Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Youth's Joys and Simplicities
2003-11-30 - 9:53 p.m.

The next evening, Alexander purchased the most lovely coat and shoes for me. I was so excited about the gifts, and so filled with love for Alexander that evening.

After we fed, Alexander told me he wished to go find his family alone. I was a bit sullen at first, but then thought better on it.

It was for the best, and I knew it well. How hard it would be for us to explain my relation to Alexander to his other family members; it was best that I did not see his family.

I hoped his trip would be a happy one. The last thing I wanted to happen was for Alexander to come back in tears, finding all three of his siblings already dead.

Despite my having told Alexander I knew where I was going, I really remembered little from the last time I was in Paris; I was too emotional then, too anxious to concentrate on the setting. I vaguely remembered where Jay's house was from our hotel, so I headed grudgingly in that direction, as Tristram's tavern was just a short distance way from it. I thought I would visit Tristram, as I had told Jerolin that I would visit if I was ever in town again.

There were not many people in the tavern, and in fact, it looked as if most of the people inside were leaving. Renaud, Tristram, Jerolin, and Gazidan were all by the counter, talking amongst themselves.

Renaud was blocking my reading his mind, though I assumed it was because of his own clairvoyant abilities that he was able to do so. I sensed Tristram's mind, but could gain nothing from it, like it was blank, or perhaps he was blocking me, too. With the children, I sensed nothing, as if they were not there.

"Sin!" Jerolin said excitedly, running over to me. I smiled back at him, thinking again how cute he was, how he reminded me again of Henmi.

"Hello again," I said to him.

"Wow, you look like a bear in that coat," he mused, his eyes wide and full of childhood imagination.

"Grrr," I growled, bear-like, but then broke down into a laugh, which caused him to giggle as well.

Tristram smiled at me, then said, "Welcome back--Oh, we're about to close up, Sin, actually. The tavern's been open all day--"

"--your hair doesn't look right," Jerolin interrupted randomly.

"What do you mean?" I asked him.

"It just doesn�t," he said, a typical childish reply. "It should be like Tristy's." He pointed to Tristram, whose red hair was curled slightly. Jerolin added, "I can fix it. I know how."

"How?" I asked.

"Curlers," he answered simply.

"But they're at home, though," Gazidan stated.

I said, "Oh, I wouldn't want to impose upon your hospitality--"

"Please, I want to fix it," Jerolin begged.

"You're being such a baby!" Gazidan shouted at Jerolin.

"Children," Tristram said sternly. Both closed their mouths immediately.

"I thought you'd be coming back soon, Sindor," Renaud said. "Are you having fun?"

"Yes, I am," I answered truthfully.

"Good," Renaud answered. "If only it could last forever, no?"

"I know� It's amazing here�" I smiled.

"Sin�" Jerolin said, desperate for attention.

"Alright, alright," I replied, smiling. "If Tristram allows it, I'll let you do my hair, agreed?"

Jerolin's face lit up. "Can I, Tristy?"

Tristram answered, "If you think it necessary, Jerolin, I will not argue with you, oh All-Knowing Hair Stylist."

I smiled at his answer.

"Then let's leave now!" Jerolin said, excited.

Tristram finished cleaning quickly, and after the last few remaining customers left, he closed the store and walked all of us to his house. Before we entered, I asked if, when I left, he would give me directions to get back to my hotel. He said no, but instead he would walk me there personally. I was overwhelmed with his hospitality.

His house was a small, cozy little house, by no means elegant, but it was homely, comfortable, and pleasant to be in.

In the living room, Ren flopped down into a soft chair in exhaustion, grabbing a large book from a table beside him, a book called The Intricacies of Alchemy. He leisurely flipped through until he found an interesting chapter and began reading. Tristram sat down in a chair opposite him.

Jerolin led me to a couch where he told me to sit down in the middle. Gazidan sat down on one side of me while Jerolin prepared the curlers. I smiled at my predicament.

Jerolin came back in the room a few minutes later carrying a pan of several steaming cylinders. He placed the pan on a table in front of the couch so both he and Gazidan could reach its contents. They both picked up one of the cylinders to begin work on my hair.

I gaped. "What are you doing? Those were just over the fire! Aren't they hot?"

"They don't hurt," Jerolin answered simply, twirling some of my hair around a cylinder. Gazidan mirrored his actions on the opposite side. I turned my eyes up to Tristram in concern.

He smiled calmly back at me. "You could throw those little buggers in the fire themselves and they'd be fine," he said, a moment later adding, "�unfortunately."

Gazidan glared up at him, his fingers still working at my hair.

