Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Asking Too Much
2002-08-14 - 12:19 p.m.

I woke up instantly the sun went down, again. Just once, I thought as I opened my eyes to the darkness. I instantly heard breathing right outside the coffin. I thought for a second, and then called out, "Sindor."

"Alexander?" came the reply.

I lifted the lid to find Sindor's pale, gleeful face staring at me. I smiled at him, and he threw his arms around me. I hugged him tightly and then stood up, pulling Sindor with me without trying. As he hung from my neck, a few inches from the floor, I asked him, "Did you miss me?"

"I never want to be away from you again," he wimpered into my neck.

"But you were right next to me all day, I bet," I said, unwrapping his arms from my neck and placing him on the floor.

His bright eyes glared up at me. "Bite me."

I was taken aback by his abrupt request. I never thought he would be that desperate to die just to be with me. I told him no as I pushed past him to the door. I did not want to think about hurting him like that. I left him just standing there in the bedroom. I was half way down the stairs when he came running to catch up to me.

"And why not? Don't you love me?" he asked as he followed me down the street to Jay's house.

"That is exactly why I will not touch you!" I shouted at him, stopping in the middle of the road.

I did not want to be mad at Sindor, but I could not help it. He asked the impossible from me.

"I want you to live, Sindor. This is no life to want," I told him.

"You wanted it, Alexander. You told me that you wanted it. And Jay gave it to you. What are you really afraid of, Lex? That I just want this from you and then I will run off? Then think again. I love you! I wouldn't do that!"

Sindor started to cry. I was again shocked at his words. Yes, I had wanted it, and it was given to me. But this is different. I am not like Jay, and I know what I would be giving.

I wrapped my arms around Sindor, calming him.

"Sindor, you ask for what you do not know. You are blinded by love."

He cut me off. "I don't think so, Lex! I'm awakened by it. I have never felt so certain in my life of what I want. I want you and I want to be with you. There is only one way that I can be that close to you forever!"

Sindor was starting to draw a crowd with his yelling. I looked about at the humans walking by, staring at us.

"Come on, Sindor," I said, pulling him toward Jay's house.

Sindor remained quiet until we reached the house. I knocked on the door as Sindor said, "I want to go home and see Henmi."

"We will go home soon," I assured him.

Jay opened the door and let us in. He seemed to notice Sindor's tear stained face and left us alone in the sitting room.

I sat down on the couch, while Sindor sat down across from me in a chair.

"Sindor?"

"Yes, Alexander?"

"Can you please think about what you ask of me?"

"What I ask?" he began confused.

"Yes, Sindor. You ask me to kill the one I love. And make you live forever. That is a little more serious than you seem to think."

He nodded at me slowly.

I looked out the window as Jay came back in the room, followed by Adhemar and Ella.

Adhemar asked Sindor as he entered, "Got lucky last night, Arnon?"

Ella hit him with a disapproving look. I glared at his outburst. Sindor looked embarrassed. Jay looked hurt.

"What?" Adhemar asked innocently as he sat in a chair next to Sindor.

"Sindor and I were talking about returning to New Orleans," I told Ella as she sat down next to me.

"Good idea. I keep worrying that I will run into our family while hunting. When do we leave?" remarked Ella.

"Soon," stated Sindor.

"Yes, probably soon. I will inquire about a ship shortly," I replied.

"Do you have to leave so soon?" asked Jay, who had been quietly standing in the doorway until now.

As he looked intently at me, I replied to him, "Yes. Sindor has family there that he needs to get back to."

Jay looked away from me. I looked back to Ella.

"Have you fed yet?" she asked me.

I replied, "No."

"Then we should go together. Adhemar and I have not fed either. Want to come, Jay?"

"Sure. But about little Sin here? I'm sure he needs food," he replied with bitterness.

I looked over to Sindor. I kept forgetting that he was in need of food. "I will find you something, Sin."

"That is okay. I can just go down to that tavern we keep passing and get something," he replied.

As we walked out of Jay's house, I handed Sin some money. Then he continued down the road to the tavern, as the rest of us took off in the opposite direction.

Alexander


Previous | Next