not answer me.

My father's lawyer sent word to my father's brother in South Carolina (whom Henmi and I had never met). My uncle was to inherit my father's property, as Henmi and I were still in school, and had no way of making any money to survive on. Yes, my father did have money saved away, but that went to my uncle as well.

When my uncle arrived, he was bitter and disliked having been expected to finish raising Henmi and I for my father. He was especially appalled by my appearance (my red hair, in particular), as he could tell my mother had been of British decent, and most French persons of this time deeply resented the British. My uncle disliked Henmi as well, again simply because of his appearance, as my uncle thought that Henmi looked overly delicate, and that Henmi was sure to become a Sodomite when he grew older.

Shortly after my uncle moved in with us, he dismissed all of our servants and replaced them with slaves, as he did not want to have to pay anyone to work in the house. In the same light, he also dismissed our tutor, thus cutting our lessons off completely. The only reason that he did not throw my brother and I out into the street was because we were blood-kin, and he thought that he should honor my father's spirit by putting up with us.

My uncle hated the city as well. He complained constantly about the swampy atmosphere around the city, the ordinary bouts of rainfall, and the overwhelming number of mosquitoes.

Henmi and I were bored beyond belief (me especially, because I had no one to talk to, as Henmi refused to talk to anyone at all until about a year after my father's death), and we could only entertain ourselves with the few books that my tutor had left behind.

When Henmi finally began to speak again, he would talk only to me, and I was overjoyed entirely. I wanted to be with only Henmi. I hated my uncle, as he was cruel and cared none for my brother and I. I wanted to run away, and to take Henmi with me, but I knew I would never be able to survive, as we would have nowhere to go (we had little reason to go out of the house when my father was alive, as we were schooled in the house, so we did not go out into the city very frequently, and thus did not know where everything was located in the city). We tried our best to deal with my uncle's dislike and malice towards us.

After the second year of living with us, my uncle wanted another source of revenue, so he purchased a popular tavern in the town, Impuret�.

Just before my eighteenth birthday, my uncle's associates in South Carolina sent him a letter to inform him that he had received the position of a senior accountant in his precinct, and that he should return there immediately to take up the position.

He was overjoyed at the thought of being rid of us. Before he left, he sold all of our property, even our house itself, and kept the profit for himself. I demanded to know what was going to happen to Henmi and I. He told us that he would give ownership of the tavern to me, and that I was to live there in a spare back room, and that I should be grateful for his hospitality.

Indeed, I was surprised that he would leave us with anything. When he did finally leave, however, I was at a loss for what to do. The current employees at that time helped me greatly, informing me about what I was supposed to wear during work, how to hire workers and give out salaries, and other useful information.

I felt terribly guilty about having to expose Henmi to the vulgarity of such a place, as he was only fifteen at the time, and he seemed to be the personification of innocence. Henmi assured me that he didn't mind, though, and he went out of his way to help me work at the bar.

Henmi and I became closer and closer, as all we had in the world at that time was each other. But no matter how hard we both worked, we would never have enough money to buy much food, as there were so many employees at Impuret�, and the profit had to be divided amongst all of them.

I became a bit of a thief. I would not steal for myself, however, but for others, and they would pay me for my trouble. Henmi hated it, and was so afraid that I would be caught by the New Orleans officials, but there was no other way. I had to do something else, or we would not be able to survive. I figured I would be caught sooner or later.

Eventually I was caught by the law enforcement, but then saved, miraculously, by a shadowy, mesmerizing individual, who later became my beloved Alexander.

Yes, Alexander, my messiah who brought me out of darkness. After I grew closer to him, I wanted to be with no one else. I needed him, craved his love and attention, wanting him to stay with me always.

I was, in fact, put back into the darkness that I had been pulled out of, but I willingly put myself there. I wanted to do anything to be with Alexander, even give up my life for him.

And that brings an end to the past, and starts the present. I still remain with Alexander, my beloved, and I hope to be with him forever. Forever in darkness.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I wrote this very recently as a Christmas gift for Leah. It is the basic Cinderella story with an AVS twist. Kind of cute. Liz ^_^

Sinderella

Sinderella was dancing with his charming Prince, Alexander. They were happily gazing into each others� eyes as they waltzed from one side of the grand ballroom to the other. The place was empty except for the sounds of music and their footfalls. The music stopped. The Prince placed a kiss on Sinderella�s forehead. Sinderella smiled and wrapped his arms tightly around the Prince.

