Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Reunion Continued
2002-07-08 - 4:15 p.m.

I stood there, feeling the anger flow from me as I watched him explain his feelings of concern. I told him to leave though, for I wanted to speak with my sister still. He agreed and left me with a hug.

I turned back to my sister. She stood there with concern on her face.

"Found another one, I see," she said as I leaned against a tombstone, staring at her.

"I did not mean to. It just happened. I find him intoxicating."

"What is his name?"

"Sindor."

"Is he like Alastor?" she asked, putting her hand on my shoulder.

"Nothing like him. Maybe he will be able to accept me, unlike Alastor."

"I know you thought Alastor killed himself after you told him, but he did not. He left you afterwards, and talked to me about it, finding out that I was a vampire too. He began to understand, for he always loved you, Lexy. He just never got around to telling you, for he insisted on helping me out of that house."

A solitary tear fell down my cheek. Ella wiped it away.

"This Sindor," she said. "He really likes you. Why have you not told him?"

"Out of fear. I thought I was utterly alone in this world, with you gone, and Alastor. Finding Sindor was good for me, but the thought of losing his friendship, however small it is now, was unnerving."

"Show me to your house, Lexy," she commanded me, pulling me off the tombstone.

We walked arm in arm back to my flat. I asked her as we went, "Where did you find this Adhemar?"

"Oh, him! He found me in Eygpt when I was running from that horrible man. He killed him for me," she said quietly.

"You were always strong, Ella. Why did you not kill him yourself?"

"I hate killing innocent people, Alexander. He never did a bad thing in his life. He only wanted me dead because I killed his sons. I could never kill him without regreting it terribly."

"I remember his sons. They were killing opera singers, right?"

"Not quite, silly. They attacked a group of woman outside the opera house, killing and raping them, remember?"

"Oh, now I do."

"It felt good to kill them, but I was seen by their father. He prusued me back to his house which he set on fire keeping me locked inside."

We reached the house and I let her in, locking the door after myself.

"I guess you will want to stay with Adhemar," I said.

"Do not think that. We had a deal. He was going to help me find you, if I would do something for him. And, then he would leave us alone to be together," she replied, looking around the house.

"What favor did you have to do?" I asked, following her into Sebrine's room.

"What a wonderful tiger!" she exclaimed.

Be nice to her Sebrine. This is my sister, Ella, I thought to her. Sebrine understood and let Ella pet her. "You did not answer my question, Ella?"

She looked at me disapprovingly. "He asked me to pose as his wife for his parents, so that he had an excuse for leaving the country and them. He found it hard to tell them that he was a vampire, so he was looking for a way to just get away from them."

"I see. Are you two actually married?"

"No. We just pretended."

"I only have one, very small coffin, Ella. Where will you sleep?"

"I will go out immediately and get Adhemar to bring my coffin here."

I walked to the door with her, to unlock it.

"I have some matters to discuss with Sindor, so I will be at his tavern. Here is the key, I am sure you will be back before me."

She kissed my cheek as she took the key. I walked her to the street before we parted, going in opposite directions. I headed for Sindor's tavern as fast as I could.

Alexander


Previous | Next