Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Duet of the Dark Ages
2002-08-14 - 6:20 p.m.

Silently, I walked to the tavern, by myself of course. I've constantly felt by myself of late. I'm the only mortal walking among vampires, after all.

When I arrived, I opened the door, and a flood of light poured out onto the street, and voices were loud and rambunctious. I could smell the liquor, fire from lanterns, and all other kinds of smells which I was accustomed to in New Orleans. I smiled. This is what I love, I thought as I walked inside, closing the door behind me.

I walked over to the counter to order something to eat. The barkeep was a cheerful-looking person, with wavy red hair, a slight build, and was wearing a blue overcoat that only made his hair look more red. He smiled at me as I sat down, but his smile soon faded. "You've got some pretty nasty troubles, don't you, boy?" He paused for a moment before adding, "�I-I mean, you look like you're troubled. Yes, that's what I meant."

I sighed. "Yeah, well� that's life. All troubles."

"Aww, come on, you know that's not true. Take my word on it, your problems are nothing compared with what some people have. Look on the bright side, eh?" he said with a smile. "I'm Tristram by the way."

I replied, "Yeah. Sin."

"Not lately."

"No, I mean� Nevermind." I sighed.

Tristram giggled. "You should listen to Renaud over there." He pointed to a boy dressed as a jester in the middle of a crowd of people. "He's pretty amusing. He tells riddles and so forth every night. He'll cheer you up." He urged, "Go on, then. Listen."

I nodded and turned towards the crowd and listened to Renaud speak.

"Christ, the true giver of victories, created me for combat," Renaud began the riddle. "When my Lord urges me to fight, I often scorch mortals; I approach the earth and, without a touch, afflict a huge host of people. At times I gladden the minds of men. Keeping my distance, I console those whom I fought before; they feel my kindness as they once felt my fire when, after such suffering, I soothe their lives." He paused a moment and smiled, his blonde hair falling into his face. "Anyone know what I am?"

Several voices piped up, saying things like, "That's too hard, Ren!" and "Give us an easier one!"

After a moment, when no one could give a correct answer, Tristram cleared his throat and shouted, "The sun!" over to Renaud.

Renaud smiled at Tristram and nodded. "Correct, Mr. Barkeep!"

The crowd "oooh"ed and looked towards Tristram, some shouting, "Give us a chance, Tristy!" and "You always answer correct, Tristram!"

"Wow�" I said, looking back at Tristram. "That was pretty hard. How'd you know it?"

"Ah, actually, that one was popular back in the 1300s in Reims, and I�" He paused for a moment. "Uh, well� It's been passed down in my family, you know." He smiled nervously. "Anyway, Reims is a nice place. Ever been there?" he asked, changing the subject.

"No�" I answered. "I'm not from around here."

"No, I don't suppose you look like you're a local," he replied. "Well, there's a big cathedral there, and it's very interesting. I remember them building it. It was a hassle. I had to help out, at one point."

"Wait, I think I've heard of that cathedral� The Cath�drale Notre-Dame, isn't it?" I asked. Tristram nodded, so I asked him, "You helped work on it? But wasn't it finished in 1428?"

"A-ah� Well, I meant my ancestors helped out, you know. That's what I meant." He laughed nervously. "But there's lots of people there in Reims. It's a major trade city. Big vineyards. Ah, which reminds me! Would you like something to drink? Eat? But of course you would! That's why you came, isn't it?"

"Yeah, it is�" I said indifferently. "What do you have?"

"Well, since you asked, my specialty is, of course, Cinnamon Brewet. Want some?"

"What is it?" I asked.

"Well, first you take meat and boil it in wine, and then you take the meat out and fry it. Then, you take dried almonds and lots of cinnamon and bray them very well and boil them and put them with your meat." He continued, "Then you can bray ginger, cloves and grain, and other spices to go along with them. When it's finished, it's thick and red, just like bl� I-I mean... Well, nevermind, then. Want some? I was head cook at a popular bar back in Reims, so I can cook pretty well."

"Sure," I said. "Thanks."

"Great! I'll go make it now. I'll get Ren to play barkeep for me while I do so." At that, he walked over to Renaud and pulled him behind the counter, and then Tristram went back to the kitchen.

Renaud sat on a stool behind the counter and rested his head on his hands, his elbows leaning on the counter. "You know," he began, looking up at me. "Tristram rarely cooks for anyone. You must have something special about you."

"Me?" I asked. "Not really."

"You're lonely�" Renaud answered. "That's why he's being very kind to you."

"I� don't know what you're talking about," I lied.

"But you are. And Tristram knows these things. He was once like that, too. Different from anyone else. He knows how you feel," Renaud replied.

"I don't see how he could," I answered. "My loneliness is�"

"Inhuman?"

"Yes."

"Tristram knows about inhuman matters."

I sighed and looked to the floor. "Why? Is he some kind of seer?"

"Of sorts," Renaud answered.

"That's ridiculous�" I said.

"But you know that extraordinary people exist," he corrected me.

"Most of the extraordinary people I know� are dead," I said in annoyance.

"And that's why you are sad?"

"No! �I mean, maybe." I looked back up at Renaud, his eyes understanding.

"Tristram feels like that, too. It will pass. It always does. Something good will come along to make you forget the loneliness."

"I don't see how that is possible," I answered.

"He didn't either. But he's fine, now. I'm sure you saw."

I nodded without saying anything. We both remained quiet until Tristram came back out into the bar, carrying my food with him. He set it down in front of me and then poured me a glass of wine and set utensils on the counter for me to use. "Try it," he said with a smile. "I'm sure it's good. I've never had it myself, of course. After all, I don't eat--"

"Your own cooking," Renaud said, cutting Tristram off quickly.

"Y-yeah sure. My own cooking," Tristram replied nervously.

I picked up a fork and gingerly took a bite. "It's� good. Really good." I was surprised. I hadn't expected it to be.

"I'm glad!" Tristram beamed. "I mean, people usually don't want food, so I don't get to cook a lot. You've really made my day." He smiled at me, and I smiled back.

After I finished eating, I paid Tristram (though he was reluctant to take money from me at first), and then started back towards Jay's house after saying goodbye and thank you to Renaud and Tristram.

I walked back feeling much better. Something about Renaud and Tristram seemed familiar, but I couldn't identify what it was. I decided it didn't matter, as I wouldn't be in Paris much longer, anyway.

I hope Alexander is there when I return. I didn't mean to make him angry, but� I hate this, only seeing him at night and being alone during the day. It's horrid. I would rather be like him than be lonely like this all of the time. It makes my heart ache.

After a moment, I thought, Have I fallen too far in to this whole vampire affair? It doesn't matter any more. I'm apart of him whether Alexander wants to admit it or not. He needs me just as I need him. Why doesn�t he want me to be like him? Does he want me to suffer endlessly like this? If he doesn't make me like him, I'll grow old and die and he will not love me any longer. I couldn't bare for that to happen!

I quickened my pace slightly. Why is he so reluctant? I don't mind dying, not at all, as long as I can be with him. That's all I want. Doesn't he care about how I feel? I want to be like him desperately. Why can't he see that? I wish he would just� I sighed, and continued walking towards Jay's house.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next