Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A New Family History
2004-04-08 - 4:12 p.m.

Marc built up the fire in the fireplace as I made myself comfortable in one of the chairs. The fire lit up the room nicely. I purposely chose a chair that faced another in the center of the library. I glanced around at the large collection of books. I almost mentioned reading some of them to Marc, but caught myself before I revealed anything.

I gestured to the chair opposite as Marc turned from the fire. He nodded and joined me, reclining comfortably. He looked at me intently, waiting for me to explain.

"I can understand you are disconcerted, but I would not lie to you about being related," I began.

"I don't see why you would, monsieur, but one can never be too cautious nowadays," replied Marc.

"Please, my name is Lex," I said with a smile. I needed Marc to trust me.

"That comes from Alexander, you said?"

"Yes, I was named after my grandfather, Alexander LeNoir. He was Abagail's older brother. Do you know Abagail?"

"My grandmother on my mother's side is Abagail. I do vaguely remember hearing about an Alexander who left. Along with another great aunt... Oh, what was her name?" He searched his mind for the name.

I gave it to him. "Ella."

"Yes, that was it. Our family has not heard from the two of them since they both disappeared. We believed them dead actually. I do not even think a lot of the family knows about them. My uncles and mother rarely would talk about them when I was younger."

How interesting to hear about yourself from someone you did not even know. I had the impression, however, that I had become a family secret that no one wished to talk about. It seemed the younger ones were interested in the dark side of the family while the adults wished to just forget the fact that two of their family members deserted the family. Marc seemed eager to hear though. He was still young. I liked him.

"Well, my grandfather traveled around the world," which was true, "before settling in the New World. He started a fencing school in New Orleans, where he met my grandmother. My father was born about a year after they were married."

"New Orleans? I had always wished to see the New World," interrupted Marc.

"It is a nice place to live, though not as much scenery as France. I have really enjoyed my time here."

"This is your first time to France?"

"Yes, my family has been living in New Orleans for quite some time now and have not left."

"I have never left France. I am afraid I will be stuck here forever."

"I am sure you will find some way to leave France if you really want, Marc."

"Thanks for the confidence," replied Marc, smiling at me for the first time.

"You know, I had always questioned my origins. My grandfather told me all that he knew before he left. He told me about Abagail, and his older brothers, but they are all certainly dead by now."

"Not Abagail," said Marc abruptly.

I looked at him curiously. I had figured all of my siblings to be dead. I had prepared myself for that reality. But when Marc said that Abagail was still alive, I froze. I did not know what to say, or even think.

"I visit her sometimes in Paris. My uncle, David, cares for her," added Marc, noticing my demeanor.

"Visit her?" I stammered.

"Yes. Are you alright? You seem... pale, all of sudden."

I looked Marc in the eyes, for I had been staring at the fire, trying to comprehend. "Yes. My grandfather spoke so often about his siblings that I felt really close to them some how. I thought they were all dead though, and I had prepared myself for such a revelation."

"Wilfred and Charles died, oh, ten years ago or more. I not remember them. But Wilfred's daughter and granddaughter visit us often," informed Marc.

"Daughter?" I did not know Wilfred had a child. I remembered he had been courting someone, but a child?

"Yes, Jennifer. Her daughter is Catherine. I do believe Catherine is quite taken with Theodore actually. She comes by more often than her mother." Marc had a whimsical look to him all of a sudden.

"What about Charles? Did he ever marry?"

"No. That man was a born bachelor. He had many lovers, though. I would not doubt if he had illegitimate children."

I knew Charles would never marry. He never was one to settle down. It sounded as though he had a good life though. I was sorry that I had not come back sooner. But Abby was still alive. She must be in her early sixties.

Marc interrupted my thoughts. "Did your grandfather know about Abagail's children: David, Charles, and my mother, Michelle?"

I thought for a moment. "Yes. But they were very young when he left." I remembered the twin boys fondly. They always had interesting fencing questions whenever I visited them. The daughter, Michelle, was about three when I left. I vaguely remember her looking like her father, William. "You said David watches over his mother now. What about Charles and your mother?"

"Charles lives in Paris too. Down the street from David, in fact. Those two are hard to separate for long. My mother lives here with me. She is visiting her mother this week however," he replied.

"My grandfather told me that this estate belonged to his cousins, Luc and Odile. Do you remember them?" I was still confused as to how someone from my side of the family attained the manor. Uncle Randolph was not very likely to give it away.

"Luc is my granfather on my father's side. My father, Raoul, was quite taken with his second cousin, Michelle."

"I see." Took after his father, I saw. Luc always seemed to have a desire for Ella. I once threatened to kill him though if he ever touched her.

"My sister, Anna, and I are their only children," Marc added. "I will acquire the estate when my father dies, which will hopefully not be for a long time."

"So are Luc and Odile gone too?" I asked.

"Odile is still alive. Her children take care of her, but they moved to southern France with her husband a long time ago. We rarely see them any more."

"So how old are you now?"

"Twenty-five. And you?" he asked with curiousity.

I did not know what to say. I had died at twenty-five, but I was unsure if the time would add up for me to remain at such an age. But since I did not have the time to figure it out, I replied, "I am twenty-five too."

"It has been nice to meet you, Lex. I had no idea I had family outside of France. I am just sorry that you could not meet the others. Though," he thought. "We are not far from Paris. You can see them if you visited David's house."

I found the idea a very good one. "That would be wonderful."

"Well, all the rest of the family is up there. Unfortunately I can not accompany you there, but Christine can. Perhaps Theodore can go too. I bet a trip would do him some good."

"This Theodore is your?"

"Brother-in-law. Christine and Teddy come from a shattered background. We took Teddy in when I married Christine."

"That was kind of you."

"Yes, well." He glanced at the clock against the wall. "It has become very late. You are welcome to stay here if you want. You and your friend."

"That is kind of you, but we already have accomodations near here. But you are right, it is late, and we should be going."

Marc and I shook hands. He had a wide smile on his face. He then led me back to the kitchen where we met Christine.

"Oh, Lex. Your friend said to tell you that he went back to your lodgings. He ran out abruptly. I hope he is alright," said Christine.

I immediately become worried about Sindor. "Thank you Christine."

"Just come back some time tomorrow, Lex, and I will arrange for a carriage to take you to Paris," said Marc.

"It will probably be late in the afternoon. Sindor and I have some other things to tend too."

"Of course."

"What about Paris, Marc?" asked Christine.

"I will tell you later. Good night, Lex."

"Good night, Marc. Christine."

I left from the kitchen door. I was unsure of what Sindor thought to be our 'lodgings,' but I figured he would probably return to the boathouse. I crossed the back lawn and entered the boathouse.

Alexander


Previous | Next