Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Different Valhalla (Part 2)
2002-07-05 - 7:21 p.m.

A shrill, piercing cry filled the air and interrupted Mopheus' workings throughout my head. I sat up quickly, thinking the worst, as one usually does in the dead of night. There are demons about, I thought, and I've gone to Hell after all. I moved to get up from the bed, but gracelessly bumped into a shadowy form beside me on the bed. I gasped and backed against the headboard, wide-eyed at the figure next to me.

"Good evening, Sindor," the darkened form purred.

There was no one in the house earlier, I thought. What is this then? A spirit? My mind jumped to monstrous conclusions.

"No, I am not of ectoplasm, but not human either," he answered.

He reads my thoughts?! Then he must be--

"No, I am not a sorcerer or magician of any sort." He stood from the bed and began lighting lamps throughout the room. "Do not be afraid�" he said, looking back at me.

I shivered slightly and scooted farther away from him. He only smiled and sat beside me again.

Recovering a bit from my surprise, I managed to say, "Who are you�?"

"My name is Alexander. Pleased to make your acquaintance." He reached for my hand and dropped several small objects in my palm. I looked down to discover that they were the gems I had misplaced. "I thought you might be needing those. I found them outside the manor."

I curled my hand into a fist and brought it to my chest. "Why� am I here?"

He didn't answer my question, only saying, "Would you rather be with the beloved guillotine?"

I shook my head, but was still confused beyond comprehension. "What is this place�?"

"No, it is not heaven of any sorts. Only my house, young one." He paused a moment to listen to the anguished sound of my stomach growling in complaint. He laughed. "Perhaps I should bring you something?"

I nodded reluctantly, and watched him rise from the bed again and exit the room.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next