Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A New Revelation
2002-07-11 - 12:40 p.m.

When we arrived back at the tavern to check on Henmi, we found him alone, but Adhemar soon showed himself. He explained to us how uncaring he is for any innocent human, and it sickened me.

I could never harm an innocent person, unless to change them, I thought, looking at Sindor.

"Maybe Adhemar just intends to turn him," I heard Ella say. She must have been thinking the same as I.

"Why would he want to take Henmi?" sobbed Sindor.

Henmi opened his eyes, and stared up at Sindor, who hovered above him. He smiled weakly at the sight of him.

"Henmi, are you alright?" Sindor asked, grabbing at Henmi's hand.

"I am better," he replied, still weak. "It is alright, Sindor. Do not be worried about me. I let him do it."

Sindor pulled back from Henmi, but was unable to speak. Ella looked shocked, as I said, "What? Why?"

Henmi answered, "He asked if he could. I let him. He is kind to me, despite what Sindor thinks."

"How can he be kind if he drinks from you, leaving you to die slowly?" asked Ella.

"He said that he would rather have a willing partner. He had not fed in days for he wanted to find the right person who would understand."

Ella looked at me, concerned.

"I will go after him. You stay here Ella and watch over Henmi and Sindor," I said, opening the back door.

Sindor finally found his voice. "I am coming with you."

"I do not think so. Together, you and I will not get answers from him. Alone, I might be able to. You stay here, and mind you tavern."

I left and wandered back to my house, not seeing him at all. I checked on Sebrine while I was there, and asked her advice on the situation.

You need to stop him, Alexander. If Henmi means anything to you, you need to prevent Adhemar from killing him.

I left my house and walked back to the apartment. I knocked on the door.

"Can I come in?" I asked from behind the door.

I heard Adhemar from inside, answering yes, and I opened the door to find him laying on his couch, reading.

"What is it, Alexander?" he asked, not bothering to look up.

"You had not fed in days before drinking from Henmi, right?" I asked, sitting down in a chair across from him.

He laughed. "I was surprised that that little Arnon believed me. Way too naive. Why do you even bother protecting him? He would have let me even if I hadn't lied to him."

"Henmi may be naive, but that does not mean you should take advantage of him. I am sure that a strong vampire such as yourself has no real problem finding dinner."

"I don't, as a matter of fact. I just like playing around with my food. Sneaking up on some pathetic thief in a dark alley just doesn't appeal to me. I would rather sit and talk and play with my prey. Get to know them a bit. Feed off them slowly, and over a long time."

"Does Ella know about this little fascination you have?"

"No. When I was travelling with her, I fed on the nearest drunk to stay alive. She was my ticket to freedom, and I was not going to revolt her by doing what I like. I guess she does not like what I am doing with that little Arnon, right?"

"She dislikes it, yes. You should know how much she likes humans, especially the innocent ones."

"Damn," he uttered, sarcastically.

"I want you to leave Henmi alone."

"Just because you get to play with Sindor, I can not play with his brother?"

"Because I rather care for Sindor, I do not want you to harm his brother!" I stood up, enraged. "Henmi is rather important to Sindor, and if you kill him, Sindor..."

"Oh please!" he shouted, standing up as well. "This has nothing to do with Henmi! You only want me to not kill Henmi so that you can have Sindor. If I do kill Henmi, then Sindor will be lost from you forever. He would not dare touch you, let alone love you, once a vampire has killed his beloved brother! You are only doing this for yourself, you know!"

I hit him. Really hard across the face, sending him down onto the couch once more. I was so angry, not at him, but at the fact that he was right. I cared nothing for Henmi. I loved Sindor and that was all that matter to me. If Henmi was killed by Adhemar, Sindor would never love me. I could not stand even the thought.

Adhemar lay there laughing. I stood there, breathing hard, my heart racing.

"I forgive you for that, Alexander."

I ran from the apartment. Adhemar's laugh following me. I went back to my house and locked myself into my coffin and stayed there.

How could I have been so blind? I really cared nothing for Henmi. It was the fear of losing Sindor that drove me to pretend to care for Henmi. I laid there, just thinking how horrible I was.

I heard Ella come in, but I said nothing to her, even though she asked me over and over to come out.

Right before the sun came up, and I drifted to sleep, I knew what I had to do. I had to leave. I had to leave Sindor. I had to go home, to the only person I knew who could understand me and love me for what I am.

Jay.

Alexander


Previous | Next