Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Vampire's Tale
2002-07-09 - 10:17 a.m.

I could tell that my eyes opened instantly as the sun fell the next evening. I quietly left the hidden room just in case Ella was not up yet. I walked down the hall to visit with Sebrine. She was hungry and so was I. I soon left her, and headed for the door, reminding myself to get food for her too.

"Sindor!" I exclaimed as I opened the door to find him standing right outside.

"Good evening, Alexander," he said cheerfully to me.

"What are you doing here so early?"

"I came to be with you. I thought we could talk."

"And talk we shall, Sindor, but I must...well, feed," I said with sudden tingle of uneasiness.

"Oh," whispered Sindor. "Can I come along?"

His question astounded me. Why would he want to? I looked at him, face lit up with the light from the candles inside the house. He really did want to go with me.

"Alright, Sindor, but are you sure you want to witness me killing someone?"

He nodded. I noticed he was shaking slightly. I just want to be with you, said his thoughts.

I smiled at him, and stepped out of the house. "Well, come on, then."

We walked down along the river. I was in front, but closely followed by Sindor. We passed by several people, innocent people, as we went. Each time Sindor would ask, "What about that one?"

And, I would merely reply, "No."

I was amazed at his eagerness to watch me kill. I kept looking into his thoughts, but it was always the same: I want to be there for Alexander. Be with Alexander, no matter what.

I finally spotted a young man, barely older than Sindor, who was a for-hire murderer. He was also strolling the riverside, but in the opposite direction. Once he passed, I turned to follow him. A gleeful smile came across Sindor's face. I mentally told him to keep quiet, and stay hidden behind me.

The man walked quickly, not really looking out where he was going. Drunk, I told myself. He soon turned down a darkened alley, walked halfway down it, and stopped. I loved it when they made it so easy. I looked around the mouth of the alley, to make sure no one was really noticing. Before I went to the man, however, I told Sindor to wait at the entrance. He objected, but did as I said.

The man was leaning against a wall, talking to himself, as I approached.

"Who the hell are you?" he asked me angrily.

I did not bother to tell him. And, he became enraged. He swung at me, and missed for I was quick, and he was dead drunk. As he made this pitiful attempt, he showed his back to me. I grabbed him from behind, and holding him tightly to myself, I dug my teeth into the flesh of his neck. The blood came quickly, and was quite wonderful. I was nearly finished when I looked up to find Sindor staring at me with both fear and wonderment in his eyes. He had come into the alley against my order. As the man dropped dead at my feet, Sindor backed away. Leaving the man in that alleyway, I walked over to Sindor, pulling him out of the alley.

"I apologize. I should have not brought you here," I said to him, as he continued to stare at the dead man behind me.

"No," he said. "I enjoyed it, almost."

I gazed at him with wonderment now. I grabbed his arm, and we walked back to my house, never once looking back.

Once inside, I found Ella coming out of Sebrine's room. She smiled at me, kissed my cheek, and then told me she had brought food for Sebrine, since I had taken so long. Then she noticed Sindor.

"Well, hello there, Sindor. I am Ella. Pleased to finally meet you," she said, shaking Sindor's hand. "I will leave you two alone now."

As she left the house, Sindor stared after her. "She is a vampire too, isn't she?"

"Yes. I made her what she is," I replied. "Come. Let us go to the library."

We sat across from each other in the library for about five minutes, just staring. Sindor was noticing my pale complexion, my highlighted green eyes, my long nails. His thoughts fell to my teeth, and I showed them to him. He leaned back in his chair when I did so, pulling away from the sharpness.

"Tell me. How did you become a vampire?" he asked weakly.

I leaned back in my chair, getting comfortable for the rather long tale. "I told you that I went travelling around the world, after a fight with my father over Ella. Well, while I was in Italy, I befriended a vampire unknowingly. He was also a swordsman, teaching night classes at a school in Rome. He liked me so much, he told me about being a vampire, and asked if I wanted to become one as well. I thought about it for days. Why would I? I kept saying to myself. As I walked around Rome in the daylight, I kept wondering how I could live in eternal darkness. Then my friend came to me, and he said the eternal night was not all that bad. He could bare it, because he had friends, like me. And he said that being immortal had great advantages. He convinced me, and I let him kill me, bringing me back to life as a vampire. He taught me everything he knew. I stayed there, living with him, for a couple of years. But Ella was still at the back of my mind."

I took a little break, letting everything sink in for Sindor.

"So, I returned to Paris, and found acceptance from Ella. She knew instantly that I had changed, so I told her everything. She demanded to be made like me. I did so, only two days after my return to her. She and I made quite a pair. We killed together for more than five years, our family never really knowing. My maker eventually came and joined us, teaching at my school, which now had only night classes. No one ever real caught on that they were being taught by the undead. It was rather funny. As our family grew older, however, and Ella and I stayed so young, they grew suspicious. Ella and I had to leave Paris, I knew that, but she would not. She loved it there, the prey it had, and she would not leave. Then she decided to take it on herself to kill two brothers who had raped and murdered some women. She was caught doing it by the brothers' father, and was tracked down, and I believed she was dead. I had no Ella keeping me in Paris now, so I fled. I left the school in the hands of my maker. And I have never been back since. I travelled again, in search of schools, never did I even write to my parents about what happened to Ella."

Sindor sat there quietly, thinking.

"But you had a friend, didn't you? That you told about being a vampire."

"Yes, Alastor. He was my childhood friend. We grew up together being fencing partners. When I returned to Paris, he was there with welcoming arms as well, but he never really suspected me as being different. He even joined me at the school, teaching classes as well. I grew very close to him during this time. When I told him the truth, it seemed to me that he could not accept it. He fled from me, and I never saw him again. Then I heard that he was dead. I figured he killed himself out of fear."

I closed my eyes, and then looked out the window.

"But that is not what happened, right? Your sister is alive, and she told you what really happened, right?"

"Yes. She told me that Alastor died, trying to save her from the man that tried to kill her."

"Who is this man? You never call him by his name."

"We never really found out his name. I guess Ella just did not want to know."

Sindor sat quietly, thinking again. "Do you know what happened to your maker?"

"I expect that he is still in Paris. He told me before I left that he would take care of the school."

"And what is his name? Why didn't you mention that?"

"I guess I did not. I have a tendency to forget names in a story. His name was Adonis, but I did not like it that much. So I gave him a nickname, Jay, since his eyes were the color of a bluejay."

Sindor smiled. I could tell he was thinking what a happy family we must have been. I smiled too, thinking of Jay.

"I think that is enough for one night. It is already really late, and you did not sleep much last night, I can tell," I said, standing up and extending my hand towards Sindor.

He grabbed my hand, and then hugged me. It always felt nice to be hugged, but from Sindor, I always felt so much pleasure I could cry. I held him there in the library for what seemed hours, but I knew he should leave. I let him go and walked him to the door.

"Good night, Sindor."

"Good night, Alexander."

Alexander


Previous | Next