Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

An Encounter With Danger
2003-06-17 - 11:19 p.m.

Sleeping in Adhemar's coffin was quite the adventure in itself. I swear the thing was lined in fur, and it even had a silk pillow. Fashionable even in death. I rose from it in the early evening, probably right after sunset. Once again, I was famished. The blood from the night before did not sustain me very long.

I slowly paced back and forth in my room, waiting for Adhemar to return. He had promised to check on me for he thought I might still be ill. He was right. I should have never gone without blood for so long. I made a mental note to remember that, and to make fun of Adhemar for his coffin.

Not long after I awoke did Adhemar grace me with his presence.

"Does Sindor know?" I asked immediately.

"Nope. Henmi had a close call with him earlier, but I saved the day. Nothing to worry, bro." Adhemar smiled.

"Adhemar, I was wondering something," I began.

"Yeah?"

"Your coffin..."

"Don't even. I like fur and comfort. That is all you need knowing."

I raised my hands in defeat. Then I suddenly winced with the pain from the lack of blood.

"Come on. We will go hunting together. You'll have an easier time with me." Adhemar moved to walk me to the door.

"No. What if we come across Sindor? We can not spoil it now. You bring something back."

"Don't worry about it. I'll watch out for him, and you can stay in the shadows. Besides, if we avoid going anywhere near the tavern or the school we should be fine." I shook my head. "Come on, Lex. You need this."

Adhemar put his arm around me and shoved me to the door. "Fine, but if you ruin this for Sindor..."

"I know, I know, I will get this time."

We stalked out into the night, going into the city for our prey. I followed Adhemar closely, but I did hang back so as not to be seen with him just in case we happened upon Sindor. Adhemar found us a couple of party crashers, and I indulged myself. The blood flow was most sweet and I enjoyed the kill that evening.

Continuing to saunter throughout the city for lack of anything better to do, Adhemar and I came across an outdoor ball. The laughter and the music were too much to ignore for Adhemar.

"Let's go in," suggested Adhemar moving to climb over the wall.

Realizing where we were and whose house it was, I told him no. "We can not go in there."

"Why not?" he asked disappointedly.

"That is Judas' house. If he were to see me now, he might run off to Sindor and ruin everything."

"You sure do like that 'ruin everything motif'."

"Oh, shut up."

"It's true."

I turned to walk away from the house when I heard a scream. Adhemar jumped over the wall quickly to investigate.

"Adhemar, come back here!"

"Lex, get over here. You have to see this."

I jumped over the wall to see what the clamor was all about. I instantly saw a boy, half naked, running out of the nearest set of trees in the garden. He ran past us without the slightest recognition, screaming about an attacker.

"What do you think that was all about?" asked Adhemar amused, watching after the boy.

The frightened boy continued running until he reached the front gate and then vanished.

"I do not know," I replied confused. Then my attention turned to the dense trees. I looked intently at them and then shuddered.

"What is it?" asked Adhemar, noticing my reaction.

"Mon Dieu," came the familiar voice.

"Judas," I whispered.

Judas stumbled out of the trees. "Well, isn't it the Master Fencer." He was laced with alcohol.

"Judas, what the hell were you doing in there?" asked Adhemar, stepping in front of me.

"Just a little flirting..."

"Some flirting. You frightened the poor boy off," retorted Adhemar.

"He just wasn't my type."

"I am sure," I said.

"So," Judas came closer, eyeing us both. "I thought you were gone, dear Master."

"I am gone. And you had better remember that," I said forcefully.

"Oh, I get it. You don't want that cute little red head to know where you are," he replied, tottering.

"Sure. That's it, kid. Why don't you run along now and feel up some other poor boy," Adhemar remarked.

Judas eyed us suspiciously. "Why would I do that?"

Before Adhemar could move, Judas' hand found its way between his legs. Adhemar smacked Judas hard across the face.

"Never do that again!" Adhemar growled.

Judas recoiled to the ground, crying.

"Adhemar," I said disapprovingly. I moved toward the pathetic creature before us. Placing my hand under his chin, I raised his face to me. "You are going to have quite a nasty bruise there."

Judas smiled at me. He quickly wrapped his arm around my neck and kissed me. I pushed him away, disgusted.

Adhemar laughed. "Welcome to the club, Lex."

Judas fell back against the ground, finally unconscious. He had drunk far too much that evening. I lifted his limp body into my arms.

"What are you doing?" Adhemar asked. "You should leave the cur here."

"It looks like it might rain, or snow. And it is far too cold. I will be back. I am just going to drop him off in his room."

"You know where his room is? Is there something I should know, Lex?" Adhemar asked curiously, but with a slight degrading tone.

I did not respond. Instead, I walked quickly through the garden, avoiding any contact with the party goers. I jumped to the balcony and forced my way into the room. After laying Judas on his bed, I returned to the balcony. But Judas called me back.

"Master," he said weakly.

"What is it now, Judas?" I asked from the door.

"I'm sorry. I won't tell Sin," Judas answered, breathing heavily.

"Thank you, Judas." I leapt from balcony and returned to Adhemar.

"The devil alright now?" he asked sarcastically.

"He will be fine. Promised not to tell Sindor about me even."

"I can't believe that little bastard felt me up and then had the audacity to kiss you. He is far more trouble than I thought."

I only laughed. "Lonely people do crazy things when they are drunk."

"Now you are defending him? You should kick him out of the school!"

We jumped back over the wall and headed for the inn.

"I could not just kick him out, Adhemar. He is a paying student. Besides, he will probably not remember any of this by tomorrow morning anyway. He is just a kid, a lonely kid with a hell of a lot of pent up sexual energy. You of all people should be able to sympathize."

Adhemar glared at me. "What are you implying?"

I smiled cunningly. "Nothing. I think you ought to return to the school now. You have been gone far too long. Sindor might be suspicious. I am better now and could probably start on the preparations."

"Fine. I will see you tomorrow night then?"

"Yes."

Adhemar left me as we were nearing the inn. I returned there momentarily to decide on a plan of action. Then I headed out again.

Alexander


Previous | Next