Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Convict's Weakness
2002-07-06 - 9:25 a.m.

I ran. I didn�t look back. I couldn�t. I didn�t know what was going on anymore and I half-expected to wake up from a dream at any moment. But I didn�t, and that only made me more apprehensive.

The bar wasn�t too far away, considering how fast I was running. I don�t think I�d ever run that fast in all my years. I had forgotten about Andre and his men. They wouldn�t be able to catch me, anyway. I�d know not to get caught next time. The bar was in sight now, and I approached readily.

I entered through the back door which led to my living quarters at the back end of the tavern. Henmi�s probably out front, I thought. I�d better bring him back here. I don�t want to be yelled at in public.

I pulled open the door that led into the public part of the tavern and watched Henmi pour several drinks for the customers sitting at a nearby table. When he had finished, I grabbed his hand and quickly led him back into my room.

He gasped. �S-Sin!�

Here it comes� I thought.

�Sin, where have you been?! I�ve been so worried about you! You didn�t show up for work, and I started hearing rumors that you�d been killed! Killed!� He lowered his head, his voice now just above a whisper. �Do you know what would happen if you were gone, Sin? Do you know what would happen to me? I�d die, too. I need you, Sin!� His voice shook and his eyes gradually misted over with tears. Typical Henmi, I thought. Always so emotional.

�You shouldn�t worry. I�ll be all right no matter what happens.� I pulled him into a tight embrace and assured him once more, �I promise I�ll be all right.� He smelled like cinnamon and honey, and I was holding him tightly; this couldn�t be a dream. Whatever happened before doesn�t matter any longer. As long as he�s here�

He wrapped his arms around my neck, and I immediately winced at the pain that shot through my head.

His eyes were full of concern as he backed away from me. �Sin? Sin, what�s wrong?�

In an attempt to not worry him further, I said, �It�s nothing Henmi, really� I just� tripped, that�s all.�

�Let me see.� As he pulled up my hair, I prayed to whatever deity that would listen for my wound not to look too horrible. �S-Sin, this is� What am I thinking? Here, come over here and sit down.� He pushed me into a sitting position on my bed.

He exited the room long enough to obtain a wet towel before coming back in to sit behind me on my bed. �You couldn�t have just tripped, Sin,� he said as he began to wash the dried blood from my hair. �You got in a fight, didn�t you? You went out and got another job, didn�t you? Why won�t you stop, Sin? You don�t need to make more money�� He moved down to my neck, gently removing the blood that was caked there.

�We barely have enough money for food, Henmi�� I said with a sigh. �If I don�t do something else, we�ll��

�Then I�ll work more hours, Sin! Just please, don�t do these extra jobs anymore! They�re dangerous!�

�You can�t work any more hours, Henmi,� I leaned my head forward so he could clean my wounds easier. �You barely get enough sleep now��

�I don�t care! I�ll do anything as long as you aren�t in danger.� He finished wiping the last bits of blood from my hair.

I turned to look at him. �You don�t need to do anything except be here for me� Will you do that for me?�

�Sin�� Tears threatened to fall from his eyes again as he wrapped his arms around my chest, resting his forehead on my shoulder. �I�ll never leave, Sin.�

�I know.� I hugged him back. �I won�t either.�

After a moment, he untangled his limbs from mine and said, �I guess I should� get back to work. Would you like me to bring you anything?�

�Something strong, please, Henmi,� I winked at him.

�S-sure.� Before leaving, he smiled back at me radiantly. That�s what makes me happy. That�s what I live for. I�d rather die than make that go away. He�s always been my angel. I�d do anything for him. I�d even give up my life for him.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next