Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Reunion
2002-09-03 - 5:48 p.m.

As soon as the boat docked, I raced home, desperate to see my brother. I wondered how I was ever going to be able to explain everything that had happened. I was also dreadfully nervous about how he would react to my story. I hope he understands�

When I arrived, I entered through the tavern door. When I walked through the door, the locals looked over to me with drunken surprise and the employees smiled with astonishment. Henmi was still working, but when he looked over and saw me, he jumped slightly and dropped a tray of drinks accidentally in shock. "Sin�?"

I looked at him hopefully, and he stared back at me wide-eyed, as if in a daze. After a moment, he stepped over the broken glasses and then ran to me and embraced me tightly. I hugged him back, whispering over and over again how sorry I was to have left him, and that I loved him very much. I felt his body convulse with sobs as he buried his face in the crook of my neck, tangling his fingers in my hair.

The customers gradually took their eyes off of us, and stared once again into the bottom of their glasses.

After what seemed like eternity, he let me go and took a step back from me, looking at the ground.

"Henmi�?" I asked anxiously.

Henmi glared up at me and slapped me hard across the face. "Why?! Why, Sin? Where did you go? How could you do this to me?" he asked. I avoided his gaze and looked to the ground. He continued, "You didn't tell me anything! Anything! You just left! Don't you care about how I feel? Don't you�" he trailed off as tears began forming in his eyes again.

I turned back to him and held him closely. He hid his face on my neck again, crying softly. He said, "You promised you wouldn't leave me� You promised�"

"I'm sorry, Henmi. Gods, I'm sorry�" I sighed and kissed his hair.

"Why�?" he managed to voice out.

"Henmi, I� Well, do you remember Alexander?" I asked. He nodded, so I continued. "Well, I� I'm� really� in love with him�"

"Love�?"

"And when he left to go to Paris, I thought I'd never see him again," I continued. "I wanted to follow him� So� I did�"

"But why didn't you tell me before you left?" he demanded.

"You were ill, Henmi," I stated. "And you would have wanted to come with me� And traveling would have made you more sick�"

He sniffed and hugged me tighter.

"I'm so sorry, Henmi�" I said. "Please forgive me� I can't stand to make you cry� so please don't be sad anymore. I really promise� now that Alexander is here, I won't leave again."

Henmi nodded and pulled away from me, wiping his tears on the back of his hand.

Christian handed me my keys and a stack of letters that I had received. I looked over them without much interest.

A short while later, Adhemar and Ella came into the bar and walked over to me. Ella told me that Alexander would be arriving soon, while Adhemar looked sympathetically at Henmi.

We then waited for Alexander to arrive, and I hoped that he would be able to say something to put Henmi more at ease.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next