Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Different Valhalla (Part 1)
2002-07-05 - 5:42 p.m.

I rolled over and absent-mindedly wondered what time it was. Damnation. Henmi will kill me if I'm late for work. But then I remembered my predicament.

My eyes shot open as I sat up quickly. I immediately regretted doing so, for the sudden movement made my head throb even more than before. I lifted my hand to the back of my head and noticed, thankfully, that the bleeding had stopped. But where am I?

The last thing I remembered was� the manor. I was supposed to have been sent to the guillotine, was I not? What is this then? A joke? Or� have I died? No, I decided. I don't suppose my head would ache in Valhalla.

What was this place, then? The room I was currently in was the epitome of lavishness. I swung my legs over the side of the huge bed that I lay upon. The carpet beneath my feet was a scarlet plush. The walls were painted a metallic gold color, and paintings lined the walls.

I stood up slowly, my head swimming with dizziness as I held onto the bedpost to steady myself. I blinked my eyes several times to focus my vision. Who put me here? And why? This must be some sort of jest.

I walked carefully to the door. Half-expecting the door to be locked, I tried turning the ornate knob. To my surprise, the door swung open. I peered outside, but I could see no one. I could hear nothing as well. There was no sign of anyone else around besides myself. This is insane, I thought. There has to be someone else here.

I walked into the hall and entered the door opposite the room I had woke up in. It was a library of sorts, books lining shelves or piled in stacks on the ground. I glanced at some of the book titles, several of which were in foreign tongues. The History of Parisian Swordsmanship. The Nordic Practices of Europe. The Creatures of the Amazon. What a lark� The room was as elegantly furnished as the last, with tapestries and paintings all over the walls. But there was no one inside.

I exited and entered the room to the left of the library. When I pushed the door open, I was stunned to find a� tiger. It was curled up asleep on an Oriental rug in the middle of the room. I closed the door quickly and backed away. Who in their right mind keeps a tiger in their house in New Orleans?! This can't be real! I'm going insane!

I pressed my hand over my face and noticed that my jewelry had fallen off, most likely in Gautier Manor. Great. Now Henmi is really going to kill me.It's been a tradition for many years at Impuret� for the bartenders to wear ornamental gems on their faces. Yes, Henmi will kill me. If I ever see him again.

I was feeling brave again, and decided to try another door. The next door led to a display room of sorts. Swords hung from the walls and battle emblems and awards lined all of the empty wall space. There were several coats of armor standing in the room, as well as other items from various wars. But no one was inside.

As I exited the room, by stomach growled, reminding me that I hadn't eaten since yesterday afternoon. I tried to ignore it.

I looked in several other rooms before walking to the front of the house, and examining the doors which led outside. They were large wooden doors, covered with various ornate carvings. I tried the knob, but the door was locked tightly. Figures, I thought. There is no one here but me, and I'm locked in. I thought for a moment about leaving through one of the windows, but I thought Andre and his cronies might be waiting outside somewhere, so I decided to stay inside.

I made my way back to the room that I had found myself in earlier and reclined back onto the bed. I winced as the back of my head hit the pillow. Henmi must be worried� I'll talk to him tomorrow for sure, I thought, gazing up at the high ceiling. I continued looking upwards as I tried to devise a plan so that I might evade Andre's men when the time was right.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next