Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

An Alternate Solution
2002-08-31 - 6:31 p.m.

After I visited Alexander, I left him alone in the room, wondering what I could do to help ease his pain. Alexander would never feed from me, so I had to think of something else. I looked to the ground as I walked down a corridor to greaten the distance between myself and our cabin. I wasn't paying attention to where I was going, and I bumped into someone walking in the opposite direction.

I was about to apologize, but I was cut off by the other person. "Ow! Watch where you're-- Oh, it's you, kid." Adhemar straightened his jacket and ran a hand through his dark hair.

"Adhemar?" I began. "Oh, sorry. I� wasn't watching where I was going�"

"Nah, I wasn't either. Don't worry," he said with a smile. "So, what's wrong?"

"Adhemar� can you help me� find someone for Alexander?" I asked.

He pointed his index finger at me. "I thought he already had you, Arnon."

"I mean to feed from," I corrected. "He looks horrid. I want to help him�"

"This is going to be difficult, you know," he said. "But� we can go look around."

"Good," I answered, smiling. "Let's look above."

He nodded and followed me up to the upper deck. There weren't many people still awake, only a few passengers and several crewmen. Adhemar looked around at the various people for a moment before pointed to one, an old man, and saying, "There's a nice one, Arnon. He's not even really a passenger; he's a stowaway. He tried stealing money to afford a ticket overseas, but he couldn't. Heh, he's a thief that can't steal, that's for sure." Adhemar laughed before continuing. "Hey, get this, Arnon: His best friend twenty years ago was a historian who specialized in the occult. So this guy here already knows all about vampires from his friend."

"But� how can we get him to Alexander? Won't he scream?" I asked.

"He wouldn't," Adhemar said. "Then the crew would find out that he didn't have a ticket. And furthermore, he hasn't the will to live anymore. Just look at him."

I did as Adhemar said. The man was leaning against the railing and looking down into the water beneath us. His eyes were distant, and he looked forlorn and hopeless.

"And," Adhemar continued, "His daughter just died. She was his only family left. He doesn't have anyone now, and he's guilty about having stolen so much in his lifetime, especially when he was younger."

"�do you really think this will work?" I asked.

"Sure, kid," he replied. "Just leave it to me." At that, Adhemar took my hand and led me over to the old man. I prayed that he would come with us. I didn't like the idea that he had to die, but I didn't want Alexander to suffer.

Adhemar released my hand and leaned against the railing next to the thief, staring at the man without blinking. After a moment, the old man looked over at Adhemar and then looked back out at the water, saying, "I know you well enough. If I was blind I would know what you are."

"And what am I?" Adhemar asked, his voice sounding unsurprised, and his face was as serious as I'd ever seen him.

"A servant of the Morning Star, that's what you are," he answered.

"I don't believe in the Devil," Adhemar retorted.

"Well, some unholy beast, then," the man replied.

"Every creature is unholy," Adhemar said. "You should know that better than anyone."

"Aye, and I'm one of them," the aged thief agreed. "Do what you want with me, demon. I won't resist. It's my punishment from God."

"God never punishes his believers," Adhemar replied.

"Then why did I always live in poverty, in disgrace? Why then?" asked the man angrily, still looking into the water.

"That is because you never sought work. You wanted the easy way out," Adhemar answered. "You could have been more than this."

"It doesn't matter now," the man said indifferently.

"But it does," Adhemar corrected. "Repent and all will be forgiven."

"What are you saying now?" asked the thief with amusement. "You, a demon, preaching God's word to me? I'll hear none of it."

"If you do not repent, you will burn," Adhemar stated.

"Ah, but you said you didn't believe in Lucifer."

"But you believe," Adhemar replied. "And that is all that matters."

"You're a strange one," the man said. "I care not. Do what you want with me. I can't live like this, anyway."

"Are you certain?" asked Adhemar.

"Don't question me. Just do it. Kill me like you've killed so many others. If it will please your dark god."

"I would gladly, I assure you, but another of my brethren needs you more than I," Adhemar said, turning his eyes back to me. I looked back at him with gratitude. He smiled warmly back at me.

"Fine," the thief answered. "Take me to him. I'll serve as a sacrifice to your infernal deity."

"As you wish." Adhemar pushed himself off of the rail and turned to walk back the way we came. "This way, Herr Dieb." Adhemar bowed and extended his arm towards the stairs, inviting the old man to go first.

Walking past me, the man slowly made his way to the stairs. Before I followed, I drew my arms up and around Adhemar's neck, hugging him closely. "Thank you�" I whispered to him.

Adhemar drew one arm around my waist and ruffled my hair with his other hand. "I know, I know," he said. After a moment, he let me go and said, "Go on, then. Take Alexander his meal." He smiled and added, "I'm going to go find her highness. I haven't seen her in a while. I'm beginning to worry."

I nodded and thanked Adhemar again before going down the stairs with the old man. I led him to our cabin where Alexander was. I opened the door and let the man inside.

When we entered, Alexander backed away from us and looked confused. "What is this?" he asked nervously.

"This man is a thief," I said. "He deserves death, and is more than willing to give himself to you." So please feed from him, Alexander�

Alexander eventually agreed, and the old man was still as willing as ever. I don't know what the old thief was thinking while it was happening. I couldn't imagine. Perhaps he really did want to die.

Afterwards, when the man lay dead, I still felt sorry for him, but I was relieved that Alexander was feeling better. His skin was brighter and his eyes didn't seem distant anymore. He was full of the man's blood, which made him all the more beautiful.

After Alexander had disposed of the old man's body, he returned to me and we spent the remainder of the night together.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next