Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Rising Sun
2002-09-05 - 6:04 p.m.

I walked out into the bar after Sindor had run after Henmi. I noticed that they had left the tavern as I sat down next to Ella at a table.

"You did it then?" she asked quietly, watching Adhemar sit down at the table as well.

"I did. And he is overwhelmed with joy. I can feel it," I answered.

"He did not ask you..." began Ella.

"He did not have to. I knew what he wanted from the moment I told him I loved him. He has been asking me for months to turn him," I said, becoming flustered.

"Calm down, Al," said Adhemar. "We knew you had to do it. Geez, I would die for your kind of love with Sindor. Well, maybe not die..."

"I thank you, Adhemar," I said raising a hand to him.

Ella was still distraught. "What are you going to do with him when the sun comes up?"

"I will keep him in my coffin with me," I said. I had actually never thought about it.

"In that small thing?" she asked again.

"Well, he is small..." I said, quietly.

"Don't worry, Al! I'll get you a new coffin," exclaimed Adhemar, drawing a lot of attention from the patrons of the tavern.

He smiled nervously, and said to me in a whisper across the table, "I'll go get it now."

As Adhemar left the tavern, he passed Sindor and Henmi entering the bar. Sindor spotted me, and led Henmi by the hand to our table.

"I will leave you three alone," said Ella, rising from the table.

"Ella..." I said.

"I will be fine. I will see you back at the house."

Ella left the tavern as Sindor took a seat at the table, followed by Henmi.

Even I could tell the difference in Sindor. It would take time to get used to his eyes, his even paler skin, his fangs. I wondered then, and only then, if I had done the right thing.

Henmi sat there, staring at his hands on his lap. Sindor looked happily at me.

"Where did Ella and Adhemar go?" he asked.

"They just wanted to leave us alone. But, could I talk with you, Sindor?" I asked.

He nodded his head, and I led him to the back room, leaving Henmi alone at the table.

As I closed the door, I said to Sin, "I want to know what you are planning on doing with Henmi."

"I plan on having you tell him the truth," he said, with a slight smile.

"Sindor," I said disapprovingly.

Then I felt it. The sun was coming. It was still far off, but drawing dangerously near. I figured Sindor did not feel it.

"We must go, Sindor. The sun is almost up," I told him urgently.

"But what about Henmi?" he asked.

I sighed. "Bring him here."

Sindor rushed out of the room, and brought Henmi back into it.

"Henmi, I am a vampire. And now so is your brother. I will explain more to you about all of this, but not now. If you do not wish to see your brother burn to ashes when the sun comes up real soon, then say good bye to him now, for we must leave," I said in a rush.

I knew I sounded too forward, but I was desperate. I did not want to be burned by the sun. Nor have Sindor be burned.

Sindor looked shocked at my truthfulness, as Henmi turned to him.

"Good bye, brother," he said quietly, still in shock.

"I will see you tomorrow night, Henmi. Remember everything is just fine," responded Sin, pulling his brother in a tight hug.

We then left Henmi, in a slight daze, and we ran back to my house. Inside, I found that Adhemar must have had returned already, for my coffin was gone. In its place was a double sized one. I threw open the lid and told Sindor to get inside of it. He seemed not to enjoy the actual idea, but he was pleased that I joined him. I pulled the lid over us.

"Adhemar's gift," I said, with a laugh.

"He went all out for this," replied Sin, feeling the lining.

"He probably stole it," I muttered, settling myself in a comfortable position next to Sin.

"Don't think so lowly of Adhemar," he said.

"I was joking, my love. Now, the sun is almost up. So, good night, and when you awake, I will show you a whole new world."

I kissed him. Then the sun rose.

Alexander


Previous | Next