"It'll look nice," Jerolin stated happily, ignoring Tristram. "It doesn't stay curly for longer than a night, though. But your hair won't burn."

"And why's that?" I asked.

Jerolin looked confused. "Well� you're like Tristram, right? Your hair won't burn."

"Like Tristram?" I questioned.

"We're both red-heads, of course," Tristram answered before Jerolin could say anything else. He twirled a lock of his own hair around his finger and said, "Red hair is immune to such torments."

Gazidan snorted and raised an eyebrow at Tristram in mockery.

After about a half hour, Jerolin and Gazidan had finished. Jerolin took the curlers into the room where he had gotten them, then reentered the room, holding a mirror. He showed me my reflection.

"Wow," I said simply, admiring my curly hair. "It's nice; thank you," I added, smiling. "I think you've made me look like my little brother. His hair is like this."

"Yes, it is," Ren said, looking up from his book.

"You know about Henmi?" I asked, not at all surprised.

"Yes," Renaud answered calmly. "He really misses you. So does your friend."

"Adhemar?" I questioned. Ren nodded.

I asked, "How are they? Are they alright?"

He hesitated a moment, before replying, "I wish that you could stay here."

"�what do you mean?" I asked, confused.

Ren shook his head gently, refusing to say any more.

I tried to find some meaning hidden in his words, but I decided not to think on it. I was here with Alexander to have fun, to be happy, not to think melancholy thoughts about my loved ones oversea.

"That's the right way to think," Ren said, nodding.

Tristram smiled at us, then rose, saying to the children, "You did well, but now it's bedtime."

Gazidan glared at him. "Don't 'wanna."

Jerolin sadly looked up at him. "Do we have to?"

"Yes, dear one, or you'll have no energy tomorrow to work," Tristram said softly.

"But we never get a guest at home�" Jerolin continued.

Renaud stated, "He'll be back soon."

I looked over to him. "Tomorrow?"

"No."

"The day after?"

"No."

"When?"

"Soon, like I said," he repeated cryptically.

Tristram pulled the pouting Gazidan to his feet and led both children into their room.

"I've always wanted children�" I mused out-loud.

"You'll get one," Ren added, looking back to his book again. "A bit older than those two, though."

"Really? Why? What's going to happen? Who is it?" I asked quickly.

"You'll see," Renaud answered vaguely, a slight smile forming on his lips.

I sighed in exasperation. "You enjoy tormenting me like this, don't you?" He nodded and smiled wider.

Tristram reentered the room a moment later and said, "Well, you said you needed a walk home, right? Shall we go?"

I rose immediately and replied, "Of course. Thank you so much; I really appreciate this."

"It's no problem at all," Tristram answered, then said to Renaud, "Watch over the children, alright?" Ren nodded, looking up momentarily from his book to do so.

"Oh, and Sindor--" Ren said to me, "--when you arrive here again, come straight to us first. We�ll have the information you need." I nodded, confused, but then thanked him for his help.

Tristram led me out of his house and back into the streets of Paris, past various buildings and through various areas of town to get back to the hotel. After walking with him, I knew I would never have been able to make it back myself.

"Thank you so much, Tristram," I said gratefully. "I don't know how to repay you."

"You've entertained Gazidan and Jerolin for a night--I think that's payment enough," Tristram answered with a smile. "Well, 'since Ren insists we will see each other again shortly� I suppose I'll see you soon?"

"Of course, Tristram," I said. "Thank you again."

As he began to walk away, I turned to enter the hotel, then walked upstairs to mine and Lex's room.

I sighed in contentment as I entered the room, closing the door behind me. Lex was still not back yet, but I decided to relax anyway.

I removed my coat and placed it delicately over the back of a chair, admiring it once more. My shoes came off next; I laid them on the ground next to the chair. I then slid off my soft stockings and removed my black vest and white silk scarf. The only items I left on were my white shirt and jet black trousers.

I dropped down onto the bed and closed my eyes for a moment, basking in comfort. But then I opened them again, thinking about what I could do until Alexander came back.

Rummaging in my bedside table's drawer, I found only a Bible and extra blank sheets of paper and ink for the writing desk. I sighed and slumped back against my pillows.

Having nothing else to do, my mind went rampant, thinking and wondering aimlessly. I wondered certain important thoughts, like how Alexander was doing, whether or not he had found his family, but also trivial thoughts, like how he would like my hair.

Though I really did not know what to expect from Alexander when he returned home. Laying on the bed, relaxed, I prepared myself for various possible emotions that he might come home with: sorrow, excitement, happiness, pain, anger. I remained in our room waiting for his arrival.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next