Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Abagail's Acceptance
2004-08-28 - 11:35 p.m.

By the time we had reached Paris, it was barely after six and a half o'clock in the evening. It was not too late to visit with relatives. I had been worrying half the journey that Abagail would not want to see anyone any time after dark, but Christine assured me that she never slept until later in the night.

As I was unsure of the location of the house, Christine directed me through some cozy streets until we happened upon a small manor nestled amongst trees. I pulled in the horses as we approached the gate. Christine jumped down before I had a chance to give her my hand, so I retreated to the carriage and opened the door for Sindor and Theodore.

"We are here," I said presently.

"About time," whispered Sindor as Theodore exited out of the other side of the carriage. I can no longer stand this personality.

Which would that be? I questioned.

Well, to put it nicely, this Serge is rather a skank.

I laughed into the night. Sindor looked at me, embarrassed. I apologized through our mindlink. He shook his head.

Christine had proceeded all of us to the door, awaiting our arrival from the carriage. By the time the three of us had arrived, traversing the path through the tall trees, a man, prehaps mid-forties, was greeting Christine with open arms.

"And who are these fine young gentlemen?" he asked of Christine, releasing her from a hearty embrace and after nodding approval towards Theodore.

"David, this is Alexander," she replied, gesturing toward me. "A relative of yours."

"Really?" David looked shocked.

"And this is his friend, Sindor," continued Christine. "They are both from New Orleans."

David continued to question my existence within himself, and said, "The only Alexander I knew was my uncle."

"I am his grandson. You can call me Lex," I explained. I knew in his mind that he believed he was looking upon a ghost.

"You look so much like him," stammered David. "I barely remember him, but I have looked upon that face before."

"I have been told that I resemble him, yes. But I assure you that I am his grandson. I have come to Paris seeking the relations I have only heard of in stories."

"Yes, yes..." responded David, lost in thought. "Where are my manners? Please, do come in out of this cold."

As we all followed David inside the home, we were surrounded by a fine warmth emanating from a neaby fireplace in the hall. The little house was actually charming and not quite as little as perceived from the street. The entrance hall expanded a long way to the back of the house, where I presumed the kitchen stood. Off to the side of the front door was a sitting parlor with another fireplace.

"Your room is all ready for you and Theodore," said David to Christine, while gesturing for all of us to take a seat around the fireplace. "But I was unaware of your coming, monsieurs, and have no place for you."

"That is quite all right," I responded, finding a comfortable position on a small couch. "We have lodgings in Paris. And, please, call me Lex."

Sindor sat beside me as Theodore and Christine found separate chairs. David remained standing.

"Yes, yes. So, Lex, how is it that you are my uncle's grandson?" David questioned. His eyes implored into my own.

I related the fabrication that I had told to Marc about my "grandfather's" life and my own existence. He seemed content with the explanation, almost relieved to hear of what became of his uncle. As I finished my tale, I mentioned my interest in seeing Abagail.

"Yes, well, of course, that sounds reasonable. I shall inform her of your request, but she has not been well recently, and I am unsure of whether she will see you or not," explained David.

"Anything you can do. I will understand if she declines. It is quite all right," I reassured.

David left the room, and I presumed he went upstairs to converse with his mother. I waited patiently, hoping that she would be intrigued enough to see me.

I glanced over at Sindor and smiled. He returned the gesture. Everything seems to be going well, he thought to me.

Yes. But you must be bored. Prehaps...

No, I will remain here with you. Besides, maybe I can attain answers from Christine about Theodore.

Sindor was so determined to help Theodore that I was moved by his concern. Sindor was truly a caring man, and I was glad to have him by my side.

I nodded in agreement. Sindor smiled again, then glanced over at Theodore. He and Christine had been conversing quietly about the journey.

David returned with good news. I followed him back up the stairs and to a small bedroom near the rear of the house. It was barely lit but with a single candle by the window where she sat in a rocking chair. He introduced me to Abagail, then at her request, he took his leave of us, closing the door behind him.

"I have heard you are the grandson of my youngest brother," she said from the darkness.

I would have barely seen her face if I had not been a vampire. She was older looking than I had expected, but I could still see the beauty she once possessed hidden under the wrinkles that age had bestowed on her.

"That is correct," I responded, still standing near the doorway.

