Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Unfruitful Search for Adhemar
2002-07-10 - 1:30 p.m.

I awoke early the next night as well. I guess it was for the best, because I had been having awful dreams about Sindor, and I wanted to see him. In the dreams, Sindor seemed so distressed and scared.

As I entered the tavern, I saw only Sindor. Where is Henmi, I wondered.

"Good evening, Alexander," said Sindor as I sat down at the counter.

"Good evening, Sindor. Where is Henmi?" I could not help feeling worried about him as I looked at Sindor's face.

"He is lying down in the back room. He was not feeling well this morning, all pale too," replied Sindor, shaking a little.

"All pale? Tell me, Sindor, was Henmi with someone last night?"

"I do not know. That Adhemar was in here bugging him, but I told him to leave."

"Do you know what Henmi was doing for the rest of the evening?"

"No. I went to sleep when I got back. Why are you asking all these questions about Henmi, anyway?" Sindor's face revealed concern and fear.

"I will tell you after I have seen him. May I go and see him?"

"I suppose."

I left the counter and walked to the back room, with Sindor right behind me. As soon as I saw Henmi, I knew something was taken from him. I knelt over him, and I examined his neck, finding exactly for what I was looking.

"What is wrong?" came Sindor's scared voice.

"Henmi," I whispered, turning Henmi's head toward me. "Were you with Adhemar late last night?"

He could barely nod his head yes, for he was so weak. I stood upright and turned to Sindor. I then saw that the door was still open, and I rushed past Sindor to close it.

"Sindor, Henmi has been bitten, by Adhemar. Nearly drained of more than half his blood."

Sindor shook his head. "No. Why would he do this? No!" Sindor moved back against a wall, looking more scared.

I walked over to him and held him close to my chest.

"I do not know much about Adhemar. We should ask him why he did this. We need to ask him why he has been feeding on such an innocent person." I tried to comfort Sindor with these words, but he seemed to take them the wrong way.

"Then let's go find him!" Sindor shouted with anger in his eyes.

Before I could say anything more, he went out the back door. I followed him, wondering where he thought he was going. I did not even know where to find Adhemar. I soon learned from Sindor's thoughts, however, that he was headed for my house, to see Ella. Of course she would know.

I let him inside and he found Ella in Sebrine's room.

"Sindor! What a nice sur..."

"Where is Adhemar?" Sindor practically shouted.

Ella looked taken aback. She said gently, "He might be in the apartment that we rented. Why do you ask?"

"Where? Where is this apartment?" came Sindor's angered voice again.

She told him, and he left abruptly. I explained quickly to Ella what Adhemar had done, and she joined in on our search for him.

We caught up quickly to Sindor outside on the road. We soon arrived at the apartment. Ella and I followed Sindor inside, who did not bother to knock. We looked around all over the place but could not find him. And this upset Sindor greatly.

Alexander


Previous | Next