Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Lovers' Reunion
2002-07-12 - 12:11 p.m.

It took almost two and a half weeks, but the ship made it to France, with only a few storms, and that awful plague.

I still had to take a carriage to Paris, so I rented one without a driver, which was not easy. It took me then a couple of nights to reach Paris.

Walking in the streets of Paris again, tears came to my eyes, but I would not let them fall. I rented an apartment near the fencing school, but it was already close to sunset, so I did not go to the school that night.

The next evening, I did not even bother feeding. I went straight to the school. I silently entered behind a group of chattering boys. I stayed in the doorway of the classroom, and I watched as the door across the room opened, and Jay walked out.

He started the class, never once noticing my presence. I was amazed at how well the students listened to him. They never had before I left. Before the class ended, I snuck into the changing rooms and found a uniform and a mask that fit. I walked back to the classroom just as the students walked back to the changing rooms.

"Can you teach me?" I asked Jay through my mask as I entered the room.

He laughed. He handed me a sword, and said, "I can teach anyone."

We started fighting. I was quicker than he was, and he noticed that right away.

"You are pretty good! You don't even need teaching," he said to me.

We fenced around the entire room, drawing the boys back to watch. As I disarmed Jay, the boys let out gasps.

Jay stood there, puzzled. "Let me see the face of the man who is better than I."

I took off my mask. Jay looked shocked. Then he walked over to me, and hugged me. After what seemed like hours, Jay let me go and turned to the students.

"This is Alexander. The founder of our school."

All the boys clapped for me. Some even ran to me, exclaiming how great I had been.

Jay ushered out the last of the students about ten minutes later. He took me back into the office. Once he had the door closed, he hugged me again.

"Lexy," he whispered. "I thought I would never see you again."

"You should not be so ridiculous. I could never stay away from you forever," I replied.

He pulled away from me again. "Why did you come back? What's wrong?"

I told him everything. About Sindor. About Ella and Adhemar. About my need for him. And he understood completely.

He closed up the school, and we walked back to his house. We sat around in his sitting room talking for hours. When the sun was close to rising, Jay offered to let me sleep with him.

"I still have that double sized coffin."

I smiled at him and consented. I spent the day sleeping in his arms.

Alexander


Previous | Next