Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Yet Another Facet
2004-08-24 - 7:33 p.m.

When Lex and I went to join Catherine and Theodore, I could tell that something was not quite the same about Teddy. When we were alone in the carriage, I confronted him about it.

"...you're not Teddy, are you?" I asked suspiciously, my eyes narrowing. I felt the carriage begin to move.

He smirked and replied coyly, "Whatever would give you that idea?"

"First, you are way too outgoing to be Theodore. Considering my previous visits with him, he seemed very reserved and naive. Next, your speech and your gestures remind me of a rather provocative friend of mine. And finally--I just know," I listed.

"You 'just know?' Hmm, a little mind reader are we?" he asked, his smile never fading.

"I don't know. Maybe," I replied vaguely.

"I see. You want to play hard-to-get, don't you? I could wheedle the information out of you, most assuredly..."

I felt my face redden, but remained collected. "I ask the questions first."

"Fine," he agreed. "But you answer my questions next. It's only fair."

"Fine," I echoed reluctantly. "So... who are you?"

"Serge," the man purred. "And you're Sindor. Dom speaks very highly of you, you know. You're all he talks to me about nowadays. How could I not be intrigued?" Serge caressed my foot gently with his.

I jerked my leg away and asked, "What about Paul?"

"What about him? He doesn't know you, and I don't think he has a mind to," Serge replied. "He's wretched violent anyway. I can be gentle, though..."

"Spare me," I answered in dislike. "What about Teddy? What about his past?"

"He doesn't remember his past, of course. He couldn't deal with all of it on his own," Serge replied, thoughtful. "No one could."

"So... why these, well, new personalities?"

"What personalities?"

"Well, you, and Paul, and Dom, of course."

"I am not a personality," Serge corrected, seeming somewhat offended.

"Well, fine, you are a completely different person who just so happens to have some of Theodore's memories," I replied just to satisfy Serge.

"Yes, it appears to be like that."

"Why the distinction between you and Dom and Paul?"

"Well, when Teddy was little, he was beaten quite a lot, for no reason most of the time, by his father, you know. It wounded him emotionally as well as physically," Serge explained. "Dom has to deal with that. He's frightened all the time that his father will come to him again and hurt him. But he's happy with Catherine and Marc. He can be a child with them now, whereas he could not before."

"Yes, when I first met him, he was very scared that his father would return," I agreed. "But, why should Dom be afraid if Teddy's father was hurting Teddy, not Dom?"

"When you witness something, like Dom has in relation to Teddy, you are afraid the same will happen to you. It's just natural," Serge replied indifferently.

"Hmmm... Well, what happened next with Teddy?"

"Well, when Teddy matured, his father had begun to grow, well, most lustful," Serge started. I shivered, not really wanting to hear. Serge continued, "His father wanted Catherine, you know, but Teddy didn't want that to happen... He loved Catherine dearly. He would protect her from their father, and thus receiving the brunt of his father's advances."

I scowled and put my arms around myself nervously.

"Well, after a while, Teddy thought the only way he could deal with the pain was to try to enjoy it," Serge said. "It was hard, but he got used to it eventually. But..."

"But?" I questioned.

"But after a few years, Teddy's anger began to build up. He wanted to leave his father. However, his fear for Catherine's safety held him back. Sad, no?"

I nodded, though I wondered how Theodore was able to survive all of that. I knew I would never be able to. "So... you sort of relate to Teddy's life in that... what? You don't care if you're promiscuous or not?"

"I suppose. Shall I give you a demonstration?"

"No thanks," I said firmly, wrinkling my nose. "And Paul? When we saw him before, he was trying to get away... he is like Teddy later in life then?"

"Yes, I guess that's how it is," he replied casually.

"That's interesting..." I mused. "So, Teddy isn't hurt at all by these memories?"

"No, not at all," Serge replied. "He knows nothing of them, in fact. His past is a blurry haze."

"That's good... I was really concerned for him. But if he really isn't hurting at all... I guess there's no reason to be worried..." I gathered.

"Now it's my turn for questions," Serge stated with a grin.

I sighed. "Fine, just hurry up about it," I replied moodily.

"What's your relationship with Alexander really?" he asked playfully. "You're together, aren't you?"

I felt my face flush, and I turned my head away from him. "That's none of your business."

He chuckled. "You promised you'd answer my questions..."

Immediately I regretted that promise. "Well, I didn't think they'd be questions like that."

"It's too late, boy; you've already promised," he said smugly.

"Fine!" I whispered fiercely, turning back to him. "Yes, we are! You better not tell Catherine, you sneak!"

He smiled. "Ooh. Give me the details."

"That isn't a question. It's a command, and I refuse to obey it," I said, crossing my arms defiantly. "Now promise you won't tell her."

"She already knows," Serge said with amusement. "They all know. You follow him around like you're a horse and he possesses the reigns; it's quite obvious."

"Well, to everyone else, maybe we're business partners, like Lex told Catherine and Marc," I speculated. "Or friends."

"You're hardly just that," Serge shot back.

"How can you tell?"

"The way you look at him. Friends and business partners don't have that look in their eyes," Serge explained matter-of-factly. "Only those in love do. And you obviously won't deny that, will you?"

My blush deepened. "I'll just have to stop looking at him in public, then."

"That would change nothing," Serge retorted. "Don't you think people have intuition, and can tell when something is awry?"

"No. Because love's not the only reason we're different... and no one has discovered what we really are," I answered vaguely.

"What you really are?" Serge repeated, confused.

"Yes," I confirmed. "Anyway, are you done with your questions?" I asked, changing the subject away from my vampiric condition.

"Hmm... let's see..." he mused. "Who is that friend you spoke of earlier? The one 'like me?'"

"'Friend?' Oh, you mean Adhemar," I answered. "He's a couple years older than me, and lets me know it all the time by calling me 'kid.' He's originally from Egypt, so he has a foreign accent... I really like it. He's a little taller than me, and he has dark brown hair and very beautiful eyes. I guess... I guess he's pretty handsome. He can make me laugh easily, and he always makes me feel... well, loved. He's a great friend," I stopped, realizing I hadn't taken a breath through my whole description of Adhemar. "I really miss him..." I trailed off.

"Ooh, he sounds to die for," Serge asked with a smirk. "Don't you think so?"

I shifted my eyes to the ground. "I don't know..."

"Yes you do," Serge purred, his voice full of amusement.

"He is with my brother now. They are together, and they're pretty happy too," I explained.

"...Jealous?"

"No!" I replied hotly. "Why would I be?"

He laughed playfully. "It's obvious that you're completely polyamorous."

My eyes widened, my face feeling as if it was on fire. "Wh-what are you talking about? That's... that's nonsense! Y-you don't know what you're talking about... You're crazy!"

He smiled. "That's what they all say, Sindor dear. That's what they all say."

-Sindor-


Previous | Next