Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Deterioration of Innocence
2002-07-11 - 11:38 a.m.

I was beyond angry and nearly defeated with worry as we searched Adhemar�s apartment. We looked all over, but we were unable to find him. As we exited the apartment, panic overcame me as I remembered that we had left Henmi by himself at the tavern. I raced home, without saying a word to Alexander or Ella. They followed me, so I assumed they had read my thoughts and knew where I was going.

Upon arriving, I entered through the back door and was relieved to find Henmi still asleep, just as we had left him. I sighed and sank to the ground next to Henmi�s bed. What am I thinking? I need to stay here with Henmi now. If Adhemar wants to come back, then he will.

"How endearing, Arnon."

My head jerked up as I looked towards the back door. Standing there was none other than Adhemar, his usual smirk present on his face.

Alexander moved in front of me, for fear I'd try to attack Adhemar, and Ella stood before Adhemar with a grim expression of her face. "What is the meaning of this?" she asked angrily.

"The meaning of what, pray tell?" Adhemar asked.

I could feel rage beginning to burn within me again. I stood up to face him. "Don't play a fool! I told you I'd kill you if you touched him!"

"And I told you," he replied, "that it was not possible. Remove my heart, chain me to a tombstone with wild roses, hammer nails into my skull, and still I will not die."

"Why did you harm an innocent?" Alexander asked calmly. I added, "Henmi's done nothing! Why?!"

"Everyone begins life as an innocent. With age, however, their morals decay and turn to nothing, and they become fallen angels of sorts. Just look at yourself, Arnon. I'm sure your father would be dreadfully proud of how you've turned out, don't you agree?"

I lunged for him, but Alexander grabbed me from behind, holding me tightly.

Ella glared at Adhemar intensely. "Are you insane?!" She raised her hand and slapped Adhemar across the face as hard as she could. "This will not happen again!"

Adhemar placed his hand where she had hit him and smiled. "I'm sure it won't, your highness." He spun around and ran out of the room, leaving the three of us furiously staring after him.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next