Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Worry and Unease.
2003-06-16 - 11:21 p.m.

Alexander. He was all I could think of as I tossed and turned during the daytime. I had dreams, dreams of which had no real content, only deep feelings of anxiety, worry, and loneliness. I hated them, and was all too eager to exit my coffin when evening finally fell.

I missed Alexander terribly. Yesterday I had thought that I would be able to handle his being gone, but now I was not so sure. Aside from being my love, he was also our family's protector, and I was a bit uneasy with his absence. Thoughts of Soterius came to my mind, though I pushed them away as quickly as they came, for I did not want to think on it. It only made me more frightened.

I pulled my hair back quickly and walked downstairs, remembering that I had promised to visit Christian. I decided that I had best do it tonight, for I had nothing else planned and I needed to keep my mind off of Alexander, for my own sanity.

Sebrine was laying at the bottom of the stairs, and I wondered what Ella had said to make her come out of the basement. I patted her head gently before walking outside to go to the tavern. But first, I decided, I would go feed.

It did not take long to find someone, and when I finished, I went straight to the tavern.

When I entered, I scanned the place for any sign of disarray, but I could see none; the waiters were serving diligently, the customers seemed in good spirits, and Christian himself, who stood behind the counter, looked more energetic than I had ever seen him. I approached to speak with him.

He shook my hand when he saw me, and said, "This is great, Arnon! I really appreciate it!"

I smiled. "So you aren't having any problems? You don't need help with anything so far?"

He shook his head. "This is actually easier than I thought it would be� It is definitely better than being just a waiter."

"Well, I honestly did not think you would take to the job so quickly, Christian," I admitted. "�Are you sure you don't need anything?"

"Nope; I have it under control," he assured me. "I promise I will contact you if I do need anything. But really, I am fine."

I nodded, and decided to leave at that. I truly had not believed he would have liked it, though. He had always seemed so somber and serious as a waiter, after all.

I decided to walk back home, to wait for Adhemar and Henmi to arrive. I assumed they would come over to see me, for they had not given me their address.

When I arrived back at home, I saw Henmi come up the basement stairs, yawning and rubbing his eyes sleepily.

"Oh--hi, Sin," he said when he saw me.

"Hi�" I repeated. "What are you doing here? Did you sleep here?"

"Um� well, Adhemar said� that� that the house was not clean enough for me to live in yet, so we came back here," Henmi said.

"Why did you sleep in the basement?" I asked. "Why didn't you sleep upstairs with Adhemar?"

"Adhemar slept downstairs, too," Henmi replied.

"Why didn't he just sleep in his coffin?" I questioned.

Henmi looked to the ground nervously, but before he or I could say anything, Adhemar entered the room from the basement stairs as well, and said, "Because Henmi has been lonely, Arnon."

"Lonely?" I questioned.

"Yes� 'Tis lonely having to sleep by yourself throughout the daytime� So we decided to sleep next to each other downstairs," Adhemar said, smiling.

Henmi sighed slightly in relief.

My eyes narrowed in suspicion. "I thought you said the bedroom was clean, though?"

"I did, Arnon, really," Adhemar replied. "Clean enough for me, that is, but when I looked upon it again, I could not bare to have Henmi sleep in such a place."

"Do you want me to help you clean tonight?" I asked. "I will� I have nothing else to do�"

"Actually, Arnon, I was going to go feed before we do anything�" Adhemar looked over at Henmi. "You two wait here, then�"

Henmi smiled at him. I nodded and walked him to the door. After he left, I sat down next to Sebrine, and Henmi sat on the floor a short distance away from us, still a bit afraid of Sebrine.

"Henmi," I said. "�Is something wrong?"

He shook his head. "Everything is fine."

I nodded slowly at him, then stroked Sebrine's back gently. We remained there, waiting for Adhemar to return.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next