Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The First Conversation
2002-07-07 - 3:04 p.m.

As I entered the house I found him pacing the length of the front hall. My sudden appearance must have frightened him a little though, for he stopped and stared at me.

"Where did you go?" he asked me, acting like a mother demanding to know where her child has been.

"I went to see Andre," I answered him, closing the door behind me, and locking it.

"Oh. What did you say?"

"Nothing you need to be worried about. I just made sure he would never bother you again," I replied passing him as I walked to Sebrine's room.

His thoughts flooded into my mind as I passed him. What does he mean, he will never bother me again? Did he kill him?

I decided to address this problem and turned back to him, right in front of Sebrine's room.

"You do not think that I killed him, do you?"

He did not answer me. His thoughts revealed his bewilderment of me. How did he know I was thinking that? He shook his head at me and said, "Why would I?"

I smiled. "I am not one of those people who would just kill someone, Sindor."

He nodded at me, though he turned his head away.

"Would you like to meet Sebrine?"

"Who?" he asked, looking scared again.

"My pet," I replied casually.

"But, she is a tiger. How can you have a pet tiger?" Sindor looked about ready to bolt for the door as he said this.

"At an early age, I discovered I could speak with animals, and gradually I learned to control them. Sebrine may be a tiger, but she is completely under my control. She would never hurt anyone without my permission."

He nodded. I gestured for him to come closer. As he did, I opened Sebrine's door to find her pacing her room. She stopped long enough to stare hungrily at Sindor, then began pacing again.

I know you are hungry, my dear, but I am entertaining at the moment. I will bring you food later, I thought to her.

She growled in response, looking at Sindor again. He moved closer to me in fright. I smiled and told him that she would not hurt him. I suggested that he should try and pet her, but he would not even come into the room. I even walked into the room, and patted her head to show that she would not hurt anyone, but he merely replied that she liked me and of course she would not hurt me.

I gave up and took Sindor down to the library, where we sat down.

"Why... Why do you keep saving me?" he asked me, not bothering to look at me.

"I have taken a liking to you," I replied carelessly.

I could tell he felt shocked. I am sure no one has really told him that. "But we have never even really talked before this. Why do you care for me so?"

I thought of the most reasonable explanation and told him, "I have a tendency to grow attached to people that I barely know, just by looking at them. It seems to be a bad habit of mine."

He looked even more uncomfortable as I told him this. I thought I had better stop talking and let him leave.

"I think you will be alright now, correct? Maybe you should return to your home, and your brother."

He looked at me and nodded. I showed him out, but before he left I told him, "If you ever need help, I will be there for you. I would like to be your friend, Sindor."

He gave me a slight smile and then set out into the cold darkness as I left the house as well, in search of food for Sebrine.

Alexander


Previous | Next