Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Softening the Pains of Melancholy
2002-09-08 - 12:47 p.m.

After Alexander left quickly after Ella, Henmi and I sat down to talk with Adhemar.

"It seems her highness has left me," Adhemar said with a smile.

"Why?" I asked. "You didn't� do anything, did you?"

"Of course not, Arnon," he said, still smiling. "You misunderstand my motives."

"I don't want to understand your motives�" I smirked, but then remembered that Henmi was with us, so I changed the subject. "Oh, Henmi� I suppose I won't be able to work as much anymore�"

"Yes, I know�" Henmi answered, looking down at his lap.

I sighed and looked at Adhemar. Say something to him, will you?

Adhemar's eyes widened. "Wow! That's amazing, kid!"

Henmi looked up at us with confused eyes.

I said again, Please say something to him, Adhemar�

Like what? he asked back, crossing his arms.

I don't know! But he doesn't seem to be on good terms with me at the moment. I shrugged.

Adhemar sighed. And he's on good terms with me?

Of course he is.

Even after I bit him? he asked.

He wanted you to bite him, Adhemar, I thought to him.

Alright, Alright! Adhemar sat up and looked at Henmi, who still stared at both of us with confusion. "Henmi?" he said.

"Yes�?" Henmi asked.

"Since Arnon will be off with Al, I'll help you work. Alrighty?" Adhemar smiled.

"R-really?" Henmi asked, shocked by Adhemar's statement.

"Of course," Adhemar said.

Henmi smiled and his face brightened. "Th-thank you, Adhemar."

Adhemar took Henmi's hand in his and shook it slightly. "It's official, then," Adhemar said with a smile. "I don't need a salary, though."

"What?" Henmi asked, releasing Adhemar's hand. "Why not?"

"I don't need one," Adhemar repeated.

"But� I'll feel bad if you work for nothing�" Henmi said.

"You shouldn't feel bad at all," Adhemar said. "If I want something for working, I'll be sure to let you know about it later." Adhemar smirked.

Henmi blushed.

Adhemar� I thought disapprovingly.

Something wrong, Arnon? he replied, cheerfully.

I guess not� I answered. You really didn't have to do that, though� But he hasn't smiled in a while� So� thank you�

No problem, Arnon. I live to please.

"I wonder if her highness is going to come back tonight�" Adhemar said, changing the subject. "And Al, too."

I shifted in my chair and replied, "I hope so."

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next