Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Lost In Amazement
2002-07-10 - 11:18 a.m.

I woke up to the sound of a knock on the back door. Odd, I thought. No one ever comes to the back door during the daytime� I swung my feet over the side of the bed and looked across the room. I saw Henmi still sleeping, which was even more strange, for he was usually the one to wake me up in the morning for work.

Another knock on the door sounded. I stood up and pulled open the door. Standing there was Pierre, a frequent customer to Impuret�. He nodded his head and said, "Mornin,' Arnon."

"Good morning�" I looked at him suspiciously.

"Taking a holiday today?" he asked.

"What do you mean?" I leaned against the doorframe.

"You usually open earlier than now, don't ya?"

Then it hit me. It was almost noon, and we hadn't unlocked the doors yet. A mild panic struck me. "Ahh, I'm sorry! I guess we slept in too late! I'll go open the front doors now!"

He nodded and I closed the door as he left. I knelt down next to Henmi's bed and shook him lightly. "Henmi? Henmi, wake up."

"Nnn�?" He rolled over to face me, his blanket pulled up to his chin. He was pale and looked extremely tired.

"Henmi, you look terrible. Do you feel sick?" I felt his forehead. He was freezing.

"I� I'm fine. I'm sorry� I didn't wake up on time. I'll get up now�" He moved to get up, but I stopped him.

"Hey," I said. "Perhaps you shouldn't work today. You really don't look too good."

"�really?" he asked.

"Really. You don't have a fever, but� He looked exhausted. Did you stay up late?"

"No�"

"No? Hmm� Maybe I should fetch a doctor�" I said.

"N-no, it's all right, Sin� I'll just� stay here today� I'll be fine later�"

I stood up. "All right. I'll check up on you later. If you're not better by tomorrow, I'm going to call a doctor."

He nodded and closed his eyes again.

I exited the room and unlocked the front doors. Several other employees were sitting around outside waiting to be let in. I apologized and moved aside so they could enter.

I hope Henmi is all right�

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next