Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Start of the Journey Home
2002-08-25 - 6:00 p.m.

When evening arrived, we gathered up our coffins and headed to the ship. We got on board well enough and went to our cabin, which was big enough to house our coffins.

Ella and Adhemar wanted to feed before we left, so they departed from the ship which was due to leave in a few hours.

"I should go with them," I told Sindor as Ella and Adhemar left our cabin.

He nodded his head at me. "Can I go with you this time?"

I thought about it a while. He has come with me once, but he did not seem to like it very much. But I have been avoided him slightly since I bit him. He must be hungry though.

"If you insist, Sindor, but I do not see why you would want to see me kill again," I finally replied.

Sindor followed me off the ship, and we headed for a nearby tavern. Inside I caught sight of Ella talking with a drunk man at a table, while Adhemar was at the counter, apparently flirting with the barkeep.

I looked around and found a woman that was eyeing me. I read her thoughts, and I found she liked to steal money from her patrons, not to mention stabbing them in the back with a cleverly disguised knife when they did not pay her price after she was done with them.

"Why do you not get some food for yourself at the bar?" I suggested to Sin, handing him some money.

He reluctantly agreed and walked over to Adhemar. I persued the woman. She led me upstairs to a darkened room.

"How much would you pay for this?" she asked, dropping her dress.

I smiled and closed the gap between us. My mouth brushed her neck as I whispered into her ear, "Anything you want."

She giggled and wrapped her arms around my neck, trying to kiss me. I kept my mouth near her neck and, after a few moments of teasing, I bit into the soft flesh. She wimpered and was about to scream when I covered her mouth with my hand. I drained her quickly and let her drop to the floor. I threw two coins near her head, and then I left the room.

I found Sin eating at the counter, but Ella and Adhemar were no where in sight. I walked over to Sin.

"How is your dinner?" I asked him, sitting down on a stool.

He looked over at me and smiled. "Just fine. How was yours?"

"Tasty. Where did Adhemar go?" I asked, looking around and spotting Ella coming back inside the tavern. Her skin a darker shade of pale.

"He left with the barkeep through those doors a couple of minutes ago," answered Sin between bites.

Ella walked over to us. "Are we ready to get back to the ship before it leaves without us?"

"Just waiting for Adhemar, and Sin to finish eating," I replied, looking around again.

Only after Sin finished his food did Adhemar reappear. He was smiling rather broadly.

"What are you so happy about?" asked Ella as she followed Adhemar out of the tavern. Sin and I followed close behind them.

"Oh, nothing," he muttered, still grinning.

We reached the ship and boarded. Ella wanted to explore the ship, so I told her I would join her. Sin and Adhemar just went back to the cabin.

As we walked up on the poop deck, Ella asked me slyly, "So, how did it feel ripping your lover with your teeth?"

"Did he tell you about it?" I asked, not really wanting to talk about it.

"Of course not. Adhemar did."

"I see."

"Answer the question, Alexander."

"I hated it, once I realized what I was doing. The look of terror on his face was more than I could bear."

"Than why do you stay with him? You know he will plead for our life in time. How can you want to give it to him when he can not even stand the reality of what you did?"

"I do not know."

"I am so glad you have this under control," commented Ella sarcastically as we walked back to the cabin.

"Ella, I love him. I do not want this difference to be a problem in our lives. When we get back to New Orleans, everything will be better. He will have his brother to keep him company, and he will forget about my life."

"I hope you are right," Ella said, stopping and looking into my eyes.

I sighed.

We finished our tour in silence. The ship left the dock while we were in our cabin. We spent the rest of the night in our cabin, talking ever so often about nothing in particular.

When morning was near, Ella, Adhemar, and I got into our coffins and left the slightly seasick Sin alone for the day.

Alexander


Previous | Next