Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Transformation
2002-09-05 - 6:02 p.m.

It hurt. Gods, it hurt. My temperature continued to rise and would not go back to normal. My cough remained unbearable throughout the day. I wanted Alexander to be with me. If he was with me, my illness would surely go away, I decided. But I knew Alexander would be away until evening.

I vaguely remembered hearing Henmi's voice that morning, troubled and desperate in my ears, but I didn't remember anything after that. Until, of course, I awoke, completely healed of my ailments.

Alexander was at my side, but I was not aware of when he had arrived. I was so delighted that he had come to see me that I kissed him, but that is when I realized the change that had occurred. My canines pressed up against the back of my lips during the kiss, and they were longer and sharper than I remembered them being before. My gods, did he�? He wouldn't have� But then why am I cured now�? He� must have, then!

"You� turned me�?" I asked him when I pulled away.

"Yes, Sindor," he said, gazing at me with unwavering love.

I smiled and hugged him tightly, absolutely overjoyed. "Then we will be together forever!" I was so excited that Alexander had chosen me above all others. He loved me so much, just as I loved him, and now that he had made me like him, we would be together forever. Forever together, like the gods of myth who remained with each other, immortal forever.

A moment later, Henmi came in the room, looking distraught as ever, until he saw my current state. His eyes became wide and he looked so startled because I was well again.

As I released Alexander reluctantly, Henmi asked quietly, "S-Sin�?"

"Yes, dear brother," I answered, assuring him that I was all right again. I lifted my hand for Henmi to take, to prove that I was alive and well.

Henmi was frightened and beyond confused as he stared at me for a moment before taking a few steps backwards towards the door, and then turning and running out of the room.

I abhorred the thought of making Henmi sad again, so I stood up and ran after him, leaving Alexander by himself.

As Henmi ran out of the bar, Adhemar moved to go after him, but I told him that I would talk to Henmi myself.

It didn't take long to catch up with Henmi, and I grabbed his arm to stop him from running any further. He spun around and looked at me with weary desperation. "What is going on, Sin?!" he nearly screamed. "How could you get better so quickly?! How?!"

I wrapped my arms around him tightly, trying to soothe his angry confusion. "Henmi� Please, I beg you, calm down�"

"How can I?!" he sobbed into my neck. "What happened, Sin?"

"Well� Henmi� Alexander� he can� I mean, he is like Adhemar," I said nervously.

"Like� Adhemar?" Henmi asked apprehensively.

"Yes, and that means that he can� make people not die�" I sighed, wondering how I was ever going to be able to tell Henmi the whole story.

"And� you didn't die, then? Why? Why can he do this?" Henmi questioned.

"Because he is� not really human anymore�" I replied. "And� I'm not either."

"�Wh-what?" he whispered. "What are you talking about�?"

"Please understand, Henmi," I pleaded. "The only way I was going to be able to live� was if I became what Alexander and Adhemar are. Please� you have to understand�"

"Sin�" he sobbed, hugging me tightly. "I don't know what's going on anymore� You leave me, then you return and now you're not the same anymore. I don't like this�"

"I know, Henmi," I said. "It'll be all right, I promise. I promise you, it'll be better now."

He nodded, so I said, "Let's go back to the tavern, Henmi. Then we can talk to Alexander, alright?"

He agreed, so I took his hand and walked back to the tavern with him.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next