Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Brother's Trust
2002-07-06 - 12:13 p.m.

I closed the door. I could hear him running. I thought I had made a complete fool of myself, frightening him so. I really liked Sindor, but he seemed to hate me. I decided then that I would follow him and apologize. Maybe then we could be friends, at least at first.

I quickly rid Sebrine's room of the little girl before I donned my cloak and slid out the front door. I silently walked to Sindor's tavern, arriving there in about a half an hour.

I went around to the back, thinking he must have a room somewhere nearby. I found a small door with a window next to it right in the back. Through it I could see Sindor, sitting on a bed, with another young man, cleaning his wound.

They embraced and the other man left. Sindor merely sat on his bed, staring after the boy. I read his thoughts. I�d rather die than make that go away. He�s always been my angel. I�d do anything for him. I�d even give up my life for him.

Interesting, I thought as I watched Sindor lie down. But what could happen to the poor young man that would make Sindor give up his life?

The young man returned with a drink for Sindor, smiling.

I could tell now that these two were brothers, practically bonded at the hip. It would be very hard to make Sindor mine with him in the way. If I killed the brother, Sindor would never trust me. And I could never live happily if I knew that I had killed his brother. If I had him killed, Sindor would find out, I am sure. I can not even threaten the brother without Sindor being resentful.

What if I merely offered to Sindor something he could not refuse? I thought. But what would that be?

The brother left, leaving Sindor alone again with his drink. I decided to have a talk with the brother.

I walked around the tavern and entered it to find the brother behind the counter. I walked up to the counter and sat down, staring at him.

"What can I get you?" he asked as he walked toward me.

My first instinct was to say blood, but with a laugh, I waved that idea away and told the boy, "Tell me. Where is your brother?"

"He is resting for the evening," he replied, eyeing me.

Exactly what I wanted to hear. Sindor would not be able to disturb us.

"You and he are quite close, is that not right?" I asked.

"That's right. Why do you ask?"

I ignored his question and turned to look at the bar. "Quite a place you two have here. Get a lot of business?"

"Yes," he replied as I turned around to face him once more.

"Then why does your brother risk his life?"

"How do you know that?"

"Because I found him yesterday evening. I saved his life from a band of murderers who were going to collect the bounty on his head."

"What?" he exclaimed in a hushed voice. "No. It couldn't be true."

"But it is. I am sorry, young one, but it was I who kept him away from this place, worrying you to death no doubt. But I was ensuring his safety."

"Well, then I thank you, monsieur," he replied, grabbing my hand.

I was pleased that I had gained the brother's trust. If I had him believing that I meant no immediate harm, then he would be more than willing to place Sindor in my arms.

Alexander


Previous | Next