Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Feelings Shared
2002-07-07 - 4:05 p.m.

I thought I should let him have time to himself, to think over our conversation, so I let a fortnight pass before I ventured back to his tavern.

He was standing behind the counter, while his brother, Henmi, was waiting on a table on the other side of the room. Sindor noticed me as I walked in, but I merely smiled and strolled up to the balcony, passing Henmi on the way.

I sat down at the table where I sat before, and just waited. I figured Henmi would convince Sindor to come up and speak with me.

After about five minutes, Sindor came walking up the stairs and asked if he could sit down at my table. I gestured toward the seat, and he sat down looking at me.

"How have you been, Sindor? Not getting into trouble, I hope," I said to him, breaking the silence that had ensued him as he sat down.

"No, everything has been fine," he muttered. Then he added, "How are you?"

"Just wonderful," I told him, leaving out the part that I felt wonderful from having fed on two rather tasty thieves just a little while ago.

"That is nice to hear," he said quietly, seeming to be lost in thought.

His thoughts penetrated my mind. But why does he care for me so? Maybe I should ask him... Then maybe this feeling will go away.

Why did he have a strange feeling? I thought. Then it hit me. He liked me too, but he never felt such feeling before.

"Why do you like me so?" he asked me, cutting into my thoughts.

I looked up at him, and smiled. "Why should I not?"

He looked away from me for a second, thinking. "Because I am a horrible person, and I do not deserve you. I mean, I do not deserve such a friendship."

"Really?" I asked him, leaning forward.

He nodded, still looking away.

"Should I not be the judge of that?" I asked as he turned his head back to me.

He looked almost relieved at my question. He smiled gingerly at me, and I smiled back.

"Why don't I get us some drinks?" he asked getting up from his seat.

"Oh, thank you, Sindor, but I am not really thirsty," I replied to him, standing up as well. "I actually should be leaving now. Sebrine will be waiting."

He nodded at me, and it seemed he really did not want me to go. I put a hand on his shoulder and then left him there on the balcony. I passed by Henmi as I left, and he shouted a good night to me, which I returned.

Alexander


Previous | Next