Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Ultraviolet Plague
2002-08-14 - 11:53 a.m.

I moved my arm across the bed restlessly, my eyes still closed with exhaustion. My eyes shot open when I couldn't feel Alexander next to me. But then I remembered. Of course, he's in his coffin� Why am I so jumpy today?

I sat up and tied my hair behind me, looking on the floor for my clothes. Upon locating them, I quickly put them on and then laid back down. I hated being alone during the day, and I wished desperately that I could see Henmi. I've got to tell Alexander tonight, I decided. I can't stay here any longer. I'm worried about Henmi. How could I have left him by himself? What kind of brother am I?

Trying not to think of Henmi, I began singing a song softly, a song that I had heard some locals singing when I had went on the tour with Alexander.

Je regarde le plafond.
Je regarde les murs.
Le silence hurle sa joie.
Il me donne le vertige.

The song fit my current state of being, only I did not enjoy the silence of being alone. It was unnerving, and I wished that I was back in New Orleans, and back in Impuret�, where the voices never quieted, and where some people filed inside day after day for the soul purpose of talking to others. I wanted to be back there, among the "normal" people, if they are what one considers normal. I was bored almost entirely. If Alexander hadn't been with me, I might surely have gone mad from the lack of sociality.

Oh, I never told Ella and Adhemar that I was staying here last night, did I? I hope they weren't worried. They needn't be. I'm safe with Alexander.

I stood up and walked over to Alexander's coffin, and then knelt down next to it. Why must he sleep in this accursed thing? It keeps me from him. I hate it. Slowly, I brushed my fingers over the intricate pattern carved on the lid of the coffin.

Outside, I heard a carriage pass by, it's wheels clicking loudly on the stone road. People walked by carrying baskets of food, or carrying their children. I could hear their voices through the thin walls of the apartment, giddy and happy as if they had no cares at all.

Inside, all was different. Sunlight poured in from the windows by the front door, illuminating the whole of the apartment. Most would consider such light a blessing, but not I. It was like a curse, and I wanted to be rid of it. The air was stale and tasted of death, and my stomach growled in protest, as it had not been filled in hours. I didn't want to leave to get food, though. Paris was not a city I knew well, after all.

Boredom had overtaken me as I knelt lonely next to Alexander's coffin. I wanted to be with him. He was right in front of me, and yet too far away for me to hold. Vampires confused me. How could they stand to live in such inhuman ways? I wondered if Alexander ever felt as if he could no longer go on with his life as a vampire: killing, only walking at night, and sleeping days in a coffin as if he were really dead. What a glamorous life Hecate's minions have above the Underworld, I thought sarcastically. And why are vampires even existent? I thought creatures such as they were thought up to scare children into behaving for their mothers. �Are all myths real, then?

I shifted off of my knees to sit down next to Alexander's coffin, leaning my arms against the side of it. Sighing, I laid my head on my arms, hoping the day would pass quickly, so that I might see Alexander soon.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next