Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Departure [Revisited]
2002-08-24 - 2:00 p.m.

How could I ask him to do such a thing�? I sighed and rolled over on the bed, chiding myself over and over again not to ask anything more of Alexander. I am happy that he loves me. I shouldn't want anything more than that. I should be a grateful Ganymede and not beg Zeus to make me a god.

Carefully, I reached up and removed Alexander's scarf that was wrapped around my neck. I traced my fingers over the two ruddy scabs that were caked with dried blood on the side of my neck. It didn't hurt anymore, but the marks would be there for a while. I wondered whether or not Ella and Adhemar would ask me about it. They probably wouldn't, I decided. After all, they could just read my mind, couldn't they?

My shirt was covered with dried blood as well, so I thought I should wash my clothes. I stripped my upper body and washed my clothes first, then I carefully removed the blood from my neck and chest.

I laid my clothes out to dry and then reclined back onto the bed. The room was dreadfully cold; it had, of late, become an icy sepulchre of death, smelling of cheap incense, long-dead flowers and rot. But I wouldn't have it any other way.

My eyes were watery and my nose itched ferociously. I sneezed once, and then again. I must have come down with something� No matter. We're leaving tonight, after all.

I was overjoyed for that reason. Paris didn't appall me, but I missed Henmi. Ah, Henmi. He's going to give me an earful when we get home. I deserve it, though. I shouldn't have left him there by himself.

I yawned, then sneezed again. I wonder how Henmi is going to act around all of these fallen angels of the night that seem to surround me. He probably won't mind them at all. He loves everyone, so much so that he'll do anything for anyone. He even let Adhemar drink from him, when Henmi didn't even know him.

The light pouring in from the windows hurt my eyes. I hated being alone during the day. I suppose it will be better when Henmi is with me again. Atleast I will have him to be with during the day.

When my shirt had dried, I put it back on, and decided I would go tell Tristram goodbye, as I probably wouldn't go back to the tavern again before we left. Before I left the apartment, I put Alexander's scarf back on as well.

When I arrived, Tristram wasn't behind the counter, but I saw Jerolin sitting at a table with a group of musicians, so I walked over and asked him where I might find Tristram.

"He only works at night," Jerolin said.

"I see�" I answered. "Well, tell him I said thank you, and tell him goodbye."

"You're leaving?" he asked.

"Yes, tonight," I replied.

"I'll tell him," he said. "You should come back soon, though."

I nodded. "Maybe someday." At that, I left and went back to the apartment.

Night would arrive soon, and for that I was grateful. I couldn't wait to be gone from the loneliness that is the Paris daylight.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next