Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Another In On The Plot
2003-06-19 - 2:15 p.m.

I finished up the night making all the arrangements for Sindor's big surprise. I smiled gaily as I returned to the inn. Sindor would be so pleased, after the initial shock, of course.

Once again, I retired into Adhemar's fur lined coffin. Strange man.

I must have slept far beyond sunset, for when I arose, Adhemar and Henmi were already in my room. Henmi was munching on some bread on the bed and Adhemar was watching over an unconscious person on the couch.

"Mornin'. Brought you something." Adhemar smiled brightly. Henmi joined him in welcoming me.

"Feed quickly, Lex. We have a lot to do tonight."

I walked over to the body. He was a young man, not to distant in looks from Judas. "Nice choice," I complimented with a smirk.

Adhemar smiled ever wider. "Just some pity thief, Lex," he said innocently. He glanced over at Henmi.

You did not tell him? I asked.

He does not need to know, he replied.

I went to feed and then I looked over at Henmi. He was starring at me. I became discouraged.

"What?" he asked shyly, his mouth moving slowly with the rhythm of eating his bread.

"Must you watch me?" I asked.

"Come on, Henmi. Let's give the monster some time alone." Adhemar walked Henmi to the door. "We'll be outside. Take your time. I know I did with his twin brother," Adhemar smirked.

I sighed. When I looked down at the boy, he began to move. It seemed so much easier to kill when they knew not of what was happening. I quickly bit into his tender neck. He shouted out in pain and tried to get away from me. I held on tightly and lapped up his spewing blood. Soon, he no longer fought against me. He lay motionless in my arms as his heart slowed down. When I had thoroughly killed him, I took him to the window and dropped his body into the dark street. I followed after it.

I found Adhemar and Henmi not too far off. They helped me to rid myself of the body in a nearby cemetery. We then headed for the inner city.

"So, what did you do last night," asked Adhemar.

I told them how I had spent the evening.

"It did not take me long to find what I needed. Sindor will be thrilled."

"Sounds good," responded Adhemar.

"We do not have much more to do tonight." I added, "Have you seen Sindor this evening?"

"Yep. He suspects something, especially since we won't let him out with us. He is all bent on helping us clean up our new 'home'," said Adhemar.

"I understand why we need to keep this secret, Lex, but I still don't like it. I have never kept something like this from Sin, and I am not that good at it," commented Henmi.

"Do not fret, little one," I told him. "We only have one more night to pass through before we no longer have to lie to him." I smiled at the timid boy.

He nodded back at me, then looped his arm through Adhemar's. Adhemar and Henmi went off to the theater district while I headed for shops. They came back to me later and helped me with the shopping.

"Did you buy them?" I asked Adhemar excitedly when I saw him.

He held the small pieces of paper up. "Sure did."

"Good. Now, Henmi, find what you want to buy. You two need to be heading back soon, so hurry up. Remember, everything stays with me in the inn."

After another half an hour of shopping, we had all that we needed and started back for the inn with bundles in our arms. When we were back in the room, I reminded them of our next step before they left.

"Yeah, yeah, I'll tell her where to go," said Adhemar.

"I will see you tomorrow night then. Remember, Henmi, keep up the act."

Henmi nodded. He said coyishly, "I sure wish someone would do this for me."

Adhemar kissed him on the cheek. "Don't worry, I'll out stage this vagabond soon enough."

I sighed at Adhemar. He smiled cunningly. Then they left me alone in the room. I had nothing really to do while I waited for Ella to come to me, but I decided to busy myself with preparing what we bought. When Ella did arrive at the door, I had finished.

She knocked lightly. She must have been apprehensive. I had told Adhemar to not let her in on the plot just yet.

I opened the door slowly for my sister. She looked shocked, and then relieved.

"Lex!" She threw her arms around my neck.

I dragged her into the room with her still hanging on and closed the door. I wrapped my arms around her as well. Then she pulled away and promptly slapped me.

"Ow, what was that for?" I asked, rubbing my cheek.

"You have to ask? How dare you do this to me?" she responded with fire in her eyes.

"Ella..."

"No, what the hell are you doing? I thought you left for France. I told everyone that you had left. You lied to me."

"I know. I had meant to go, Ella, but fate seemed to have stopped me."

"Fate?" she asked, unbelieving.

"There were no ships leaving that night or that morning. And I had a little ordeal to overcome, which Adhemar helped me through. Now, I have decided to make it up to Sindor and to you."

I told her what I had planned and what part she played in it. She was thrilled, but still concerned.

"What ordeal?" she asked eagerly.

"I had not fed in days, and it had finally taken its toll on me."

"Are you alright?" She was so concerned.

"I am better now. Adhemar has been taking care of me."

"You seem to be buddying up to him. I thought you hated him."

"I have moved beyond that. We have come to an understanding and are friends now."

"Still, you should have asked me for help. Why did you not come to me?"

"I could not. You were already upset with me. I thought you might not care enough as I suffered for my discretions. I had no right to ask you for anything."

"Oh, Lex, you idiot. I would have helped you anyway. You are my brother. How could you think I would not help you when you were in so much pain?" She hugged me once more with much compassion.

I pulled away from her this time. "How did the lesson go?"

"It was okay," she said slowly. "Sindor was great help."

"I knew you could do it, Ella. I had great faith in you."

She smiled, embarrassed.

I moved us to the couch to be more comfortable in the room. We spent the rest of the evening talking of what was to come the following evening.

Alexander


Previous | Next