Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The First Sign
2002-09-03 - 5:52 p.m.

As I entered the tavern, Sindor ran to me to greet me.

After a quick hug, he asked me urgently, "Please, won't you tell Henmi something to calm him down? He still doesn't like what I did. But I can't stand to see him like this."

I nodded. Fixing sibling problems was not exactly something I was good, but I thought I had better help. Especially since it was my fault.

I walked over to Henmi, who was standing at the bar, talking quietly with Adhemar. Sindor followed me closely.

"Can I speak with you, Henmi?" I asked gently, smiling a little.

Henmi looked first at Sin. I noticed that Sindor nodded at Henmi.

"Alright," Henmi replied, looking back at me.

Sin walked us back to the bedroom so we could talk privately. Henmi stood near the door, gazing at the floor, while Sindor took a sit on his bed. I stood next to Sin.

"Henmi, I must apologize for what I have done to you. It was my fault for Sindor leaving you," I began.

Henmi looked up at me. It almost seemed like he was seeing me for the first time. His thoughts came to me.

"Yes, I do love your brother, Henmi. Very much so."

Henmi looked taken aback. "How? How did you know that I was thinking that?"

Sindor jumped up and walked over to Henmi. "It is alright, Henmi. It is just a little magic trick that he can do."

Sindor walked Henmi closer to the door.

"Are you feeling better now?"

Henmi nodded a little, but I could tell he was rather confused.

"I'll be right out, okay? I just need to talk to Alexander a moment."

Sindor closed the door behind Henmi.

"For what did you do that? He did not seem to be feeling any better," I said, grinning at Sindor.

"Henmi doesn't know that you are a vampire. I just got home, and I would prefer if he wasn't upset right now..."

"What do you mean by 'upset'? He should know."

"No. Not right now. I hate to lie to him about all this, but Henmi is delicate. I will tell him once he is fine with what happened. And he has time to think over our relationship. This is all new to him."

"If you think so, Sindor. But he does have the right to know."

"I know that. I just think now is not the right time."

"Alright. I promise not to tell him about me. I do not know about Adhemar, however," I smirked.

Sindor smiled at me. He was getting so worked up about this that he was even shaking. I really did not like that.

I walked over to Sin, and I hugged him tightly. I kissed him. Then Sin fell limp in my arms.

"Sin! What is wrong?" I asked urgently, shaking him a little.

Sin had this dazed look in his eyes, but then he snapped out of it.

"Wh-what?" he muttered.

"Are you alright?" I asked again.

Sindor shook his head. "I...I think so."

I was extremely worried about Sindor's health. He had been relatively pale since a week before we arrived. He told me he was eating regularly, and I believed him. Prehaps that was not the problem though.

I let Sin go, and he staggered a little, but seemed able enough to stand.

"Are you going to be alright?" I asked. Concern could be heard in my voice.

Sindor nodded at me, though he seemed distant. "Henmi..." he whispered.

Sindor walked awkwardly toward the door and out into the tavern. I followed after him, afraid he would fall again. Sindor walked behind the counter and grabbd a cup. He seemed better after he drank the water that was contained in the cup.

I looked around. Everyone else seemed oblivious to Sindor's condition. Ella and Adhemar chatted at the end of the counter while Henmi waited on a table.

I stayed with Sindor until the tavern closed, never mentioning what had happened to anyone. Sindor told me that he wanted to stay with Henmi that night, to talk things over. So I left with Ella and Adhemar to walk back to my house to await the morning sun.

Before I left however, I told Henmi, "Watch Sindor carefully, would you?"

He nodded at me.

Alexander


Previous | Next