Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Midnight Snack
2002-07-05 - 7:38 p.m.

He looked rather frightened of me as he pushed away up to the head of the bed. His thoughts flooded my mind easily. Thinking me a ghost or demon, I simply told him otherwise, which helped his fear slightly.

When he asked me for my name, I replied casually. I then handed back his gems that I picked up last night. He seemed rather happy to see them, bringing them close to his heart.

"Why am I here?" he asked me.

I felt that I would frighten him even more if I told him I brought him here so that I would be able to kill him, instead of the pack of murderers. So I merely replied to him, "Would you rather be with the beloved guillotine?"

He shook his head at this and asked, "What is this place...?"

He was still thinking that he was dead, so I reassured him. "No, it is not heaven of any sorts. Only my house, young one."

His stomach made that annoying sound hungry human stomachs make, so I laughed, remembering how long ago that my stomach made such a noise.

"Prehaps I should bring you something?" I asked him, wondering what I could find for him, since my house was bare of human food.

He nodded at me after a moment's hesitation, and I left the room to walk to the front door, which I locked after me. I walked down to a nearby tavern and bought some bread and cheese along with a jug of water.

As I entered the room again, he looked at me like I was a god. He ravenously grabbed the bread and cheese from me and started shoving it down his mouth. Fearful that he would choke, I told him to slow down and handed him a glass of water.

When he finished he looked at me again with fear behind his eyes. He was thinking better of eating so quickly.

"I would not poison your food, Sindor," I told him.

He nodded at me, still unsure of me.

"If I had not taken you from the hands of those murderers, you would not be alive now, Sindor. You should be grateful, not fearful."

"Grateful?" he whispered at me, taken aback. His thoughts came quickly to his head, and then he muttered a quiet, "Thank you."

Not wanting to stop looking at his sweet face, I asked him what he was doing at that manor in the first place.

"I was being betrayed..." he mumbled.

"Alright. You do not have to tell me."

"Why were you following me?" he asked, glaring at me.

"I was watching out for you," I lied.

I could tell he was becoming angrier at me.

"Let me leave. There is someone at the tavern who will be worried about me?"

Not wanting him to be angry, I agreed. I walked him down to the front door. I turned on him before I let him through however.

"I will see you again," I told him.

Dropping my arm from in front of the door, he walked out, not even looking at me. I felt hurt by this, and I decided it would not be long before I saw him again.

Alexander


Previous | Next