Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Footsteps
2004-02-15 - 8:40 p.m.

The journey to Alexander's relatives' house was atrocious. I'd never been as irritated by teasing before, and I am sure I know the reason why.

Before I'd met Alexander, the people of New Orleans feared me, were intimidated by my abilities and connections within the lower dregs of society, and would therefore never have dreamed of insulting me, especially to my face. In return, I would have countered by marking their faces with more than words.

But no matter what Lex said to be, I of course could not say anything to counter his insults. I so feared making him angry with me again.

When we reached the house that we had been seeking, we looked around, I still slightly irked from Lex's previous teasing. We discovered only closed windows and darkened entryways, so no great discoveries were uncovered that evening. We therefore retired to a boathouse near Lex's family's house to spend the rest of the evening and the nearing morning.

Having Lex talk about his family in the boathouse only made me miss mine back in New Orleans. I wondered how Henmi was faring, how his fencing lessons were going, and if he was alright without my presence.

I also missed Adhemar greatly. He was my 'shoulder to cry on,' the person who could cheer me up in no time at all. I wanted to talk with him about everything that had happened so far on our trip, but I was thousands of miles away from him. Of course, I could have written a letter, but doing so is not the same. I wanted to see his face again.

After Lex explained more about his family, we remained in the pitch-black basement, snuggled up to each other in sleep.

The next evening, I awoke much earlier than usual, Lex still sleeping with his arms around me. I rubbed my eyes slowly, still groggy. But then I realized why I had awoken so early.

Loud, clumsy footsteps above caused the wood floor of the boathouse to creak and moan. I was not even certain that the sun had completely disappeared from the sky yet.

Lex? Lex! I thought to him, my inner voice laced with fear.

The footsteps grew louder still.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next