Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Invitation
2002-07-08 - 12:55 p.m.

A couple days later, I decided to head back towards Sindor's tavern. I had hoped he would come back to me, since we could have private conversations in my house.

I was walking slowly toward the tavern, taking my time. I had just woken up, so it was still early in the evening. I had already fed too. Then I heard it. Footsteps behind me. They were very quiet, and timed with my own. I used my mind to see who was behind me, but I could read nothing. That only meant one thing...a vampire.

I did not want the vampire to know that I was aware of its presence, so I kept up my pace. I was hoping I would catch a glimpse of the vampire as I turned to walk inside the tavern, but I saw no one. Must be hiding in the shadows, I thought, walking into the tavern.

Sindor was behind the counter, and he smiled at me as I entered. I nodded at him and walked up to my usual seat on the balcony. I was careful to watch the door from my seat, in case the vampire followed me inside.

Sindor came up the stairs and sat down with me.

"Hello, Alexander," he told me.

"Good evening, Sindor," I replied, still watching the door.

"I was hoping you would come by," he told me, looking a little shy.

I smiled at him, but my smile faded as the door opened. It was not a vampire who entered though, just an old man. I turned my attention back to Sindor.

"I was hoping you would come by my house. So much more private," I told him.

"I know... But I have to work too, and I have been tired a lot this week."

"It is alright, Sindor. Do not worry about it."

My eyes shifted to the door again as a young man entered. Vampire. I moved back in my seat so as not to be seen. Sindor seemed to notice my apprehensiveness, and looked toward the door.

"Do you know him? He has been coming in here for the past couple of nights. He doesn't order anything, just sits," Sindor told me.

"I do not believe I know him," I said. I just know what he is. "He just looks like the kind of man you should watch out for."

"Oh," said Sindor. "Should I ask him to leave?"

I did not answer. I was unwilling to let Sindor be hurt, but I was shocked to find another vampire in New Orleans, and I wanted him to go away. New Orleans was my city. "Where is he now?"

"I don't know. I don't see him."

Then I heard his footsteps on the stairs. I had no where to run, so I just waited for him to come. As his head passed over the top step, he smiled at the sight of me. I looked away from him, back to Sindor.

"Maybe I should leave," I began, but I was interrupted.

"Alexander!" hooted the vampire.

I turned back toward the vampire, who was just standing at the top of the stairs. I looked at him, trying to place him, but I had never seen this man before.

"Maybe I should leave you two alone," said Sindor, who was just as confused as I was.

"Yes, you do that," said the vampire.

"No," I grabbed Sindor's hand as he rose. "This will only take a minute," I whispered.

I stood up and walked over to the vampire. "Do I know you?" I asked, almost in a whisper.

"My name is Adhemar. I have come to convey a message from your sister," he told me, not bothering to keep his voice down.

I was shocked. I moved away from him. "Ella?"

"Who else? She would like you to visit her, tomorrow night, at the cemetery."

I found it rather hard to breathe as the vampire turned and walked back down the stairs. Sindor pulled a chair over for me as I gasped for air.

"Alexander? Are you alright?"

I could barely hear him speaking. Everything seemed to get dark, but vampires did not faint. As the darkness faded from my eyes, I could feel the blood tears forming again, and this time I could not stop them. Sindor saw them before I could cover my face. He backed away from me. I got up from the chair and practically ran out of the tavern.

I ran all the way home, with the tears still flowing down my cheeks. I went and sat with Sebrine for comfort until the sun was just about to rise.

Alexander


Previous | Next