Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The First Night: Betrayal (Part 2)
2002-07-05 - 10:23 a.m.

After several hours, I left the bar in the care of my assistant, Henmi, and started towards Gautier Manor. The night air was chilled, and the wind was picking up. No one visibly walked the streets.

As I approached the manor, I moved in the shadows, making my way to the back of the house where the music room was located. I had been there once before as a child, and so I vaguely remembered the layout of the house. I peered inside the window. No one. Only darkness. As I pulled up the wooden frame as slowly as I could, I felt as if I was being watched. I glanced around, still seeing no one, so I entered the room through the opening in the window.

The mirror lay on the piano, just as Andre had said. I looked around once more for any sign of the Gautiers, but I saw nothing yet again. But as I reached for the mirror, I heard a multitude of feet hitting the ground, people running into the room, voices raised in a triumphant cry. Before I could turn to escape, hands grabbed me from behind, spinning me around to face the leader of this pack of rogues. It was none other than Andre. Damnation, I thought. How could I have been so stupid?

Lamps were quickly lit, the light pouring into the room as Andre stepped closer to me. "Forgive me, lad," he said with amusement. "But you have quite a bounty on your head. How could you expect me not to try to obtain it?"

Struggling against the men that held me, I tried to break free, though I knew my efforts were futile. Andre nodded to a large brute who wielded a heavy club, who then swung the wooden bludgeon up against the back of my head. I felt blood trickle slowly down my neck.

"Your trial is tomorrow morning, Arnon." Andre smirked with delight. "Pray that the guillotine kills you quickly."

Another hard whack to the back of my head. I was dizzy. My head throbbed and I could barely remain awake. Before slipping out of consciousness, I thought, Ah, when I wake up again, I will be in Elysium. Sleep overtook me as they began to carry me away.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next