Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Terrible Trio
2002-07-12 - 10:03 a.m.

"What do you mean, 'he left'?!"

"I beg of you, Sindor, calm down and listen," Ella urged. "He has just left for France. Now we must go and bring him back. I know for certain that you are the only one that can bring him back. So please, will you come with me?"

"Why� did he leave�?" My heart sank, and loneliness crept over me.

"He refused to tell me," she sighed. "Can you arrange for someone to watch over your tavern while we are gone?"

My mind was racing. Everything was happening so fast. I just wanted to be with Alexander. "But� what about Henmi?"

"Ah, I've taken care of that," she answered. "I purchased passage for three on the next ship overseas. It leaves in two hours."

"Henmi's coming with us?"

"No, he is not well enough, of course. But Adhemar will come along so you can rest assured that Henmi will be safe."

I nodded, trying to let it all sink in.

"Very well, then," Ella sad. "I will fetch Adhemar and our possessions while you go back to the tavern. We'll meet at the port shortly. Is that all right?"

I nodded again and began running back towards the tavern. Why� did he leave�? He was with Adhemar last night. I wonder if that bastard said something to make him want to leave� But I miss him so much already. It hurts. Why now?

As I entered the tavern through the back door, Isabelle and Christian still sat in my room, looking rather bored. They looked up at me as I walked in the door. "Isabelle, Christian, I'm going to need your help for a bit longer. I beg of you, will you stay here and act as Impuret�'s owners, if only for a while? Henmi should be all right in a few days, and then he will help you. Here are the keys." I pulled the set of keys out of my pocket and handed them to Christian. "Can you do that for me? I might be gone a while�"

"Sin, what's gotten into you lately?" Isabelle asked.

Christian rolled his eyes. "Arnon--"

"Yes, you will be paid. Double salary. Is that good enough?"

They nodded.

"Thank you," I sighed. "I promise I'll return as quick as I can." With that, I walked over to Henmi's sleeping form and wrapped my hand around his. I whispered a quick goodbye and then left the tavern, quickly running to the seaport.

When I arrived, Ella was there, dragging her coffin with one arm and pulling Adhemar along with the other.

�I�m not going�� complained Adhemar as he carried his own coffin, trying to get free from Ella�s grip.

�This is, no doubt, your fault so you are most certainly coming along.� She noticed my arrival. �Oh, Sindor, is everything taken care of?�

I nodded, wishing Adhemar didn�t have to come with us.

�It�s not like your presence darkens my night either, Arnon,� Adhemar replied, reading my thoughts.

As we got in line to board the ship, I asked, �How are you two going to manage to take those coffins with us to our rooms? I don�t think the crew will let you have them��

�We will have to think of something�� Ella mused.

�No need, your highness,� Adhemar said smugly. �I already have a plan.�

�I thought you didn�t want to come a minute ago,� I said with a sigh.

He smirked. �But the women in France love me. Especially the nymphs in Reims. Woo. So I�ve changed my mind. I�ll go on your little Lexy-hunt.�

I rolled my eyes. �Well, I hope your plan is ready. We�re next.�

The ship we were to travel on was immense and seemed very high-class. I felt rather awkward boarding it.

One of the ship�s crewmembers stopped us as we began to board. ��Dat�s some mighty big luggage you got there,� he said. �Dat�ll have to go down below in the cargo rooms.�

Adhemar cleared his throat. I turned away, afraid of what he was going to say. �Don�t you know who we are?!� Adhemar bellowed dramatically. The ship�s crewman shook his head, so Adhemar continued with his act. �Well, of course you wouldn�t know, you simpleton! Someone like you couldn�t appreciate the art of coffin-making!�

�Coffin-makin,� eh?� asked the crewmen.

�Of course! I am Adhemar the Great, maker, mender, and marketer of fine coffins! And this�� he pointed to Ella. ��is my lovely assistant, Ella. But please, call her �your highness.��

��An what about �im?� the crewman asked, pointing to me.

�He,� Adhemar began, �is nothing but my low-level apprentice.�

�Well,� the crewmen said. �Coffin-makers or not, those there still have to go below.�

�Monsieur, why must you insult us?!� Adhemar continued. �These are antique coffins made from the very finest oak in all of the southern regions. Do you honestly think that they would survive being battered against worthless cargo beneath the living quarters? You disappoint me, sir.�

�They don�t look like no antique coffins to me.�

�And what do you know about antique coffins?!� Adhemar asked fiercely. �These precious wooden objects were made by my great-great-grandfather back in 1685. Do you wish to insult his spirit? If you do not let us take these coffins to our quarters, then I�ll think you�re a lowly man indeed! And furthermore, I�ll go talk with the captain! I�m sure he appreciates antique coffins!�

�Aw right, aw right, just quit your yap and move along.� The crewman moved aside and let us enter.

�A million thanks to you, oh noble workman.� Adhemar bowed deeply before hopping into onto the ship carrying his coffin with him. Ella and I followed close behind.

We found our room and arranged their coffins on the floor inside. I sighed and slumped down onto my bed. �That� was insane.�

Adhemar smirked. �It worked, didn�t it? I took drama lessons before I was turned.�

�Perhaps you will come in handy after all,� said Ella.

�Hey, did you ever doubt my skills?�

�What skills?� she asked. �Skillfully being a jester?�

�Ooh, that was harsh, but I�ll forgive you this once,� Adhemar sat down on top of his coffin. �Hey, Arnon, cheer up. We�ll find the object of your affections.�

�Affections�?� I blushed and looked to the floor.

�Of course. That�s the reason why he left, after all,� said Adhemar.

�What� do you mean�?� I asked.

�He was afraid he�d lose you eventually. He thought, �best to cut it off now before it gets too deep.� Ya know what I mean?�

�And so he dashed off to Jay without thinking twice,� Ella said.

�J-Jay�?� Alexander told me about Jay. He was Alexander�s maker, and�

�Don�t think about it, Arnon,� Adhemar said.

�Why do you care?� I asked, wondering why Adhemar wasn�t being his usual deceptive and uncaring self.

�Because I can hear your thoughts. And I don�t want to hear you moping and complaining all of the time.�

I might have known� I sighed and leaned back against my pillow.

�Look, kid, he likes you, all right?�

I sat up abruptly and looked Adhemar in the face. �You�re being unusually well-behaved. Are you sure you don�t want something?�

�I might.�

�And what is it?�

�Your brother,� Adhemar said with a smirk.

�Wh-what?!� I exclaimed.

�Just joking, Arnon,� he replied. �I�m just trying to lighten you up a bit.�

�Oh, you�re doing a fine job of it,� I replied sarcastically.

�Would you two please get along?� Ella asked. �The ship should be leaving shortly, by the way.�

�How long until we arrive?� I asked.

�It really depends on the weather,� she answered.

�It�ll be days, Arnon. Maybe even weeks. Weeks spent together, Arnon. Won�t it be fun?�

�I�ve decided that I am going to sleep at night, and of course, you�ll be sleeping during the day. We�ll hardly see each other. Of course it�ll be fun.� I sank back down against my pillow.

�Aww, Arnon��

�Let�s start now, shall we? I�m going to bed.� I turned over so my back was facing Adhemar and Ella.

I�ll deal with him as best I can. I�ll do anything as long as I can be with Alexander. I want to be with him more than anything. I� I�

�Love?� Adhemar added.

�Stop reading my thoughts�� I said groggily as I began dozing off to sleep.

Could it be� love?

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next