�Sinderella?� a voice said quietly.

�Yes?� he replied, dreamily.

�Sinderella?� the voice was growing louder.

�Yes?� he replied, rubbing his head against the Prince�s shoulder.

�Wake up!�

Sinderella sat bolt upright in his bed. He looked around, hazily. His step brothers, Adhemar and Jay, were standing over him, looking menacing.

�What is it?� Sinderella asked, rubbing his eyes from his dream.

�What is it?� mocked Adhemar. �Where is our breakfast, you miserable servant?�

�Oh!� exclaimed Sinderella.

�Oh, indeed!� shouted Adhemar. �You better hurry before mother wakes up.�

�Yeah!� agreed Jay, as he followed Adhemar out of the Sinderella�s room.

Sinderella sighed, as he pulled on his dirty rags. He ran down stairs to the kitchen as fast as he could. After preparing a quick breakfast, Sinderella piled everything on a tray and hurried back up the stairs.

As he opened the door to his step mother�s room, Sinderella spied that evil cat of hers, Sebrine. Thinking he should wait until after Sebrine stopped growling, Sinderella started backing out of the room.

�Bring in my food, Sinderella,� came the wicked voice of Ella, his step mother.

�Yes, ma�am.�

Sinderella nearly tripped over Sebrine�s long tail as he walked over to Ella�s bed. He put down the tray and handed his step mother her plate. After pouring her tea, Sinderella picked up the tray again, and was backing out of the room, when Ella said: �I heard you were late in getting up this morning, boy.�

�Yes, ma�am. I�m sorry about that. I was dreaming, you see��

�I do not care. Just make sure it does not happen again, boy.� Ella�s green eyes glared at him above the top of her tea cup.

�Of course, ma�am.�

Sinderella walked down to his step brothers� room and knocked quietly at the door.

�Well, come in, stupid!� Adhemar�s voice shouted.

After Sinderella dropped off the boys� breakfasts, he hurried back down the stairs to start cleaning. He did not like it when his step mother was mad at him.

In the late afternoon, Sinderella was scrubbing the hall floor when the door bell rang. There was a messenger from the Royal Palace at the door.

�Please see that this invitation is handed to the Lady of the house,� said the messenger, placing a large invitation in Sinderella�s hands and leaving.

Adhemar and Jay came running down the stairs, slipping and sliding on the wet floor. Adhemar fell first, tripping Jay. They came to a stop at Sinderella�s feet.

�Sorry about that,� Sinderella whispered.

�You will be!� shouted Jay, getting off his brother.

�I will take that!� exclaimed Adhemar, grabbing the invitation from Sinderella�s hands.

�What is it?� asked Jay, excitedly.

�It�s an invitation to a ball the Prince is throwing!� Adhemar almost fell over again from the excitement.

�And it says he is looking for a lover,� sighed Jay.

�What is all this noise?� questioned Ella from the stairs.

�Mommy! We got an invitation to a ball for tomorrow night,� informed Adhemar.

�We can go, right?� Jay asked.

�Let me see the invitation, Jay,� commanded Ella.

Jay slipped to the staircase and handed his mother the invitation. Ella read the invitation out loud:

All those eligible young gentlemen in the house of LeNoir are invited to Prince Alexander�s Grand Ball on the 3rd of September. The Prince is eager to marry.

�Kind of blunt, huh?� asked Adhemar.

�Well, we better get you two ready for this ball,� said Ella, turning to go back up the stairs, followed by her two sons.

�I can go too, right?�

All three of them stopped. Ella turned around and stared slyly at Sinderella.

�Why do you think you get to go?� she asked.

�All eligible gentlemen are invited, and I am part of this family�� Sinderella trailed off, as his step brothers� glared at him.

�Well� I suppose you can go,� began Ella.

�But mother!� shouted Adhemar and Jay.

�Quiet! You can go if you can finish all your chores on time. And find something suitable to wear,� finished Ella.

�Thank you, Step Mother,� exclaimed Sinderella. �I will finish all my chores, I promise!�

�Good.�

Ella turned back around and walked up the stairs to the indignations of Adhemar and Jay. Sinderella leaped for joy and finished his chores for the day with the dream of the night before in mind.

