Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Ancient Divination
2002-08-22 - 8:38 a.m.

After Alexander and I spoke with Adhemar and Ella, I went back to Tristram's tavern. Tristram was behind the counter and Renaud was out among the regulars, playing some sort of card game, but I didn't know which.

"Ah, Sin! Welcome back!" Tristram said, smiling.

I sat down at the counter and said, "Hi."

At that, a head popped up from behind the counter. It was a child, not older than 9 or 10, I decided, whose garb reminded me of pirates out of stories I heard when I was a child. I was very surprised to see a youngster in a bar. "Who's that?" the boy asked Tristram.

"This is Sin," Tristram answered.

Another child emerged from behind the counter, who was dressed in garb similar to Renaud's. "Sin?" he asked Tristram.

"Yes." He turned his attention back to me. "Ah, this is Gazidan and Jerolin."

"Your children?" I asked.

"Yes!" Gazidan and Jerolin said in unison.

"N-no!" Tristram contradicted. "You most certainly are not! Sin, they are orphans who follow me around! That's all, I assure you!"

"What?" Jerolin asked, followed by Gazidan's, "But you said--"

"I said nothing," Tristram said. "Go over with Ren."

"But mommy doesn't like me!" Gazidan said, mock-pouting.

Tristram blushed. "He is not your mother!"

Gazidan smirked. "But you said--"

"I said nothing," Tristram repeated. "Oh, Sin, want something to eat?"

"Sure," I said in amusement, after watching the three argue.

"Good. I'll go fix something for you." He turned back to Gazidan and Jerolin. "You two watch the bar." They nodded as he went back into the kitchen.

"Wow, he's cooking," Jerolin said in amazement, sitting up on a stool behind the counter.

Gazidan said, "That's because this guy is--"

"But still, it's weird," Jerolin replied.

"What am I�?" I asked them.

"Different," they both said in unison.

"Well, everyone is different," I said.

"But you're more different," Jerolin said.

"I see�" I replied.

"'Hey, did you see what Ren was doing over there?" Jerolin asked. "It's amazing!"

"What's he doing?" I asked, turning to look towards Renaud's table.

"He uses those cards to tell the future," Jerolin answered.

"It's rubbish," Gazidan said. "It doesn't work."

"It does too!"

"Does not!"

I interrupted them with, "It sounds interesting�"

"Really?" asked Jerolin. "I can have Ren do it for you when you're done eating."

"Sure," I said with a smile.

"Kay!" Jerolin said, jumping off of the stool and running over to Renaud. After Jerolin whispered in Renaud's ear for a moment, Renaud looked over at me and nodded. I smiled back at him.

Jerolin ran back over and sat down again across from me. "He said he would."

I nodded and ruffled Jerolin's hair. He's a cute kid� Reminds me of Henmi�

I continued to talk with Gazidan and Jerolin until Tristram came back with my food.

"You should come here more often," Tristram said with a smile. "But you're leaving soon, of course. You should come back, though."

"How'd you know I was leaving?" I asked him.

"Just a feeling." Tristram winked and Gazidan snickered.

"Hey, Tristy," Jerolin said. "Ren said he'd read Sin's future."

"Really?" Tristram asked. "Ren's been sitting there with those cards all evening. I bought them for him quite a long time ago, but just recently he's become quite good at it."

"I think it'll be fun," I said.

After I finished eating, I went over to Renaud's table with Jerolin (Gazidan stayed behind with Tristram, insisting that the cards didn't work). Renaud told all of the other people sitting around the table to leave, so it would be just the three of us.

"Evening," he said, tipping his head in a greeting. "You know how this works?"

I shook my head. "I've never seen something like this before."

"Well�" Renaud began. "These are called tarot cards. They are an ancient form of divination."

"They tell the future," Jerolin added.

Renaud placed the cards on the table faced down and mixed them around with his hands. "Now, I want you to pick out seven cards and line them up in front of you."

I did as he told me. When I had all seven cards in front of me, Renaud moved all of the other cards out of the way. "Now," he began, "the first card will represent your past. Flip it over."

I did so, and we observed the card.

"This card is the Wheel of Fortune," Renaud said. "Except here it is inverted. That means it's upside down."

"Should it be the other way?" I asked.

"The cards all have two different meanings, depending on which way they are turned."

"What does it mean this way?" I asked.

"Here," he answered, "it means that there was an unexpected turn of events one day, changing your normal way of living. There were trying times after that. You felt forced into doing something and held down at the same time." He paused for a moment. "Right?"

"Yeah�" I nodded. It was kind of like that when I was told to take over Impuret� I flipped over the second card.

"The second card represents the present," Renaud said. "Here, it is the inverted 8 of Swords. It means that you are frustrated, depressed, causing conflict and unintentionally hurting loved ones."

I nodded. I can't help it, though. I don't mean to hurt Alexander, but� I flipped over the third card.

"The third card represents the future," Renaud said. "This card is the Ace of Swords. It means that there will be a necessary change for the better. A release of powerful emotions that initiate action and bring triumph."

I sighed and flipped over the next card.

"The fourth card represents how you should approach a big problem you are having currently," Renaud said. "This card is the 8 of Cups. It means that you should refuse to accept defeat and take the initiative to redirect your life."

I nodded slowly, then flipped over the next card.

"The fifth card represents the attitudes of those close to you," Renaud began. "This is the Lovers card inverted. It means someone is pining over a past relationship. Or perhaps someone is having an unbalanced relationship."

I paused for a moment before turning over the next card.

"The sixth card represents challenges you will face in the future," Renaud said. "This card in the inverted 7 of Shields. It stands for impatience and confusion as to how you should go about getting your goal."

I flipped the last card over.

"The seventh card represents the outcome of a major situation you are dealing with," Renaud began. "This is the 2 of Cups, which stands for union, love and emotional stability."

I sat back in my chair, trying to let it all sink in.

"Wow, that was amazing, Ren!" Jerolin said with glee.

"But I didn't really do much," Renaud insisted. "I just said the meanings of the cards."

After I talked with them for a few more minutes, I thanked them and left the tavern, as I wanted to get back to Alexander as soon as possible.

I'm concerned about the fifth card� I know I shouldn't be. It's just cards after all, but still� I think Alexander feels bad because of Jay. He loved Jay very much� And here I am begging him to turn me now. I am horrid� I should think more about his feelings than mine�

When I arrived back at the apartment, I couldn't find Alexander anywhere inside. Maybe he's not back yet�

I waited until dawn, but he still didn't come. Is he already in his coffin�? Well, I can't exactly go check now because the sun has already risen.

I laid next to Alexander's coffin and tried to sleep, hoping that he was all right.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next