Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Alexander's Pride
2004-02-20 - 4:34 p.m.

Lex? Lex!

I shook my head violently as the voice wafted into my ears. I ignored it and brought my attention back to my sister, Abagail.

"You can not leave us, Alexander. You can not leave me like this," Abby exclaimed, holding onto my arm tightly.

"But I am being smothered here, Abby. You know that. And I can not go back to that house as long as he lives. Besides you have your new husband to watch over you," I replied, soothing her cheek with my hand. "He is a good man."

We were standing in her new home, the sitting room to be exact. I had stopped at the house before leaving on my voyage away from France. I had already said my goodbyes to my other siblings and my mother, leaving poor Ella behind as well.

A tear fell down her cheek. "But no one can replace you, not even William."

"I will write you, Abby. And I will come back to you soon."

Lex? Wake up, Lex!

I looked up, hearing the voice again.

Abby threw her arms around me suddenly. "Do not go!" she begged.

"Lex!" came Sindor's voice, whispered into my ear.

Abagail disappeared from my arms. I shook myself awake and looked confusedly at Sindor. "What--"

Sindor muffled my mouth. He pointed up, and I listened.

Hard and clumsy footsteps stumbled above us. Suddenly, there was a loud crash. One of the boats must have fallen out of its harness and tumbled onto the floorboards. I listened more closely and I could vaguely make out a voice, answered by another, but I could not understand the words.

What is it? asked Sindor.

I do not know, but I will find out.

Be careful, please!

I kissed Sindor gently on the forehead. Then I crawled to the stairs silently, observing, through the cracks, a figure moving rapidly back and forth above us. Another large thud erupted on the floorboards.

A sudden fear overcame me. It was odd to feel thus. It had to be a human, I could smell the blood, and yet there was a terrible rush of apprehension. I was never afraid of a human like this before. It must have been the fact that I was trapped down in the basement, and I had no control over what happened above me.

I looked back at Sindor, who was also showing fear. He nodded at me though, urging me on, and I returned the gesture.

Gathering my courage, I moved up the stairs, one by one, until I reached the hidden door. I pushed it open gently, making not a sound. As the gap grew larger, I peered around the door. Luckily, the figure faced the opposite way. It was a man, with light brown hair, falling tangled over his shoulders. His clothing was ragged and unkempt. He was breathing heavily as he stared at one of the boats on the floor.

He began to speak. His French accent was similar to my own, but it his language was crude. "Well, why don't you push it in?" he asked angrily.

I looked around but saw no one else. Then the boy turned his head very gently to the side and whispered something else, but it was inaudible.

He jerked his head back to the right and demanded, "What?" The voice was angry and the man stood up straighter.

Then he slipped back into a more gently pose as the head fell to the left, as if he was afraid. But he said nothing. As the head jerked to the right, the man moved around the room, kicking the boat and throwing some rope across the room, shouting obsenities. He turned around in his fit and noticed me behind the door. This frightened him more than surprised him.

"Who the hell are you?" he shouted as he came rushing toward me.

I tried to move from behind the door into the room to answer, but the man reached it quickly and pushed it into my chest, pinning me between the door and the post before I could stop him or realize what was happening.

I let out a shout as he struck me forcefully with the door again. Then he punched me across the face, letting the door go to do so. I fell down from the strike to my knees, dazed, and he kicked me violently in the stomach, sending me tumbling down the stairs. I rolled onto the floor of the basement, hitting my head, and Sindor rushed over to me.

"Lex! Oh my god, are you alright?"

"No! The bastard hit me," I exclaimed sluggishly, rubbing my head where it had been struck on the ground as I tumbled down the stairs.

Above, the man made heavy footsteps as he ran out of the boathouse. The door slammed behind him, and I could hear the bolt being drawn across it, locking us in.

"Oh, great!"

"Who was that?" Sin asked, confused and concerned, trying to look at the cut on my cheek.

"How the hell should I know. He was not in the introducing mood as he beat the life out of me," I snapped.

I knew I was being harsh to Sindor, but I was angry. I was angry at the fact that I was beaten by a human, of all creatures, and that I could do nothing against the bastard.

I dragged myself to one of the walls to prop myself against it. I rubbed my jaw as Sindor looked at me, hurt.

"I am sorry, Sin. I should not be so angry with you, I am just..."

"Damn your pride, Lex. I'll go see where he went." And Sin left me.

Alexander


Previous | Next