Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Growing Concern
2002-08-30 - 6:31 p.m.

Later that week, the ship was sailing perfectly. The wind was with us and there had been no violent storms. I hoped we would get back to New Orleans quickly. We would, I decided, if there were no weather problems of any sort.

Alexander hadn't been feeding normally. I could tell, as his face seemed more sunken, and he was lethargic, and lacking energy. I asked him about it, but he assured me that he was all right. But I didn't believe him.

Adhemar and I had left the cabin the next evening for a walk, so we were away from Ella and Alexander. I asked Adhemar what Alexander was up to.

Adhemar told me, "Al's being a martyr, kid. He doesn�t want to kill anyone."

"Why don't you do what you did the last time we sailed?" I asked. "You know, not kill anyone?"

"There's a lot less passengers. They'd find us out for sure. That's why we can't let any witnesses away alive, ya know," he answered.

I sighed. "But�"

"We can't kill off all the passengers on the ship, Arnon," Adhemar stated. "I think the crew would get a little suspicious, don't you think?"

"But what about you?" I asked. "You don't look as bad as he does."

Adhemar cleared his throat. "I have a donor."

"Donor�?" I asked skeptically.

"Sure," he answered. "This girl has promised not to tell anyone, of course. And all she wants in return--"

"But won't she know about the vampires, then?" I asked, cutting Adhemar off. "I thought you didn't want that."

"She won't set foot on land again, Arnon. I promise you," he answered. "In fact, I may need to find another one before the ship docks. This girl is getting more and more dead every time I see her."

"I see�" I answered.

"Don't worry about it, kid," he replied.

"About what�?" I asked.

"About Al," he said. "He'll be fine. If he doesn't want to use my methods, then he'll just have to starve."

"Starve�?"

"He'll be fine when we get back home," Adhemar said. "Then he can eat as much as he wants."

"Can vampires� die if they don't� drink blood?" I asked.

"I don't know, Arnon," he answered. "I don't think so. I don't think we can die at all. But it sure is hard to go without it. It drives you insane."

"�are you sure he'll be all right?" I asked again.

"I promise," Adhemar said, ruffling my hair. "He'll just be a bit unsociable and angry, that's all."

"All right�" I said, still doubting him a bit. I was dreadfully worried still, and I told Adhemar that I was going to go see Alexander. He told me I should try to stay away from Alexander, but how could I have? I wanted to be with him always. I walked back to the cabin without Adhemar to talk to Alexander.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next