Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Final Act
2002-09-04 - 5:17 p.m.

The following evening, I woke up so much earlier than I normally did that I was almost burned by the last of the sun's rays as I walked out of the hidden chamber. As I flung myself back in the chamber, I knew exactly why I was up so early. I was extremely worried about Sindor. I even dreamt about him during my sleep. He must be sick. He must be...

I waited for the sun to set before attempting another exit from the room. I looked in on Sebrine. She demanded I feed her. So, I went out and found a couple of young men walking the docks, looking for prey. I let them glimpse me, and they soon followed after me, wanting the money that I did not have. I trapped them in an alleyway, knocking out one for Sebrine, and ravishing the other until he lay dead.

After I left the unconcious male with Sebrine, I headed for Sin's tavern. I found Ella and Adhemar were already inside the bar when I arrived. But there was no sign of Sindor. Henmi rushed up to me as soon as he spotted me.

"You have to see Sin!" he exclaimed, pulling on my arm and dragging me into the back room.

Sindor was lying on his bed, breathing hard and coughing every few seconds. He was wrapped in blankets, but he was perspiring rapidly.

"What happened?" I asked, racing to his side.

"I found him like that this morning. If I knew where you lived, I would have gotten you sooner. He has been calling for you, but he seems not to see or hear anything," rushed Henmi, full of concern.

"Sindor!" I shouted at the gently rocking form.

"Alexander!" he yelled, looking wildly around the room.

I put my hand on his shoulder, but he did not seem to acknowledge my presence.

"You see what I mean?" whispered Henmi. "He is so sick. Is he going to be okay, Alexander?"

"I do not know," I whispered back.

Ella and Adhemar came into the back room, closing the door behind them.

"We have already heard about Sindor. We will go fetch a doctor," said Ella.

I nodded as a blood tear fell down my cheek. I quickly wiped it away before Henmi could see. Ella and Adhemar rushed out the back door as I sat down next to Sindor.

"He should not have gone to Paris. This never would have happened..." said Henmi, raising his voice.

I stood up and put my hands on his shoulders.

"Calm down, Henmi. There was nothing we could have done to prevent this. How do you know that he would not have gotten this even if he had stayed here?"

Henmi burst into tears. "I can't lose him! I just can't!"

I held the sobbing Henmi in my arms, as Sindor shouted again for me, amid his hacking coughs. I suggested to Henmi that he look after the tavern, to get his mind off of Sindor, especially since he could do nothing for him. I sat down on Sindor's bed again, trying to reach him.

"Sindor. Sindor, it is Alexander. Can you hear me?"

But it was to no avail.

After what seemed like hours, Ella and Adhemar returned with a doctor. He pushed me aside and sat down next to Sindor. After what seemed forever, and after numerous grumbles from him as he did different things, the doctor rose and told us, "There is nothing I can do for this boy. What he has is fatal."

I was hurt by his words. I grabbed the elderly man and shook him. "You have to do something! You have to!"

Adhemar had to pull me away from the doctor before I killed him.

"I can not cure what he has. In time, it will consume him, and he will die," the doctor said, too calmly.

I fell to the ground and started weeping. Ella rushed the doctor out of the room before he saw the blood on my face. I could barely hear her thanking the doctor as she shoved him out of the room.

Ella and Adhemar remained quiet, just standing above me. Sindor shouted again for me, and it was more than I could take. I got up and walked over to him. I shook him violently.

"Lex! Stop that! You are only making it worse!" shouted Ella, pulling on my arm.

I shoved her away. Then I wrapped my arms around Sin, and hugged him tightly, rocking with him.

"There is nothing you can do, Al," whispered Adhemar.

My tears stopped as the thought came to me. "Yes, there is," I whispered.

I let Sindor go and looked at Ella and Adhemar. They exchanged concerned glances.

"You aren't serious?" asked Adhemar, sensing what I knew I had to do.

"Of course I am!" I practically shouted.

"You know what this will do to him..." began Ella.

"He will just die anyway. And in his present condition he will not feel any pain," I interupted wildly.

"But how do you know he will even be able to drink from you?" asked Adhemar.

"I know he will."

Ella nodded her head at me. "If you think it is the best thing for Sindor, I will not stop you."

I hugged her tightly. "Thank you."

Ella and Adhemar left Sindor and me alone. I sat down on the bed again and pulled Sindor into my arms, pressing my mouth against his sweaty neck.

"This is for you, and our love," I whispered.

I bit into his neck.

Sindor jerked alittle at the bite. He was so weak as it was, that I was certain he felt nothing else.

As the blood flowed into my mouth, I recalled the night that I had drunk from him, and the same feeling overwhelmed me. Pure ecstasy. I wanted all of it the moment it touched my lips, but I knew I had to stop. I pulled away violently from Sindor's neck. He fell back on his pillows. I bit my own wrist and allowed the blood to flow freely from my veins. I put my arm over Sindor's mouth, dropping the sweet blood into it. At first, he did nothing. Then his tongue moved slowly, and then he swallowed. I moved my wrist closer to his mouth, and he licked at my wound. His lips closed around the cut, and he sucked from it. I felt the blood draining from me as Sindor's eyes popped open, staring at me. I pulled my arm back from Sin. He seemed to hate this action. He leaned forward, groping for my arm once more.

"No, Sindor. No more from me."

Sindor moved back and forth on the bed for a minute or so with his eyes closed. Then his eyes shot open again, but they seemed not his eyes. They were brighter, and more mysterious.

"Alexander?" he questioned.

"Yes, my love?"

He put his hand on my cheek. He kissed me.

"You turned me?" he asked quietly, smiling very faintly.

"Yes, Sindor."

His smile widened. "Then we will be together forever!" He wrapped his arms around me tightly.

Henmi opened the door and walked in, amazed to see Sindor looking better. But then he stopped a few feet from the bed as Sindor pulled away from me.

"Sin?" Henmi whispered.

"Yes, dear brother," he answered, lifting a hand for Henmi to take.

I could tell Henmi knew the difference instantly. And I could tell he was frightened. Henmi fled from the room. Saddened, Sin followed quickly after him.

Alexander


Previous | Next