The next day, Sinderella woke up earlier and had half his chores done before breakfast. After distributing the meals, he finished up his chores. After lunch, Sinderella ran back up to his room to make his outfit for the ball. Before his father died, he gave Sinderella a lovely suit that fit Sinderella wonderfully. Since his step mother and brothers did not know about it, there was no harm in them ruining his evening for him. Sinderella pulled the suit out of a chest hidden in his closet and admired it in his little mirror.

�Most beautiful one at the ball,� he whispered to himself, smiling at his reflection.

Sinderella left the suit on his bed to air out while he helped his step brothers into their outfits. Adhemar had a bright green suit all picked out, and Jay had a deep red one. All while Sinderella helped them dress, Adhemar and Jay were complaining about his good luck that he was able to go.

After finished with them, Sinderella ran back upstairs to dress. As he descended the stairs, Sinderella found his step mother frowning at him. His step brothers were shaking their heads at him.

�What is it?� Sinderella asked. �I finished all my chores. And I have this nice suit to wear.�

�You call this finishing all your chores?� asked Ella, pointing to the muddy floor of the hall. The mud splats looked a lot like cat paws.

�But I did wash that floor today,� reassured Sinderella, walking down the stairs to the floor.

�I am sure you did. But it is still dirty,� said Ella.

�So, clean it!� shouted Adhemar, throwing a bucket of water on Sinderella, soaking him from head to toe in dirty, soapy water.

Sinderella began to cry.

�I guess you don�t get to go with us,� said Jay, smiling.

Sinderella ran to the back yard as his evil step mother and brothers got into their carriage and rode to the palace. He cried and cried on a bench in the yard, wondering if his life could get any worse.

�Now, now, don�t cry,� came a sweet voice.

�I can�t help it,� sobbed Sinderella. Then he shot his head up to see a young man wearing bright blue robes and holding a small wand.

�I�m sure you can. Now that I am here, anyway,� smiled the man.

�I�m sorry, but who are you?�

�I am your fairy godfather, of course, Henmi.�

�Fairy godfather?�

�Yep, and I�m here to get you to the ball.�

�But, look at me! I am soaked. My suit is ruined! I have no ride�� Sinderella started sobbing again.

�Don�t worry about that,� soothed Henmi. �That is why I�m here. Now, let�s see what we can do.�

Henmi stood Sinderella up and then swished his wand around. Sinderella�s clothes became dry instantly, and his suit looked better than ever.

�Wow,� exclaimed Sinderella.

�Of course. Now, you need a ride. What to do?� pondered Henmi.

Then it came to Henmi. There was a pumpkin patch in the back yard. Henmi swished his wand again, and one of the pumpkins turned into a magnificent coach, with horsemen and a driver too.

�Oh, Henmi,� exclaimed Sinderella. �It�s wonderful!�

�Well, hurry up, child. You have to get to the ball before it is over.�

Henmi helped Sinderella into the coach.

�Now, there is a slight catch, Sinderella. You must leave the ball before the clock strikes midnight the magic wears away and you and the pumpkin turn back to what you were before,� stated Henmi.

�Midnight?�

�Yes, midnight. Have fun in the time you have, Sinderella.�

Sinderella arrived at the ball in style at ten o�clock. He was late for the beginning of the ball, but he thought no one would notice him coming in late. As he descended the stairs into the ballroom, every eye was on him. Sinderella felt mighty self conscious as he continued down the stairs. It seemed everything stopped just for him. Before Sinderella knew it, the Prince himself came up to him.

�Hello,� said the Prince, in awe of the beautiful Sinderella.

�Hello,� replied Sinderella, timidly.

�Will you dance?�

�Of course.�

The Prince and Sinderella danced around the ballroom for what seemed like hours. It felt just liked Sinderella�s dream, but a lot more real. Finally, the two of them walked out to a courtyard to get some fresh air after all that dancing. The Prince sat Sinderella down on a fountain bench and kneeled down in front of him.

�The moment I saw you, I think I fell in love,� whispered the Prince, kissing Sinderella on the hand.

�Your majesty,� whispered Sinderella.

�Please, call me Lex,� said the Prince as he kissed Sinderella�s other hand.

�I don�t know what to say,� muttered Sinderella.

