Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Theatrical Account of the Scene-Stealer
2002-07-14 - 5:57 p.m.

After Alexander and I finished touring different places around the city, I headed back to Jay's house. Adhemar was waiting for me, seated on the steps.

"Yo, Arnon!" he said when he looked up and saw me approaching.

"Hi," I replied.

"Hey," he began. "Her highness got us an apartment a few blocks down." He stood up and gestured for me to follow him to the apartment. "We can stay there until you guys figure out what to do."

"Adhemar� Was Jay� mad?" I asked, changing the subject.

"Hmm, a bit," Adhemar answered. "I calmed him down, though."

"You? I don't see how you could manage to�" I paused for a moment. "You know what, nevermind."

Adhemar smirked.

"Hey, Adhemar� What was your maker like?" I asked, changing the subject yet again.

Adhemar seemed shocked at the question. "Eh� why?"

"I just want to know," I answered.

"Well, kid�" he began. "He wasn't a very pleasant person, that's for sure� Well, maybe I shouldn't say that. I didn't hate him, but�"

"But?"

"He� forced me to� be changed. That's why�"

I was stunned. "You didn't want to be turned?"

"No. I didn't even know my maker very well at all. Remember how I told you that I took theatre lessons?" I nodded and he continued. "Well, he came to one of my plays one night, and took a liking to me. He came back to the second performance the next night, and that's when he turned me. After the play. I had never heard of vampires before then. He explained everything to me. I didn't want to be turned. I had a family, and I cared about them a lot. But he wouldn't listen�"

I looked to the ground as we continued to walk. How� cruel�

"Thanks, kid," he said. "But I think I'm all right with it now."

"What� happened to your maker?" I asked.

Adhemar hesitated for a moment, before saying, "�he's dead now."

"Oh�" I felt deeply sorry for Adhemar, thankful that I was loved greatly by Alexander.

"I'm fine, Arnon, so don't worry about me. Worry about yourself."

I can't help it�

"I know, kid. And that'll be your downfall."

I paused for a moment, wondering what Adhemar meant. "But� you don't regret this life, do you?"

"I can't regret life, no matter which life it is. It's just how I am." He smiled. "This is it, Arnon." He pointed to a large building in front of us. "Her highness is waiting inside. Shall we?"

I nodded and followed him inside and up to our room. Ella was there, removing the lid from her coffin. "I feared you would not make it here on time, Adhemar."

"You doubt my skills," he smirked and removed the lid from his own coffin.

Ella climbed into her coffin and shut the lid tightly. Before Adhemar did the same, I grabbed his hand and looked at him hopefully. "Friends?"

He smiled and shook my hand. "Sure. Friends, Arnon." He released my hand and closed his coffin shut. Sunrise arrived soon afterwards.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next