"Come in closer, if you will." Her voice was still as melodious as it had been when she was younger. "I would like to look at you in the light."

I approached her slowly. As my face fell from shadow into the light, Abagail gasped. "You are not who you say you are," she exclaimed.

I stopped in front of her. I knew she recognized me: not as the grandson of her brother, but as her brother himself. However shocked she seemed to be, though, she was not afraid, but elated at seeing me again.

She practically leapt off the chair and into my arms. I held her dearly, closing my arms around her with all the love I had possessed for her. I could tell she was crying as she embraced me.

Gently, she pulled back from me and looked into my eyes. "But how can this be? You do not look a day older than when you left all those years ago."

"I know, Abby. It is a rather long explanation that does not need to be given right now. I have come back to see you again. How have you been?"

She laughed. "You always were so concerned about Ella and me that you never thought about yourself around us. But I will not let you deter me, Alexander, and I will know the truth."

Abagail was so forceful that I did not know what to say.

"This has something to do with how you changed the first time you left, does it not?" asked Abby, replacing herself back into the rocking chair.

I knelt down beside her on the floor. "How do you mean?"

"You were different when you returned from your journey. You came back with a strange look in your eyes, I remember."

I was very taken aback. My sister had never let on that she felt me different after my travels around Europe. I should have suspected it though, because she was always very intuitive.

I nodded to her. "Yes, Abby, but what do you think I am?"

"Whatever you are you made Ella one too. I saw you two that night after you returned. You were agruing, then silent. I was visiting with the children. I became curious as to your agrument and sudden silence. I saw from the open door you doing something to Ella. The next day she had the same look in her eyes."

I was astounded. "Why did you never mention this observation before?"

"I simply figured you would tell me if you wanted to. Besides, I had been eavesdropping on you two, and I was not about to mention that." She laughed again, slightly embarrassed still at the event that happened many years ago.

I feared she was taking the situation too lightly. Her revelation that she knew that I was different and had made Ella different was almost too much for me to handle. I sat in silence at Abby's feet for a few minutes.

"What are you?" she asked quietly.

"I am a vampire," I heard myself say, my eyes on her feet.

She did not say a word. I feared she was taken aback, so I quickly gazed into her eyes. She was merely smiling.

"How romantic," she said, leaning her head back against the chair and gazing out the window.

I had not been more surprised in all of my life than that night with my sister. She accepted me so readily and knew so much already that I was simply astounded.

Her beautiful voice interrupted my thoughts again. "I just have one question."

"Yes, anything."

"Why her, and not me?"

I was not sure of how to answer her question. I tried to formulate as much as I could before answering, "You know that I was always closer to Ella."

She seemed hurt. "I see." Her eyes still toward the window.

"Abby, if I knew, or even suspected that you knew what I was, I would have told you. But this life, this existence, it is not as romantic as you think it is. And I was too quick to change Ella. I was still young and did not know the truth."

She raised her hand to silence me. "It is alright, Alexander. I have had a wonderful life. I was truly loved, and I truly loved back. I raised three respectful children. I could not have asked for anything more, only the truth about my beloved brother, and you gave it to me."

I placed my hands on top of hers. "My darling sister, I would give you the world."

"I know," she responded quietly. "But enough of this depressive talk. Tell me about yourself."

So I explained everything to my sister. She was very intrigued and hung on every word. She was very interested in hearing that Ella was still alive and living with me as well as in meeting Sindor. I must have talked for two hours that night.

As I noticed the time from the little mantel clock, I realized that my aging sister must need her rest. Besides she had been drifting some of the time. I suggested that she rest, and though she disagreed, I finally got her to change her mind with the assurance that I would return the following evening before I left Paris once more.

I left Abby to ready herself for bed and found my way back to the parlor. Sindor remained alone to greet me.

"How did it go?" he asked.

"Very well. Very well, indeed." I smiled.

David arose from the kitchen to let us out of the manor, and Sindor and I found our way back to the hotel. I was in such a good mood that I talked Sindor's ear off about Abby all the way to the hotel. I also made mention of my intentions to return the next evening. Though Sindor objected, I told him that we would still be leaving for home tomorrow. He seemed cheered by the official statement on returning home.

Since I was in such a good mood that night, I decided to have a slight celebration with Sindor. We spent the rest of the night enjoying new sensations of each other.

Alexander


Previous | Next