�You do not have to say anything,� whispered Lex, kissing Sinderella on the lips.

As Lex pulled away, the clock began to strike midnight.

�What time is it?� asked Sinderella, alarmed.

�I believe it is midnight,� said Lex. �Do not worry, we have plenty of time��

�I have to go!� exclaimed Sinderella, jumping up and running to the front of the palace to his carriage.

�Wait! I do not even know your name!� shouted Lex after him.

By the time he got to the carriage, it was already a pumpkin and he had lost a shoe that only fit his tiny feet. Sinderella ran all the home, praying he would get home before his step mother and brothers. Sinderella sighed as he laid down on his bed in utter exhaustion.

In the morning, Sinderella slowly walked down to the kitchen, believing his evening with the Prince was for nothing. A prince could never love a sooty servant boy. Sinderella stifled a tear as he prepared the breakfast.

Entering his step mother�s room, Sinderella found Ella to still be asleep from her late night. It was not the same with his step brothers, however. Adhemar and Jay were talking incessantly about how they each danced with the Prince for hours. Lying, no doubt.

�He loves me, I know it,� said Jay.

�He enjoyed my company a lot more than yours,� exclaimed Adhemar.

�How was the ball?� interrupted Sinderella.

�It was wonderful without you,� stated Jay.

�So, you had a lot of fun with the Prince?�

�Of course. He never left my side, except for a moment or two to be with that other boy�� muttered Adhemar.

�Other boy?� asked Sinderella, relieved to know that his step brothers did not know it was him.

�Just some boy�� said Jay, angrily.

�Did he dance with the Prince?�

�Why do you keep asking all these stupid questions?� asked Jay, kicking Sinderella out of the room. �No one cares about that boy!�

Later that morning, Ella left for the village to see what she could find about that mysterious red headed boy. Sinderella dutifully did his chores. When she returned, Ella was excited.

�Boys! Get down here!� she shouted.

Jay and Adhemar ran down the stairs hurriedly. Sinderella waited for her announcement on the stairs.

�What is it, mother?� asked the boys.

�You know that boy from last night?� The boys nodded indignantly. �Well, the Prince is in love with him, but he does not know who he is.�

Sindor smiled at the news from the stairs. He loves me? he thought.

�So what?� asked Jay.

�Well, the boy left a shoe at the palace, so the Prince has been traveling around searching for him. He is on his way here. Now is your chance to win his love for yourselves, one of you,� said Ella.

The boys cheered.

�It can�t be hard to fit into a shoe,� said Adhemar.

�Come on. Let�s go get dressed!� said Jay.

As the boys ran upstairs, Ella confronted Sinderella, who was lost in thought about the Prince.

�Why are you smiling so much, you red haired boy?� she asked, angrily.

�Nothing, ma�am,� lied Sinderella.

Ella grabbed Sinderella by the ear and dragged him up to his room.

�You will not ruin this for my boys!� she shouted, throwing Sinderella on his bed. She then locked his door.

�No! Come back!� shouted Sinderella, beginning to cry.

The Prince rode up to the house as Sinderella pounded on his door to be let out. The Prince rang the bell as Adhemar and Jay ran down the stairs to greet him. Ella showed the Prince into the sitting room as Sinderella cried fruitlessly on his bed.

Despite all their efforts, Jay and Adhemar�s feet were just too big for the shoe. Disappointed, the Prince asked if there were any other boys in the house. Ella lied and said no, but offered her sons to the Prince again, trying to convince him that one of them would be better for him. The Prince refused Ella, and was getting back on his horse when he heard shouts from an upstairs tower window. He looked up to see flaming red hair hanging out of the window. The Prince burst back into the house and demanded to see the boy in the tower.

�There is no boy in the tower,� lied Ella.

�Yes, there is! Do not lie to me, woman, or do you want to be thrown into the dungeons?� threatened the Prince.

Ella reluctantly gave the Prince the key. Lex ran up the stairs and unlocked the room to find Sinderella sitting on his bed, waiting for him.

�May I?� asked Lex, producing the shoe.

Sinderella nodded sheepishly. The shoe fit perfectly. Lex rejoiced as he pulled Sinderella into his arms and kissed him passionately.

Sinderella was taken from that evil house once and for all that day to live happily ever after with his one true love, Lex.

The End

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~


Previous | Next